Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic by the demented author of Captain Bluebear!
If you haven't read Captain Bluebear yet, why ever not?! It's hard to know whether to describe Rumo as a sequel to Bluebear, or merely another chapter in the history of Zamonia. Like Bluebear and also Wild Ride Through The Night, Rumo is full to bursting with bizarre places and wonderful characters, just as a taster here are a few I've come across; a threesome of...
Published on 17 Dec 2004 by ashwinder

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing and nasty
Compared to The City Of Dreaming Books and BlueBear this is a real grind to read. Filled with a lot of gratuitous violence and torture, I really wish I hadn't read it; The wit and invention just doesn't outweigh, let alone justify the unpleasant nastiness that the author presents. This book is going in the bin.
Published on 21 May 2012 by G. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic by the demented author of Captain Bluebear!, 17 Dec 2004
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Hardcover)
If you haven't read Captain Bluebear yet, why ever not?! It's hard to know whether to describe Rumo as a sequel to Bluebear, or merely another chapter in the history of Zamonia. Like Bluebear and also Wild Ride Through The Night, Rumo is full to bursting with bizarre places and wonderful characters, just as a taster here are a few I've come across; a threesome of prophesising ugglies, a psychic ventriloquist oak tree, a schizophrenic sword/cheese knife, and a lake of oil inhabited by half-dead yetis...
Just like Bluebear, Rumo is full of wonderful drawings by the author, illustrating the odd fauna of Zamonia, and giving the book a real sense of character.
Captain Bluebear was divided into 14 chapters (Or 13 1/2 to be precise) each representing a life experience. Whereas In Rumo, this sequence is used again but the book can be divided into two main sections; upperworld and netherworld, each boasting an equal number of insane happenings.
Enjoy it while it lasts you lucky people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bedtime story ever told, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Pete "Pete" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
If you have read Bluebear, then this is a darker, more complex and even more satisfying tale, brimming over with the same dazzling inventiveness but with a more compelling, less episodic storyline.

If you haven't read Bluebear, you should, but you could read this without it; think Terry Pratchett without the nerdy irony; Tolkein written by Roald Dahl. I read these to my kids for half an hour each night, and we've been spellbound for months.

Younger kids might find it quite strong - some of it is a little gruesome. But there again as Roald Dahl knew, kids love that stuff.

And a word of praise for the translator too; I'm a languages student myself, but unusually I wasn't aware at any point that this was a translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs Harry Potter?, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
I discovered Capt Bluebear back in 2000 but it has taken me until now to read Rumo. I was not dissapointed...once again Moers has created a world of undescribable wonders....full of fantastic creations. I would tell everybody to read this book but never quite know how to describe it...is it fantasy?, is it SF?, is it sureal humour? possibly a bit of each?
If you have yet to read Moers, start with Capt Bluebear but buy this at the same time...then you wont have to wait for the postman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming story excellently told, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
A beautifully told story expertly told and illustrated. You will find yourself attaching to the characters and imagining you were there yourself. One of my favourite books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rumo Review, 5 Jun 2011
By 
D. J. Giblett (Los Arenales Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
Bought for Daughter who loves the author, has read a few of his books and was really pleased to receive the book, thoroughly enjoyed it, will buy this author again. Hope to read it myself next time in UK then will be able to do a proper review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 April 2009
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
This book is as good as all the rest of Walter Moers books.
His wit and humour throughout these books is second to none. even though I'm an adult these books appeal to all ages and the child within us all.
Great illustrations accompant most pages of thesse books adding to the humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The silver thread, 20 April 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Comic artist/author Walter Moers created the lost continent of Zamonia -- and all its bizarre inhabitants -- in "The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear."

But he expands it further in the tightly-written adventure tale "Rumo: And His Miraculous Adventures," the story of a little Wolperting and how he became the greatest warrior in Zamonia. Unlike its predecessor, this story has a solid central storyline about -- what else? -- seeking true love and one's own destiny.

On the day he learned to walk and speak, Wolperting pup Rumo (along with his owners) is kidnapped by evil omnivorous Demonocles. In the Roaming Rock prison, he's taught how to speak and fight by the shark-grub Smyke, who engineers an escape -- using Rumo's newfound fighting abilities to destroy the Demonocles and set everyone free. After some odd adventures, Smyke sends Rumo on his way, to follow the Silver Thread that leads him to his destiny.

Rumo finds his way to a city of Wolpertings, where he learns to fight, work, and falls in love with the beautiful Rala. But after leaving to get a gift for Rala, Rumo discovers that a mysterious black dome has swallowed all the Wolpertings in the city, dragging them down into the Netherworld -- where they are to be used as gladiators for monsters and the horrific Copper Killers. And Rala is in even more danger than the others, unless Rumo, Smyke and a Nocturnomath scientist can save her.

Moers' talent is in writing stories that are meant for adults, but which have the charm, imagination and complete lack of realism that we think of kids' books having. Minocentaurs, Yetis, unicornlets and savage metallic killers are only a few of the weird species that Moers populates Zamonia with -- and those are the ones with only one brain.

Though Moers devotes a lot of time to these weird creatures, he never loses sight of the plot. It sags a bit when Rumo arrives at Wolperting and tries to pursue Rala, but picks up as soon as the Netherworld attacks. And he has a delicious writing style. Never hurried or precious, but with plenty of description and some very detailed backstories, from a city of refined dinosaurs to the horrors of the Netherworld.

And it does get pretty horrific at tmes, with some nasty deaths, monsters, and the ultimate torture device, the Metal Maiden. But there's plenty of humor too, a lot of which comes from Rumo's magical knife Dandelion -- which isn't exactly the ideal weapon for a hero, since it tends to faint during fights and has a split personality.

Rumo himself is not quite an ideal hero -- he tends to be a bit too serious -- but his earnest love for Rala, and his pursuit of the Silver Thread, make him quite endearing. He's backed up by other mildly weird characters, including the mysterious Smyke, the malevolent robotic General Ticktock, a mad emperor, and the brainy Kolibri.

"Rumo: And His Miraculous Adventures" has a bit of a dead zone in the middle, but Walter Moers' whimsical, adventurous story carries itself through to the end. Hail Rumo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loose yourself again and again, 18 Jan 2007
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
I read this after reading Captain Bluebear. I'd really enjoyed Bluebear and was hoping that Moers could do the same again. Well he exceeded himself. The first time I read this book, it was my bedtime reading. (I'm in my 30's, by the way!)Istarted going to bed earlier and earlier and reading later and later.

Rumo is a Wolperting, the product of a romantic trist between an enchanted wolf and an enchanted doe. That's only the start of it! Weirdness ensues with Nocturnomaths, Sharkgrubs, Bluddums, the list of weirdness could go on for ever. Despite this the book always inclues the readers, whisking all along for the ride.

Above all, this is a love story full of daring do and the importance of being true of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 21 April 2014
By 
Stevedill (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
I read Captain Bluebear whilst on holiday last year so decided to take Rumo with me this year and was not disappointed. A great book to get lost in while relaxing. I shall read the next one next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rumo, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Rumo (Zamonia 2) (Paperback)
This book is the best book I have read this year hands down. It is witty and funny and I love the fact that the characters are well developed. Could not put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumo (Zamonia 2)
Rumo (Zamonia 2) by Walter Moers (Paperback - 3 Nov 2005)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews