Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Heyer
I love Georgette Heyer's books, both for their witty humour and their believable, well thought out characters. The Talisman Ring has to be one of the best and certainly one of the funniest. The story is of a young man in search of the ring of the title, which he can use to clear his name and claim back his inheritance from his evil cousin Basil. In this he is aided by his...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Catherine Looser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me though many will love it
I like to read a bit of Heyer's stuff as escapism. I respect the accuracy of the historical research too, and the way that though she was in real life unromantic and laughed at her fan mail, she made a great job of creating the 'Regency Romance'.

I first read this in my teens and I didn't like it as much as her other books, though it's funny enough,as I...
Published 2 months ago by ZannyZ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Heyer, 11 April 2005
By 
Catherine Looser (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
I love Georgette Heyer's books, both for their witty humour and their believable, well thought out characters. The Talisman Ring has to be one of the best and certainly one of the funniest. The story is of a young man in search of the ring of the title, which he can use to clear his name and claim back his inheritance from his evil cousin Basil. In this he is aided by his French cousin Eustacie, who is engaged to his other cousin Tristram. Neither of them want the marriage and their two separate romances develop with that unique blend of charm and wit that Georgette Heyer does so well.
Add in a bumbling Excise man, a London dandy and a pack of smugglers and you have one of the best books written by an inimitable author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 30 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
This was my first Georgette Heyer book - since then I have gone on to seek out the entire collection ! It is full of romantic twists and wicked humour, especially from the grim Sir Tristram and his outrageously innocent young cousin Eustacie. A wistful tale of the lost era of the smugglers - watch out for the bewildered heroine Sarah Thane and the dashing 'missing' heir to Lavenham, the famed smuggler, Ludovic ! This captivating style reflects in all her books and I advise you to read them all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerogette Heyer's funniest book brilliantly read, 26 Mar 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Talisman Ring is an hilarious book with a complicated, preposterous plot and a wonderful cast of characters. This audio version is beautifully well read by Phyllida Nash,who makes the characters come alive. The book has Heyer's two most delightful heroines, romantic impulsive Eustacie, permanenelty aggrieved because her unromantic reluctant fiancee declines to ride ventre a terre to her death bed, and the splendidly unflappable Mis Thane, who takes everything in her stride. The outrageous plot involves murder, smuggling, a missing heirloom, and skullduggery of all kinds. The funniest character in the book is Sir Hugo Thane, who remains oblivious to the complex goings-on around him, his only interest is the brandy in the cellar (smuggled of course). phyllida Nash manages to make him even funnier than he is in the book, especially in the most hilarious scene of all, where Miss Thane lures the Bow Street runners into believeing she is the fugitive Ludovic Lavenham in disguise. the subsequent cross-purpose conversation between the runners and Sir Hugo, outraged and baffled by their assault on his sister, had me in hysterics. Phyllida Nash does full justice to Heyer's most entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action and Comedy, 14 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
One of Heyer's best books: full of action, hilarious dialogues and an element of slapstick comedy that makes you giggle all along. In this aspect the book is similar to Grand Sophie or Arabella - just better and funnier.
If you need something to cheer you up on a rainy grey day, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh-out-loud funny and exciting, 4 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
The cover text, or product description, really doesn't capture how funny this book is, nor how exciting. The story is light and with just the right touch of mystery and adventure, but it is really the outrageously funny dialogue that makes this book one of my favourite - not just of GH's books, but of all books ever written! The spark comes from the two heroines' passion for romance and adventure, and their determination to have both. The young hero Ludovic is just what they've been after, and even level-headed Sir Tristram is drawn into their scheme, albeit reluctantly. But he proves just the man to allow for the best slap-stick humour I've read in a long time, and I laughed so hard and so often that my dog kept barking at me, wondering if I had lost my mind. I hadn't, I was simply having a really good time reading a really funny book. If you like the dialogue in Gilmore Girls, this book is definitely for you, too. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb blend of romance, comedy of manners, and mystery, 5 Jan 2014
By 
FantasyWriter (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
This christmas has seen two bad cold bugs which resulted in sufficient brain fog to mean that I turned to the sort of books one reads when one is indisposed. Good, old fashioned ripping yarns of byronic heroes and strong-willed heroines, romance, mystery, derring-do. I found this book again which I first discovered, rooting about as a teenager in my mother's collection of "horrid" novels (horrid, you understand, in the regency sense of the word). The Talisman Ring is not the best known of Hayer's works, but should be - it is a delightful tale set in the late 18th Century which blends the moods of the Scarlet Pimpernel - rescued French aristocrats, daring fugitive gentleman-smugglers, highjacks and capers, and a liberal dash of comedy and romance. It is what other regency authors aspire to, and what sets Hayer's writing apart from the rest is her attention to historical detail, slang, and manners of the age. My favourite character is the long suffering Sir Tristan, who manages his profligate and romantically inclined cousins with aplomb and discovers that he is not entirely insensible to a little romance and adventure himself. Hayer's characters are vividly drawn, the piece superbly located on the Sussex smuggler's coast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting, Funny, Romantic Read, 24 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
A foreign heiress about to be left without a guardian, a lonely inn upon a woodland path, smugglers and excisemen, the sad history of the fallen lord and a mystical talisman ring...

What does this story not have to offer? It's got all the right ingredients plus a huge scoop of romance and humour thrown in, which all adds up to one of the fantastically addictive Georgette Heyer's best novels. This was one of the first of her stories that I read, and I've since gone back to it quite a few times and am never disappointed.
It's not only that the story is so good - fast, funny and romantic, with all its twists and turns in the search for the talisman ring. But the characters are so memorable, too. French-born Eugenie, the reckless Ludovic, staid and sensible Tristram, Sarah Thane and her justice of the peace brother, Hugh, the inn staff and of course, the simpering Cousin Beau.

It's a wonderful historic adventure romance which will stay with you long after you discover the real truth behind the loss of the talisman ring, and you close the book. Enjoy, again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy with a Touch of Romance, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
I'm learning to understand Ms. Heyer's writing style which often includes a storyline set up with a good foundation including well drawn out characters before the reader is immersed into the actual plot. In this book, we are attendant at the soon-to-be passing of Sir Tristam Shield's Uncle Sylvester, where Tristam will hear out and bear the burden of Uncle Sylvester's deathbed requests. Chief among these requests is one that would have Tristam wed Sylvester's granddaughter, the redoubtable little French gal - Eustacie de Vauban. Originally, Sylvester had intended Eustacie for his grandson, Ludovic. However, since Ludovic has been missing for two years, Sylvester seeks a promise from Tristam that he will wed Eustacie in Ludovic's place. Eustacie is young, fanciful and romantical, focusing her mental energies on fantasies in which her life will hopefully become one of high adventure with the end result being that her imaginary true love will mourn her dramatic death. Sir Tristam is 31 years old to Eustacie's 18 years and he is anything but fanciful. In fact, one could quite imagine him to be a Mr. Sobersides, especially when set up next to the adorable Eustacie.

This reader was under the assumption the storyline would develop towards a sweet little romance between the stiff Tristam and the somewhat bubble headed Eustacie. But, that was not to be. It seems that Ludovic's disappearance includes a cloud of a suspicion of murder related to the mysterious and priceless Talisman Ring which was in his possession at the time of his disappearance. Amidst all this intrigue is another nephew - Man of Fashion, Basil (Beau) Lavenham - who is next in line to inherit Uncle Sylvester's title and accompanying entailed possessions if Ludovic is indeed found to be dead. Uncle Sylvester passes away after having passed on his last requests to Sir Tristam not knowing whether Ludovic is dead or alive.

When Eustacie, not quite satisfied with Tristam as a future husband, decides to take her life into her own hands and escapes in the middle of the night, she unexpectedly falls into the hands of a dashing young smuggler. She is immediately captivated with the turn her adventure has taken and strikes up an infatuation with the young man who just happens to be her cousin, Ludovic, who is very much alive and doesn't even realize his grandfather has died. Ludovic has been on the run for the past couple of years because of the murder charge against him without any way to prove he is innocent. In fact, he no longer has the Talisman Ring and must have it back.

All the parties in the story soon converge on the Red Lion Inn where Ludovic hides out from the law, Eustacie plots and plans with her new found friend, Miss Thane - who was in search of some high drama in her own life. Then there is Miss Thane's brother Hugh, who is passing time at the inn because of their marvelous cellar which contains the best strong drink he has come across in many a day - courtesy of the smugglers' relationship with the owner of the inn - Mr. Nye. There are several minor characters, including Nye, who must confront Bow Street Runners hired by Basil, all the while trying to keep the somewhat uncooperative Ludovic safe down in the cellars. It's time for Ludovic to return to the land of the living, but he must needs clear his name which includes finding the Talisman Ring. How can he fail with the help of Eustacie, Miss Thane, his smugger friends and Sir Tristam to continually keep everyone sorted out.

Fun story - not a lot of romance, but still a great read. I was laughing out loud during some of my reading time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Georgette Heyer, 27 May 2009
By 
A. Hulbert (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
I've read so many Georgette Heyer over the past year and just keep enjoying her writing more. The Talisman Ring is one of the funniest, I think, with excellent characters (none of them particularly deep, but all very entertaining). Hugh Thane made me laugh almost every time he popped up and the Beau is pure, farcical evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regency romantic novels, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
I suppose I read my first Georgette Heyer novel about 70 years ago, and have loved them ever since. Delightfully intriguing plots, though easy to follow, beautifully written and most thoroughly researched.
I know of no other writer who manages to bring the Regency Period to life in their work anywhere near as effectively as did she.
Jeffrey Farnol, maybe, but he was too verbose and flowery for my taste
I'm a doddering old romantic I know, but I like my fiction to be light and uncomplicated so her work suited me and still suits me down to the ground, and I still think women are divine creatures. 'Here's to them all, both fat or thin, Young or old I care not a feather' etc.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Talisman Ring
The Talisman Ring by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 6 Jan 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews