Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A novel to lose yourself in
The name Virginia Woolf likely conjures the image of an important cultural figure, a significant writer, but one with an intimidating reputation. As such, readers may either stay away from her work or approach cautiously, expecting something wilfully obscure and deliberately difficult.

The truth is that, yes, Woolf's writing can be a challenge and the reason...
Published on 10 Feb. 2011 by M.B.

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure...
Having finished `Mrs Dalloway', I was left unsure whether I actually enjoyed the book. I can clearly see why it has received so much praise as Woolf's excellent use of language truly envelopes you in the psyche of Clarissa Dalloway and the thought processes of her other dramatic devices, particularly the visionary Septimus. However I was, as I am sure Woolf intended,...
Published on 12 July 2008 by H.J.P.


‹ Previous | 17 8 914 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly told as a series of characters going to a ..., 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
Cleverly told as a series of characters going to a party and weaving their life stories into thedays events and thoughts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One gets EXACTLY what one expects... a ..., 17 Dec. 2014
By 
D. Birbeck "Jasperoo" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
One gets EXACTLY what one expects...a novel by Virginia Woolf, and if that is not what one wants, then don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great bargain, great story, great for any one interested in studying or further exploring the text in fine detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State-of-the-art stream-of-consciousness, 12 Jan. 2007
The best Modernist novel I have read. The stream-of-consciousness style of narrative works beautifully here, slipping from one consciousness to another with ease and total convicion. The finest example of this is when the characters watch the aeroplane writing letters in the sky, and the narrative explores each of the character's perception of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
This is one of my favourite books of all time, by one of my favourite authors. I never get tired of reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly modern read., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this novel more than I expected to. I have now read several VW books and intend to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Trying hard to understand this section of society at that particular time without getting irritated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
The book was a good example of the era it was written in and discusses well a post traumatic stress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs. Dalloway (Kindle Edition)
Fab u lous.
Seven teen more words need ed, about Mrs Dall o way, sup re flo us I think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 914 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Dalloway (Vintage Classics)
Mrs Dalloway (Vintage Classics) by Virginia Woolf (Paperback - 5 Feb. 2004)
£6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews