Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An offbeat masterwork
A lot of mythologising surrounds this novel; when it was first published, the critics snarled and disdained it, and in large part didn't understand it, which is forgiveable, because it is a huge, complex monster of a book. The plot (which is far from being the central point of the book) follows the richly colourful and sympathetic inner life of an ancient, eccentric...
Published on 9 Sep 2005 by Jonners

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third Time Unlucky
I first read this around 1980 when it was published and thought it a work of genius as I was an almost uncritical fan of Burgess at that time.

I read it again around 1995 and was less impressed as much of it was confusing. Well, I have just reread it for the third time, an effort that took 13 months and will never be repeated.

I have had a similar...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by John Fitzpatrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An offbeat masterwork, 9 Sep 2005
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A lot of mythologising surrounds this novel; when it was first published, the critics snarled and disdained it, and in large part didn't understand it, which is forgiveable, because it is a huge, complex monster of a book. The plot (which is far from being the central point of the book) follows the richly colourful and sympathetic inner life of an ancient, eccentric author against the backdrop of twentieth-century history: this is merely a stage against which to set his relationship with an Italian priest of great character and complexity, destined to become Pope. This relationship is in itself a mere frame for an analysis of the nature of good and evil, and faith and free will, in an astonishingly subtle and labyrinthine way. The whole thrust of the book is to propose an idea, only revealed near the end, which is so philosophically shocking that the reader has to have some way of rejecting it, should they so wish. Suddenly the rest of the book is thrown into crystal relief - the vast complexity of the narrative is a web of deliberate errors of fact, logic and conclusion to allow this escape: the nature of human memory and thought itself is thrown into question. Beyond that, I leave you to argue it out amongst yourselves. This is a truly great book by one of Britain's most important C20 writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Masterpiece, 19 Dec 2001
I can't believe this isn't full of reviews, this book is one of the best books I've ever read. Anthony Burgess is one of the most inventive, original authors, making you believe everything because he entwines fiction with reality. This is a huge book, a review of the 20th century, deep, and extremly inteligent. By the end of the book Toomey (the main character) is a part of your life, I was so sad to let him go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wide-ranging and wonderful journey, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful journey through the life and adventures of Kenneth Toomey, the world-wearing and endearing protagonist. I was gripped the whole way through, although I enjoyed the highly comic scenes in the first half of the novel best. As the story progresses, the tale becomes darker, but it's still a masterpiece. The ending is very strong indeed (and that after one of the best first lines to a novel I've ever read!), with the glorious last quarter twist taking your breath away.
Worth a thousand "The Line of Beauty" books in how to write an epic saga. I can definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burgess's masterpiece, 28 April 2004
By 
Gregory Norminton (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Most writers scratch and fidget, gaze longingly at the telephone, developneurotic ticks, suffer fits of envy, fury, self-pity... and then get alittle writing done. Anthony Burgess, on the other hand, seems to havewritten a chapter before breakfast, knocked off a couple of book reviewsbefore lunch, written a symphony over crumpets and tea, and finallyrelaxed by reading THE ANATOMY OF MELANCHOLY in Mandarin translation. Hisenergy must have provoked suspicion among his peers, who failed to giveEARTHLY POWERS the Booker Prize it so richly deserved. The novel may behis greatest achievement: charting eighty years in the life of KennethToomey as he crosses continents, meets artists and Nazis, Americancultists and a devil-bashing Pope. It is a picaresque comedy that looksinto some of the darkest recesses of the 20th Century. It is huge,rambunctious, and encyclopedic. And don't let that put you off: this(slow) reader finished it in four days. So chuck out that wretchedthriller. Make EARTHLY POWERS your holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Powers, too., 10 Oct 2002
By 
Plom de Nume "Rob" (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Amazon copy is my third, the previous editions having fallen apart from constant re-reading. Earthly Powers is simply my favourite novel (of the many I've read either in pursuit of my Masters in English or for less academic pleasure over the decades since). Maybe if I share just some of the reasons you'll give it a try? One thing to say early on is that this is actually a more authentically and intricately "demonic" book than the Exorcist. It has more than one climactic twist to out-gasp Falling Angel or The Sixth Sense. It's also funnier than anything written by Spike Milligan and even Clive James. Interested?
First thing for me, though, is that the book combines the intellectual rewards of "serious" lit' with the more popular joys of any "thumping good read"! Critical analysis can be (and probably has been) made in great depth, if you're so inclined, from the thematics of the plot to close exegesis of the imagery, the syntax, the sound, the intricacies and subtleties of the prose: polymath Burgess is certainly up to any level of detailed appreciation, being more than capable in that area himself. But this is so much more than just a "clever-clever" exercise. Burgess rejoices in language as the virtuoso rejoices in musicianship: that is, he makes brilliance and insight accessible, entertaining and enlightening with the same effortless, but technically expert and hard-won, ease as Mozart or Shakespeare.
So there's that erudite, piquant, moving, hilarious voice to recommend Earthly Powers, just for starters. Then consider the story: well, it's about Good and Evil in the Twentieth Century, right? OK, it's about the Devil and his possession, at some time or other, of just about anyone who ever tried to do right, let alone the weak and downright villainous. Satan is even shown to act - and occasionally speak, if you pay attention - through the "author" himself .
This narrator, Kenneth Toomey, is what Earthly Powers is "about" on the simplest level: his outrageous cultural, religious, literary and sexual adventures amongst the movers and shakers, fictitious and real, of the modern age. The Toomey persona is clearly close to Burgess in many ways - he's witty, self-deprecating, eloquent, tortured, magnanimous, irascible. Very "real," then; but also brilliantly imagined - witness more than one glib critic being fooled into writing of Burgess as "homosexual" (wrong) on the strength of this most convincing of personae.
Earthly Powers is exciting and entertaining in so many ways, from sheer quality of authorship through to scope of plot and impact of incident. Lovely characters, too. It has true and important things to say about human behaviour; profound messages about love, respect and inhumanity. Please read it.
PS. Ignore the Introduction in this edition, though - he gets it wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Novel, 23 Sep 2008
By 
D. M. Deeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I remember picking this up and getting a feeling of joy bubbling through me when I read the first line and found that I already liked Kenneth Toomey as he explained his thinking behind the first line a little way down the page. I think I was even more surprised that it didn't come across as clever-clever, elitist or smug - it just came over as intelligent, funny, humane writing.

I'm currently reading this for the second time in the space of a year, something I thought I'd long outgrown. This is a book that glories in literary heritage, in theological debate, and in the politics of sexuality, religion and art. Above all, Burgess glories in taking the time to construct a beautifully believable, human hero and peoples the novel with characters both real and imagined (although even the real ones are imagined).

I am a voracious, constant reader and Earthly Powers is my reward - it is the reward for any serious reader. A page turner that is also a great work of art. In my opinion, it's the perfect novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning tour de force; Burgess's peak., 18 July 2001
By A Customer
I can't believe I'm the first person to write a review of this book! It stands as one of England's great 20th Century novels, burning with inventiveness, wit and enthusiasm for, well just about everything. The aim is brazenly ambitious - an eschatology of sex and faith - and Burgess carries it off with typically exuberant panache. It begins with an opening line straight from heaven and ends with a plot conclusion only someone with the impish arrogance of Burgess would be cheeky ebough to attempt. Buy it or steal it, but read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, very scary, very entertaining, 22 Jun 2012
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Your narrator an English octogenarian writer forced into religious isolation by his homosexuality, this story is told over 81 chapters and takes you through both world wars, several continents, and introduces you to many vividly realised characters. It deals with many BIG subjects; the world wars and their associated atrocities, Religion, Good & Evil, Sexuality, the Nature of Mankind in general, the 20th Century in general.Despite its gravity, This is a very, very funny book, as well as a very, very scary one. It's peppered throughout with Burgess' neologisms, bits of Latin, French, Italian (lots of Googling and dictionary searching - sometimes in vain - for me) , and is coloured by his extensive and arcane vocabulary. It must be one of the 20th century's most overlooked & underrated literary works. Indeed, it was nominated for , but failed to win, a Booker in 1980. Burgess' comments on the Booker: "It was evident for me, anyway, that my novel was no Booker material. It was hard reading for the jurors".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 13 Aug 2010
By 
Mandy (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Everyone has a 'comfort book' and this is mine. I've escaped to 'here' so many times I've had to buy three copies having read the first two to destruction. It genuinely is, for me, a place where I go to visit old friends; the characters are so real they don't just leap off the page, they take up residence in your consciousness. I first read it at 19 - and a couple (and a bit) decades later, it still calls to me every time I scan the bookshelf looking for a new read.

Earthly Powers has two main themes; catholicism and homosexuality, but they are just the vehicle Burgess uses to explore the human condition. From the misery of the First World War to the vacuity of the eighties, our hero Ken Toomey turns up at some of modern history's most fascinating moments; rubbing shoulders with with its leading figures and sketching for us their all too human foibles and failings. Fact and fiction merge beautifully to weave a wonderful yarn that is witty, warm and wonderful - as well as alternatingly dark and hilarious.

Why nobody has turned this into a film script is beyond me. But I'm kind of glad they haven't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religion/Power, 12 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
4.7 or 4.8 stars. A remarkable parody of that greatest of cliches - the self-indulgent reflections of a writer. But this is happily more than a conceptual joke. The language is sublime, the moments of brutality a punch in the crotch, the politics of religion masterful, the hero-author dynamic suitably ambiguous, the homosexual caricatures a little overblown but the wit laugh-out-loud. Seek it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3190528)

This product

Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics)
Earthly Powers (Vintage Classics) by Anthony Burgess (Paperback - 6 May 2004)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews