Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page-turning tale of money and morals
Kennedy has dealt with the ephemeral nature of success before, notably in `The Big Picture' and `The Job'. `Temptation' is the tale of David Armitage, a struggling screenwriter who after years of getting nowhere suddenly hits the big time.

The story is like one of those yuppie nightmare movies popular in the Eighties and Nineties, where a wealthy, successful...
Published on 4 July 2007 by Ichabod J

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not his usual high standard
I like Douglas Kennedy's novels for what they are - well written page turners. He has a certain style: a love betrayed, a flawed leading character, a build 'em up the watch 'em fall narrative. Nothing wrong with that.

And nothing wrong with this book either. I enjoyed it very much. It's just that it felt 'phoned in'. I'm sure Kennedy worked very hard on...
Published on 11 Nov. 2006 by Jenny


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page-turning tale of money and morals, 4 July 2007
By 
Ichabod J (Farleigh Wallop, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
Kennedy has dealt with the ephemeral nature of success before, notably in `The Big Picture' and `The Job'. `Temptation' is the tale of David Armitage, a struggling screenwriter who after years of getting nowhere suddenly hits the big time.

The story is like one of those yuppie nightmare movies popular in the Eighties and Nineties, where a wealthy, successful type gets involved in something they shouldn't, makes some poor decisions and sees their life unravel. It covers a well-worn theme - that money does not guarantee happiness. Kennedy's brand of moralising plays to the crowd, i.e. those of us without millions who may enjoy hearing that affluence does not make all your problems disappear, but it's well-written light entertainment and very readable. Four stars on this basis.

A note to prospective male readers: after a string of bestsellers with female narrative voices, Kennedy's publishers seem to have decided to give all his books soppy covers irrespective of content. Don't be put off giving this one a try because of the Mills and Boon type artwork.

Finally, anyone who enjoyed this tale of money and morals should try Stephen Vizinczey's classic `An Innocent Millionaire' for a more literary (though no less readable) take on similar themes and issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by its cover, 31 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
A struggling Hollywood screenwriter gets a lucky break. This (initially) rags-to-riches story is about the fickleness of Hollywood and the ephemeracy of fame. Strange choice of title - temptation isn't a major feature of the book - but the main problem is that glaringly inappropriate cover which suggests a slushy romantic novel. The publishers would do well to preprint the book with a cover more relevant to its content and its target audience. Fans of Kennedy's earlier works, such as The Job and The Big Picture, will probably enjoy this book, but fans of his more chick-lit recent stuff may not. There are some errors which should have been picked up by the proofreaders: Los Angeles' Wilshire Boulevard is several times referred to as "Wiltshire Boulevard", and the name of minor character McHenry is suddenly changed to McHale for no apparent reason. The bahaviour of the main character is irritatingly naive in places, and some of the plot twists strain credibility somewhat, but overall it's a readable enough page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not his usual high standard, 11 Nov. 2006
By 
Jenny (Bradford on Avon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
I like Douglas Kennedy's novels for what they are - well written page turners. He has a certain style: a love betrayed, a flawed leading character, a build 'em up the watch 'em fall narrative. Nothing wrong with that.

And nothing wrong with this book either. I enjoyed it very much. It's just that it felt 'phoned in'. I'm sure Kennedy worked very hard on it, but I felt that it could have done with a tighter editing. Some of the parts of the books were over long and it was hard to understand why the main character would put up with some of the behaviour that he had to deal with. Great holiday read, but not much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Kennedy leads into Temptation, 11 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
The best thing about "Temptation" is that it makes no demands on the reader. This novel is very, very, very, easy to read. That probably accounts for its popularity.

There's something to be said for light literature. You can read it anywhere, on a plane, at a bus stop or in a hotel lobby and still carry on a conversation or perform neuro-surgery. The plot should be simple, the characters generally distinguishable from one another and there should be some sort of denouement which will be satisfactory to the reader, even if it's rather implausible.

Kennedy fulfills all of these criteria. The novel is about a writer, David Armitage, who finds "overnight success" and proceeds to be enthralled by all the trappings of wealth. He reveals a weaker side to his character, dumps his wife and child, spends, spends spends and begins a downward spiral into self-destruction. So much for original theme.

Most of the characters in "Temptation" are self-absorbed social climbers who want to profit from David's success, but this is Hollywood, so what else is new? Apart from two nice characters in the novel, the rest are caricatures of one dimensional grubs. Into this plot enters a sort of George Souros cum Howard Hughes weirdo who never makes sense. We are supposed to regard this billionaire as some sort of Satanic creature, the snake in the Garden of Eden, perhaps, who has come to ruin David's joy by leading him into temptation.

This novel is so blatantly didactic that it smacks of the pulpit. David is a modern Icarus who flies too close to the sun and is consumed by it. Apparently, the American dream of ambition and success are bad things, according to the author and so David must be taught a lesson.

There is so much symbolism here and it's all unsubtle, which is paradoxical isn't it? Everything is spelled out in full, so that nothing can be deduced or discussed. There is no controversy at all. David was greedy. David was selfish and so must suffer. It's no mere coincidence that he loses weight, grows his hair and beard and someone makes a reference to Jesus. David's being crucified. Get it? That's what I mean by nothing left to chance. Kennedy leaves no message unhammered.

Can I recommend "Temptation"? Yes, as light reading which should make all failures very content in their little hovels. Rich people bad, poor people, good. I have heard that message somewhere before and camels having a hard time getting through eyes of needles springs to mind, but as one of my favourite TV characters once commented on being reminded that the meek shall inherit the earth. "Yes, but the meek don't want it."

If you like moralising then you will be satisfied by Douglas Kennedy's "Temptation". Don't be surprised, though, if somebody turns it into a film with Jude Law or Tom Hanks as the star or maybe Tom Cruise. Surely not Mel Gibson, though he would enjoy the fallen idol and messianic role, wouldn't he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but give it a chance!, 18 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
Douglas Kennedy's 7th novel seems to have received quite poor reviews.I read this in a few days, like all of Kennedy's novel's Temptation's a page turner . Kennedy returns to the male character in the first person, in this case David Armitage a struggling scriptwriter gets the breakthrough to the US West Coast big time, writing a succesful sitcom. In the cut throat world of vitrial media, and his encounter with bilionaire tycoon Philip Fleck. It's well plotted with elements of his earlier novels Big Picture and The Job ,yet it does lack somewhat the originality of other Kennedy masterpieces, by the time I read the last page I felt as if I'd been cheated out of a few chapters.Condemed as superficial and poor by other critics, I disagree. Iput this in the same category as his earlier works The Dead Heart,Big Picture and The Job and it's probably the weakest of that group, as Kennedy's other novels covered female characters. But give temptation a chance it's not that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Romp, 4 Dec. 2006
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
This is my first novel of Kennedy's that I have read. I found it a nice, easy read; recommended for something light and undemanding. I find his style fluid, keeping my attention throughout. It has left me feeling I would like to read his other novels, which according to some comments here, are to be preferred to this most recent one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous errors in the copy!, 9 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temptation (Kindle Edition)
I'm astonished at the number of typos, spelling mistakes and punctuation blunders in this Kindle edition of the Douglas Kennedy book 'Temptation'. I would generally let one, or even two, go unremarked - but in my Kindle version there are dozens - and I'm only half-way through!

I've paid money for this book: I would expect the copy to have been properly edited before release. I don't see how one can get refunded for a downloaded Kindle book (after all, you can't return it) but I am writing this review in a spirit of protest. Just because a book is an e-book, it doesn't mean it has to conform to the dismal illiteracy of the average blog. Shame on you, publishers!

I'm giving it two stars (not none) because the book itself is reasonably entertaining. The experience of reading it on Kindle is, however, absolutely dismal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost the plot, 22 Jan. 2007
By 
Chris Pearson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
I really loved Kennedy's previous fiction-from his best-'The Big Picture' to his more feminine titles like 'The Pursuit of Happiness'.

But this just doesn't hack it.

I stopped reading before our hero leaves the Island ( I assume he does?). The plot became very thin and the characters were not credible. No intrigue, no promise.

Come on Mr Kennedy you can do better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading..., 5 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
I'd say two things to anyone considering reading a Douglas Kennedy novel: one, ignore the exceedingly dodgy cover art (I've no idea why all his book covers feature lonesome women sitting on beaches; this gives the impression that his books are badly written romantic trash which couldn't be further from the truth) - and two, don't focus too much on the plots (which can be a bit flimsy and glib for my tastes) but on the quality of the writing instead. This book is no exception...it lacks the emotional depth and character development of 'The Pursuit of Happiness' (incidentally one of my favourite books of all time) but the sensitive, soul-searching narrative is still there - without being at all crass or overly sentimental. There is a clear moral to this story; the plot is good if a bit predictable - I actually started it thinking it was going to be another naff 'thriller' - but I was wrong and ended up gripped - not, as I say, by the plot, but by Kennedy's wonderful writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 3 Nov. 2007
By 
love reading "marsy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
This is the first Douglas Kennedy book I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought there were good lessons to be learned about selfishness. I do think some of the characters were a bit unbelievable but I did really enjoy it and will read more of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Temptation
Temptation by Douglas Kennedy (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews