Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Starwars novel
I have just finished reading this book.
The Story draws you in stright away & centres around Obi -Wan & Kit Fisto's mission to Ord Cestus.
The story romps along with a few cameos from some of the other chracters from the starwars universe & is easy to read, unlike some of the New Jedi Order books.
Highly recommeded.
If you like Star...
Published on 7 Dec 2005

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful
This is by far the worst of the 54 star wars books I have read so far. Even as an avid fan, this is a slow, pointless effort that could have been over in 2 chapters. Half way through I was actually trying to remember what had happened, for two reasons.
1) It was so bad I could only manage a few pages a night and so couldnt remember what had happened weeks ago,...
Published on 20 May 2008 by Alan R. McGuire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful, 20 May 2008
This is by far the worst of the 54 star wars books I have read so far. Even as an avid fan, this is a slow, pointless effort that could have been over in 2 chapters. Half way through I was actually trying to remember what had happened, for two reasons.
1) It was so bad I could only manage a few pages a night and so couldnt remember what had happened weeks ago, and:
2) Nothing had happened!!!
This book makes Obi-Wan out to be some sneaky, underhanded, but incompetant Jedi and Kit to be this outlandish thug. These are supposed to be skilled Jedi with Obi wan hailed as the negotiator for pity sake, not some refugees trying to sneak a win under a governments nose. This book demolishes the image that the films and books tried to build. Stupid bugs, Troopers naming themselves, useless anecdotes about Jango Fett, pointless politics tied loosely to the war! this was awful!
I love the star wars books, and so will keep it in the collection, but it will not be read again and unless you are a collector, please please please stay clear. Its just not worth it. If you want a Clone wars book, buy "Shatterpoint" or the magnificent "Labyrinth of Evil". Other timelines? the thrawn trilogy or most of the new Jedi order (start at the beginning though!)
So, sorry my first review is so bad but after so long enjoying the star wars universe I really cannot believe anyone let this be published and felt i had to speak out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Enough, 28 Nov 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Cestus Deception (Paperback)
It seems that at some point a meeting was held to plan out the content for the Clone Wars books and in this meeting it was decided that each book would contain some element of War: Shatterpoint showed the corruption of character; the Republic Commando books show the troopers' side; the medstar books showed life behind the lines and Dark Rendezvous showed attempts at appeasement. It's not clear what Cestus Perception was supposed to be other than a chance to give Obi Wan his own adventure.

A hive-mind controlled insectoid race should be fairly unique but Star Wars already has similar races with the Geonosians and the Dark Nest Trilogy and this doesn't really bring anything new to the table. It's like an improv comedy routine where the writer's been given a Jedi (Kenobi) and a situation (Insect Hive) but the writer's failed to add anything exciting to those bones.

There's nothing massively wrong with it: it's a perfectly functional adventure, there's just not enough to make it stand out. As with so many Clone Wars stories, we're told this world is strategically important but you don't really get a sense of it being anything more than a generic world for minor events to unfold on. In its favour, Obi Wan is accompanied by fan-favourite Kitt Fisto, however Fisto's appeal was chiefly visual with his Rasta-ish appearance: it's not something that translates well through text.

The stand-out sequence is a fight atop an underground train with the two Jedi facing off against regular villain Assaj Ventress (the poor woman really has a lot on her plate). It's a high-octane chase that would fit well in the Clone Wars cartoons. It may be the only memorable moment but it's a good one.

Strangely, the bonus short story that adds pages to the book is arguably the better story. It has a similarly small-scale feel but with less pages, keeps things tight. It feels as much a story as the main bulk of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Starwars novel, 7 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I have just finished reading this book.
The Story draws you in stright away & centres around Obi -Wan & Kit Fisto's mission to Ord Cestus.
The story romps along with a few cameos from some of the other chracters from the starwars universe & is easy to read, unlike some of the New Jedi Order books.
Highly recommeded.
If you like Star wars - you'll like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars starwar books, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i just like reading them ,i have read these kind of books since i was a teenager.my grand mother just to by me these kind of books ,i never liked any other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking for new books to read on my kindle, will be buying a load more star wars books to read while i'm at work, its boring there and star wars isn't, obiwan is awesome, looking forward to digging into this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEe, 16 Mar 2013
Hello Steven Barnes great book

Could you make a new book

I loved your books as well
Did you make star wars?
my favourite Jedi master is obi1kenobi
Who is your character
this is a very good star wars book$$$$$$$$$$$$$
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

I love star wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Cestus Deception
Star Wars: The Cestus Deception by Steven Barnes (Paperback - 2 Jun 2005)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews