Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
I enjoyed this book a lot, I believe what she writes about him. Its not all rosey, she does mention his bad temper, drug abuse, affairs etc & also her own affairs. But she's not bashing him in any way, she's just being honest. I believe she really loved him when she was with him, i'm not quite sure of what to make of her these days though, she's become a bit too...
Published on 16 Jun 2008 by Linz Fozz

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Queen Cilla of Memphis
A fluffy, Hollywood tinged look at Priscilla's life with Elvis. A very scant tome, when all is said and done, not much substance or depth. A glossy look at life with the King.
This came at a time when Albert Goldman's assualt in the form of his book Elvis was on the market for a couple of years and Priscilla felt that she had to paint a more wholesome picture of...
Published on 13 April 2004 by sp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Queen Cilla of Memphis, 13 April 2004
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Hardcover)
A fluffy, Hollywood tinged look at Priscilla's life with Elvis. A very scant tome, when all is said and done, not much substance or depth. A glossy look at life with the King.
This came at a time when Albert Goldman's assualt in the form of his book Elvis was on the market for a couple of years and Priscilla felt that she had to paint a more wholesome picture of Elvis (probably to keep business at Graceland going).
It reads like a Danielle Steele book. If you're looking for something with a bit more bite, try Revelations from the Memphis Mafia. Not that you want to read something which dishes the dirt but this is very scant. She was, after all, the ex-wife, not the widow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Jun 2008
I enjoyed this book a lot, I believe what she writes about him. Its not all rosey, she does mention his bad temper, drug abuse, affairs etc & also her own affairs. But she's not bashing him in any way, she's just being honest. I believe she really loved him when she was with him, i'm not quite sure of what to make of her these days though, she's become a bit too "hollywood" or "celebrity" for my liking & it seems she's after the publicity more than defending Elvis' name which is a real shame. I guess we all like to think Elvis was perfect, but no one is & its bad what he did to himself, a real waste, but only the good die young & he will be loved remembered forever, I think we should concentrate on all the years he was successful & what he did for music instead of all the bad stuff that came later. I hate books that try & exploit him, its incredibly low to do that to someones memory just for the money, let him rest in peace now thats all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS AND ME By Priscilla B. Presley, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Jolene Davies (Croydon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Hardcover)
If you're a huge fan of the King then you'll absolutely love this book.
By reading it, I had a great insight of the man behind the myth and what actually went on between Elvis and Priscilla behind closed doors.
I also felt sympathetic towards Priscilla as the story unfolded and realised that she must have had an unbelievable strength and determination to put up with his ups and downs, his love affairs with other women, his sleeping hours, his eating habbits, his drug usage and his absence for most of their marriage.
I did feel that the book ended too soon and had me wanting more as soon as I read the last page.
"Elvis And Me" also got me interested in other books about Elvis and Priscilla, such as "Priscilla, Elvis and Me" by Michael Edwards, "Priscilla and Elvis" by Caroline Latham (although this book is similar to "Elvis and Me") and "Elvis Aaron Presley-Revelations from the Memphis Mafia" by Alana Nash.
Anyway, I hope you enjoy the book. Happy reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always On My Mind, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Paperback)
Love Elvis ...he was a one of and will never be replaced..i think Priscilla wrote an honest enough book..but dont be fooled she knew exactly what she was doing when she married Elvis..he made her .. no one would ever have known a thing about her or cared ...enjoyed reading this very much..Elvis is GOD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 7 Oct 2003
Despite the fact that Priscilla is not a writer this book is a very entertaining read even if it wasn't about one of THE iconic figure of the 20th Century- Elvis Presley.
Despite the fact that it paints a less than rosy image of Elvis, Priscilla stills get across that Elvis was a victim to his fame and not a drug pushing man like so many of his other so-called friends have made out.
You really do feel that Priscilla loves Elvis from the start to finish.
The only problem with the books is the lenght. It was way to short and I could have gone on reading it for atleast another day or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting insight into the world of the King!, 4 Nov 2002
By 
M. Paget "mickeyboy" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Paperback)
Once I started reading this I couldn't put it down. Many people have written about Elvis in the past; this one's from his wife. She comes across as very honest about her life with Elvis. Priscilla doesn't paint a rosy picture at all - Elvis had many faults and lived a fantasy in many ways. What does come across that despite these faults, she could'nt help loving him, even know in her heart she knew she would never have him to herself. Elvis was a victim of his success in every sense. Overall, a fantastic read and perfect to read on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Evasive story-telling, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Hardcover)
The subject matter here is potentially explosive and should have made for a better book. I think the author wants us to read between the lines so that her story is understood without her being seen to be overtly critical of her former husband. Priscilla goes as far as she wants to dare by referring to Elvis's infidelities, and his reliance on prescription medication, while refraining from judging the morality of the former or the recklessness of the latter. The result is that the book fails to discuss incisively a number of fascinating disclosures. These include Elvis's self-absorption and moodiness, his courtship of Priscilla when she was barely 14 years old (she explains Why she was pursued by Elvis but not How he could have brought himself to even consider doing so), the dysfunctional dual roles created by employing friends and family, and the appalling psychological damage incurred by many of those who tried to get close to Elvis. Priscilla divulges less about her life with Elvis than do the authors of 'Elvis and the Memphis Mafia', which is a better resource than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a gift for a friend,it is a bool I once owned myself many years ago and I was very happy to find it was still in circulation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting insight, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Paperback)
Very well read book. Only wished it carried on a bit further but I am sure I can find another book .

Who knew how troubled Elvis was from such an early age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 23 July 2013
By 
Elaine Connor "young gran of 5" (Co.Antrim,N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Me (Paperback)
Love Elvis so was very pleased with this book, have just had time for a quick look so far & I can't wait to settle down for a good reading session
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b130e4)

This product

Elvis and Me
Elvis and Me by Sandra Harmon (Paperback - 7 Aug 1986)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews