Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming story about pride and not taking everything for granted
When I see the 3-star reviews I can only say that those readers have not read the book properly.

Young Phillip Jettan knows his neighbour's daughter Cleone is his soulmate. There is no bone to pick about that. But if you go to a girl to ask her to be your wife, you don't make it elaborately clear that you went to the momentous trouble as to clean your boots,...
Published on 13 May 2010 by M. Spiess

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the few disappointing Heyer books
I am a really big fan of Georgette Heyer's work, but this book was a disappointment. Originally entitled "The Transformation of Phillip Jettan" the story is about a young man who is in love with his neighbour Cleone Charteris but she wants someone a little more exciting. When a newcomer arrives in their locality and shows Cleone all the areas in which Phillip is...
Published on 6 Jan 2006 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming story about pride and not taking everything for granted, 13 May 2010
By 
M. Spiess - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
When I see the 3-star reviews I can only say that those readers have not read the book properly.

Young Phillip Jettan knows his neighbour's daughter Cleone is his soulmate. There is no bone to pick about that. But if you go to a girl to ask her to be your wife, you don't make it elaborately clear that you went to the momentous trouble as to clean your boots, chance your cloths as not to smell of horses and - sacrifice above all - leave the dogs behind! If you then proceed with your task in presuming the proposal as being accomplished and accepted, so as not to make such a fuss about it all, you may not wonder that you are dispatched back home with a flea in your ear.
Poor Phillip cannot comprehend that no girl with a shred of natural pride likes to be taken for granted, even if she loves the man dearly and appreciates his otherwise excellent qualities. He is in shock, and as such a victim to his fathers gentle wishes to give him, belatedly, a proper education in manners.
He is sent to his uncle who takes him to Paris. Here it is soon clear that Phillip is no yokel. There is a sinister plan for revenge in his heart and he sucks up all the foppish manners and mannerisms he can get hold of in King Louis' kingdom. He learns to dance, to fence, to flirt - and to paint his face. In no time he is the toast of the town thanks to his candid charms and natural shrewdness. He even fights a duell with a man who has spread mean remarks about Cleone's flirts at home.
Cleone, piqued, has long left home for London where she has made a similar career. She does not know that the woman the fight was about is she herself. She is in dispair and wants Phillip the Yokel back.
Phillip, hearing of Cleone's contests, returns instantly to London where he exacts his revenge. He flirts with Cleone not more than with any other girl, shows favour of older beauties and plays the man about town, making it clear that he has his proposal of marriage consigned to the dustbin.
Cleone is in tears; not that Phillip sees any of them. She flirts vehemently with others.
A letter from Phillip to his father has the poor man in a dither. His beloved son, Phillip Jettan, lover of landlife, horses and dogs is not willing to come back at once, but is rather desirous to take pleasure in town life for an indeterminate time? Father flies to London to inspect his truant offspring. The situation begins to hang in the ballance. Has Phillip overdone his revenge? Is Cleone to console? Gets father his beloved son back?
How the riot ends you must read for yourself in this Heyer masterpiece.
This is a heartwarming story about pride and not taking everything for granted, as well as appreciating the things you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just as superb as the others, 13 Sep 2003
By 
J. Holland (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Powder and Patch (Paperback)
Reading the other reviews of Heyer's Powder and Patch, I am amazed at the a.) poor and b.) luke-warm reception given to this scintillating and very human love story by an author of exceptional talents.
I would recommend the book highly to anyone who loves romance and especially regency romance - the atmosphere created by Heyer is, as always, powerfully evocative of the period and, in my opinion, every bit as wonderful to read and re-read as any of her late classics, i.e. Devil's Cub or These Old Shades. Though perhaps without the darker irony.
Two young people gradually fall in love, then fall into a silly misunderstanding exacerbated by piqued pride and two very stubborn natures. Charming, charming, charming. And highly readable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the few disappointing Heyer books, 6 Jan 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
I am a really big fan of Georgette Heyer's work, but this book was a disappointment. Originally entitled "The Transformation of Phillip Jettan" the story is about a young man who is in love with his neighbour Cleone Charteris but she wants someone a little more exciting. When a newcomer arrives in their locality and shows Cleone all the areas in which Phillip is wanting she rejects Phillip.
And then the book became disappointing. Phillip went to France to learn to be a painted dandy - and thus to become the opposite of what he was before. There are various interesting events like him fighting a duel and then his reacquaintance with Cleone but overall this didn't work for me. The misunderstandings between the young couple were irritating.
Probably part of the reason I didn't like this book is that Phillip turned himself from a traditional Heyer hero into a painted fop, the traditional Heyer butt of jokes. I found myself disliking Phillip and finding Cleone stupid, shallow and annoying.
The book receives 3 Sterne from me as it's written with the usual Heyer excellence but there are a score of better books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable story but not Heyer's best, 31 July 2011
By 
Helen S - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
Philip Jettan has grown up in the country on his family estate and has never shown any interest in fashionable society. As he grows older he falls in love with his childhood friend and neighbour, Cleone Charteris, but Cleone is unimpressed by Philip's simple country ways and makes it clear she's looking for a man with better manners and nicer clothes. And so, with the help of his Uncle Tom, Philip goes to Paris to learn how to be a gentleman...but when `le petite Philippe' returns wearing powder and patches, writing French poetry and fighting duels, Cleone starts to wish she could have the old Philip back.

Powder and Patch is a very early Georgette Heyer novel and in my opinion not an example of her best work. If this had been my first experience of Heyer I think I would have been disappointed, but because I've read and enjoyed some of her other novels I'm prepared to accept that I'll come across the occasional book that's not as good. And having read some of her later books, it was interesting to see an early indication of her storytelling ability and talent for witty dialogue. There's a lot of humour in the story but I didn't find it as amusing as it was obviously intended to be - although I have to say, the final few chapters were quite funny and redeemed the book for me.

None of the characters in this book seemed to have much depth, with Cleone being particularly silly, especially in comparison to some of the stronger, more complex heroines in the other Heyer books I've read. I found it difficult to warm to her from the start because I thought Philip was fine the way he was: sincere, honest and reliable, and Cleone's inability to accept him made me feel annoyed with her. The moral of the story is obvious: that outward appearances can be deceiving and it's what's inside that counts.

This book is set in the Georgian era, rather than the Regency period which Heyer is more famous for, and this gives the story a slightly different feel, although I don't personally have any preference for one period over the other. I should point out that if you're like me and have only a very basic knowledge of the French language (or none at all) be warned that there are a lot of French phrases scattered throughout the book, including an entire poem written in French. I don't think it actually affected my understanding of the plot at all but I did keep wondering if I might be missing something.

Powder and Patch is a short novel but just the right length really because I don't think the plot would have been strong enough to sustain a longer book. I found it a very quick and easy read which kept me entertained for a while, but definitely the weakest of the Heyer novels I've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing transformation story, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
Philip Jettan is in love with Cleone Charteris the daughter of one of his neighbours. But Cleone does not appreciate Philip's good qualities - his reliability, sobriety and steadfastness. She yearns for someone a little more polished with society manners and fancy clothes. Philip's father, Sir Maurice, would like to see his son become a man of the world. Between them they persuade Philip to go to London to visit his Uncle Tom who is very much a man about town. Tom vows to transform his dowdy nephew and takes him to Paris so that he can learn to be a well dressed gentleman.

The transformation is well done and amusing as it shows how Philip resists his mentors but then throws himself whole heartedly into the process. After 6 months he returns to England apparently and outwardly changed. The dialogue is amusing and the characters well drawn and believable. Cleone is perhaps one of the silliest of Heyer's heroines but she is still delightful. The book's main character is the charming Philip with his ability to laugh at himself and at the follies of the world.

This novel is one of my favourites for its sheer light heartedness. None of the characters are wholly bad or wholly good and people change over the course of the story. There are deeper themes about outward appearances and inward qualities but these are not laboured. If you have not read Heyer before this would be a good novel to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powder and Patch, 10 Aug 2006
By 
T. Stanton "coolgirls" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
This is the first Georgette Heyer book i have ever read. And i liked it so much.

Philip Jettan loves his neighbour Cleone, but she is not impressed with the philip who is a young country man.

She wants someone exciting but charming as well.

Philip decides to go to France to learn to be the man she wants,

He turns himself into a charming man who gives her the attention she wanted.

But she finds that he was lovely how he was.

(great happy ending!!)

Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A second rate Heyer? Really?, 1 July 2014
By 
Ian Elves (Camberley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Paperback)
This is by far the weakest of Georgette Heyer's early novels, yet it does succeed in building misunderstanding on misunderstanding. It is the way that it concludes which seems a little weak. The novel should have been longer and then she would have done it better. Having said all that, I still regard this as a goodish read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Kindle Edition)
If my kindle could get dog eared this book would do it. Read it in one sitting and will read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who likes historical romance, it is the thinking womens Barbara Cartland with the exquisite language of the past and their customs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Regency at its best, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder And Patch (Kindle Edition)
All Regency novelists should read Georgette Heyer since she sets the standard for all - however it would probably put them off since they could never aspire to her level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Powder And Patch
Powder And Patch by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 6 Jan 2005)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews