Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking stuff
Andy Cave has a good story to tell and he tells it really well. In a straightforward style, he doesn't mess with the essence of this gripping account of how he came up for air from the gritty life of a Yorkshire miner in the Thatcher era and found his purpose in rock climbing and later extreme alpinism at the top end of the sport. I couldn't imagine taking this book on a...
Published on 19 Jun. 2005 by Dave Hume

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brilliant.
Not wishing to be harsh, this is good read, but not outstanding. Cave might be a great mountaineer but he's no Joe Simpson in terms of his ability to tell the story. Also I learned more about mining and the miners strike than I did about mountaineering. An autobiographical work, you have to patient and wait to the very end to get the best mountaineering story, and I (...
Published on 11 Mar. 2011 by Mr. S. C. Hamnett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eager to Read, 8 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Learning To Breathe (Paperback)
I have not read Andy Cave's books before and I am not even a mountain climber. I have been skiing for 9 years ( Late starter) having 2-3 ski holidays a year to try and catch up with the years I have missed. I have an affinity with mountains,with or without snow.
I find with reading such books as 'Learning to Breath' give me a greater understanding of what lengths these climbers will go to to achieve their aim. It has the adrenalin pumping in anticipation of a safe return to base.
An excellant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book from an excellent mountaineer, 4 Dec. 2007
By 
Nick Bryce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning To Breathe (Paperback)
Andy Cave has been one of Britains leading mountaineers for quite a while. I have been waiting for a book to be released on his life (and achievements). This book does not disappoint. It's well written - being easy to read and containing enough facts to keep you interested all the way through. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Breathe., 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this book several times and I'll read the book again in the future. One of the best books written by an exceptional climber. You don't need to be a climber to enjoy this book, the story is brilliant, especially if you like Chamonix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Breathe, 8 Nov. 2012
Excellent book, well written, interesting and exciting.

Cave explains his life as a miner and and climber with inspiring detail that enables the reader to emerge themselves in the book and feel engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Breathe, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read with unavoidable comparisons with the (fictional) Billy Elliot story. Andy Cave writes with real style and humour and conveys the dedication and skill it takes to become a real climber and mountaineer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
Greg (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read many mountaineering books, my expectations were not especially high. This is a debut and it is difficult genre. Being a good mountaineer does not necessarily translate into a good writer. As a debut though, learning to breathe not only gave a detailed and gripping picture of some of Andy Cave's ascents but also an interesting perspective on the relationships between and thought processes of himself and fellow climbers. Andy does this with an unassuming and understated style which is entirely engaging for an often ego driven sport.
This is balanced with an interesting and candid account of Andy's youth including his time spent working in a South Yorkshire coal mine. Set against the backdrop of the famous miners strikes, this provides an insightful picture of the times and larger than life characters in an often painful but mostly humorous way making this so much more than a mountaineering book. There are of course some wonderful climbing photos but also some great mining pictures too. I look forward to reading Andy's second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Breath, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning To Breathe (Paperback)
A good read, but its necessary to get to page 197 before the real climbing begins. The very long introduction and early life includes a very one-sided account of the miners strike, without mentioning the role and incompetence of the NUM in the miners downfall. It is a very sad and painful book and especially when Andy walks out on his friends, who have crossed the picket line to save their relationships and feed their families. The death of Brendan was tragic and unnecessary in a way that is incomprehensible, but who, like Maurice Herzog's gloves, was simply blown away, across the very thin line between life and death at very high altitude. Andy has been there, I haven't, I appreciate this window on an extreme life and I admire his courage. The world is a richer place because of our great adventurers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 29 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Learning To Breathe (Paperback)
Andy Cave has clearly made the best of his life to date. His account of working as a young school leaver in a pit and struggling through the miners strike of the 80's acts as a fascinating and logical introduction to his later adventures and tales of survival in perilous peaks. Unlike other climbers whose motivation and ability to withstand mountaineering hardships remain cloaked in mystery, Cavey brings us on a tour of the circumstances which have led him tackle horrendously difficult routes in very isolated places. His writing style and anecdotes keep the reader engaged from the first page, though this book is more gripping than his sequel 'Thin White Line'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Mar. 2011
By 
Peter Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning To Breathe (Paperback)
I don't read many books- often starting one and getting bored of it and giving up around 100 pages in, this however; I couldn't put down. I'm not a climber myself but still thoroughly enjoyed it. Very well written indeed. Anyone with even the slightest interest in outdoor sports should read this, I've ordered his second book- Thin White Line and have very high expectations following this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read....from the depths of the mining pits to the summit of Changabang, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, written in a no nonsense style that will appeal to adventurers everywhere. Andy's story has many facets to it that keep you interested from start to finish. Stop procrastinating and just buy it......you won't be disappointed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learning To Breathe
Learning To Breathe by Andy Cave (Paperback - 2 Mar. 2006)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews