Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More intrigue
The 2nd book in the series recounting the exploits of Captain William Rennie and James Hayter, his 1st Lieutenant - involves the powerful & enigmatic Sir Robert Greer, Head of the fledgling secret service.
Hayter felt cheated by Greer after their recovery of a vast amount of bullion from the South Seas but receiving no 'prize money' and decides to send a letter to...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull, dull, dull
What a disappointment! The plot sounded so interesting in the blurb, but actually was not. There was absolutely no build up of the storyline at all and the ending, far from being an exciting sea battle, was quite dull. Due to the style of writing, with 18th century dialect, it took a long time to read and I almost gave up on several occasions as i really was not...
Published on 17 July 2007 by Swim Star


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More intrigue, 30 Nov. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
The 2nd book in the series recounting the exploits of Captain William Rennie and James Hayter, his 1st Lieutenant - involves the powerful & enigmatic Sir Robert Greer, Head of the fledgling secret service.
Hayter felt cheated by Greer after their recovery of a vast amount of bullion from the South Seas but receiving no 'prize money' and decides to send a letter to the admiralty. Greer is outraged and makes it abundantly clear that they can expect nothing, but must accept the next commission or take the consequences.
Again, the mission - on the face of it, a detailed survey of Jamaica's coastline - turns out to be a cover for something far darker than either Rennie or Hayter imagine.
The dependence on slaves for the success of Jamaican entrepreneurs horrifies and disgusts Rennie in particular, while the rampant sexual intrigues on the island threaten to destroy both of them. Hayter is saved the embarrassment of his infidelity by amnesia, brought about by a failed attempt on his life, orchestrated by ...? I suspect this may come back to haunt him ...
The intrigues and deception incense Hayter & Rennie which prompts a deception of their own when a chest of French gold comes their way.
The plot is sometimes slow, but this is a necessary ploy to underline the seeming futility of their mission.
This series is improving and I look forward to the next in the series. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising Series, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
Roger "Cruisin-Geezer" (SWINDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
I have now read the first two novels in this series and have found them reasonably readable, but not outstanding in this competitive sector - for me nowhere near as absorbing as Patrick O'Brian or Julian Stockwin for sea stories of the Napoleonic era. Having said that, I rather like the two central characters - so fallable, yet virtuous, and I will continue to follow them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to O'Brien?, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. M. G. Stevens "Everytimereferee" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
This is a far better book than I was expecting based on most of the reviews here. The stories of a refreshingly human captain and his first mate have been very good so far with Jamaica vividly painted in the imagination. The Expedient is a far less brilliant ship than the Surprise with many flawed characters and this comes as something of a relief to be honest. There's plenty of manly heroism, buck swashling although it loses a star for the rubbish BANGBANGBANGBANGs in the sea battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 star!! - Must be reading different book!, 1 Dec. 2008
By 
H. T. Dearden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
OK maybe not to everyone's taste, but 1 star? That's outrageous. I guess most of us will agree O'Brien is the benchmark with the full 5. Smalley's Expedient novels may fall short of that extremely high bar, so maybe award four, maybe 3 if you are feeling peevish. These books are GOOD. The dialogue is a particular strength, with a period feel and some real depth and insights into character motivation. My own quibble would be with the degree of luck/coincidence that is relied upon to resolve the plot, but that aside they are a charming read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad, 3 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
Port Royal is a decent enough read, although I found the story a little too predictable, the characters a little too shallow and far too modern. Not a patch on Richard Woodman or O'Brian, but nevertheless the book kept me entertained and left me wanting to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull, dull, dull, 17 July 2007
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
What a disappointment! The plot sounded so interesting in the blurb, but actually was not. There was absolutely no build up of the storyline at all and the ending, far from being an exciting sea battle, was quite dull. Due to the style of writing, with 18th century dialect, it took a long time to read and I almost gave up on several occasions as i really was not enticed into finding out what would happen to the ship and crew. Only my sheer stubbornness to finish a book i'd started kept me going. Don't waste your money buying this - it is dull, dull, dull!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very Disappointed, 4 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
Browsing an airport stall I saw Port Royal and thought: great, more sea stories in the vein of Obrian and Hornblower and Ramage, as the cover blurb would lead you to believe. But Oh dear whata desperate disappointment. No plot, no action, no build up of characters in short its a very poor read. In an effort to see if I was missing anything I turned to Amazon reviews for a second opinion and it appears I am not alone. Really dont bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Port Royal (William Rennie 2) (Paperback)
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Port Royal (William Rennie 2)
Port Royal (William Rennie 2) by Peter Smalley (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews