Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
Can it really be 30 years since the first Wilt book? And isn't it about 10 years since the last Tom Sharpe book?
While this is not up there with the classic Sharpe books, it still a decent read. In some respects this could have been written back in the 70s as half the characters still inhabit that timeless Tom Sharpe world where people still keep the words 'blighter'...
Published on 17 May 2005 by A. Skudder

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RIP Wilt - alive but concussed
In a South Bank Show special about Tom Sharpe a couple of years ago, the great man was asked about his very slow output in recent years. Two problems were at the root: a serious heart condition and equally serious writer's block. Sharpe told Melvyn Bragg that he'd used his barbecue to burn about 1500 pages of text on the grounds that it didn't make him laugh. He also...
Published on 11 May 2005 by Andy Millward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4) (Paperback)
After I read the rather indifferent reviews here, I nearly didn't buy this. But I did, and I' very glad I did. I found it a throughly enjoyable read, and laughed out loud a number of times. I'm not convinced that Tom Sharpe was ever funnier than he was in the early South African books, but Tom Sharpe below his best is still funnier than most other contemporary comic writers.
A recommendation: if you like the Tom Sharpe mixture of satire, slapstick, and cruel physical humour, then try John McCabe's Herding Cats. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wilt is Nowhere, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Christopher Slade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4) (Paperback)
I was disappointed with this latest excursion by Tom Sharpe into the land of Henry Wilt. Previous instalments, especially "Wilt" and "Wilt on High" have seen our misfortunate Tech Lecturer battle, humorously with the bureaucracy of institutions and situations generated by his own approach to life. This time in "Wilt in Nowhere" Henry Wilt is no more that a bit part player in a set of scenarios loosely linked by the Wilt family, in fact Wilt is Nowhere. The clever humour that Tom Sharpe has generated in previous books has been replaced an increase in "coarse" language a move that can be seen in a number of less able comedians today and is supposed to reflect common speech. Hopefully this drop in standard is only a blip and any future instalments will again rise to the previous high and humorous standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Makes you laugh out loud .Tom Sharpe excels as usual in flights of absurdity.Takes your mind of a delirious trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wilt in nowhere wilt series 4 !!!, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. Hughes "gwizz" (n.wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
don't listen to others who say this is not as good as the previous 3 wilt books.
i can assure you TOM SHARPE is still on good form... very funny from start to finish.
with the usual escapades & with his four daughters growing up and having more to say
then the average girls of their age, not to mention EVA her normal self..
buy it read, roll out of bed laughing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilt, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4) (Paperback)
Excellent value for money.....second hand. I am only half way through it (been reading other books) but this book without a doubt is the funniest I've read in a long time - an original Tom Sharpe classic!! Received within time scale and packaged securely. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOL!!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor Henry Wilt, how do these things keep happening to him? Tom Sharpe's inimitable take on the tribulations of Henry again. Loved it as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4) (Paperback)
If you have never read a Tom Sharpe book you have not lived. He is laugh out loud funny. PLEASE give a go, you will not regret and be back to buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good lightedhearted read., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite in the same class as some of Sharpes other titles,but nevertheless an amusing read when you've re read the Wilt series a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liked the book, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit disappointed that the book never made me laugh like Wilt (1). But then again this was a good read with an excellent plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical outrageous farce but not Sharpe's best., 22 Aug 2013
Outrageous farce in usual Sharpe fashion but not Sharpe at 100%. As a Sharpe fan I think I've now read all of his books at least once and I've enjoyed them all. I would say if you're going to give him a try avoid reading this one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4)
Wilt In Nowhere: (Wilt Series 4) by Tom Sharpe (Paperback - 7 April 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews