Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tom Sharpe
Sadly there will be no more of his brilliant farces becuase he recently passed away. Nevertheless there is still a rich legacy to read.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Peter Crosland

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not the usual 'sharpe' standard
This book tells the story of a depressed, middle-aged, battleaxe who suddenly finds herself the victim of the cruelest of frame-ups as a result of the local Police Chiefs hatred of her and her family. The characters are of the usual crisp Sharpe style, with their little idiosynchrasies and foibles, and the plot is as wonderfully bizarre as any of Sharpe's previous...
Published on 24 Feb 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not the usual 'sharpe' standard, 24 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Midden (Paperback)
This book tells the story of a depressed, middle-aged, battleaxe who suddenly finds herself the victim of the cruelest of frame-ups as a result of the local Police Chiefs hatred of her and her family. The characters are of the usual crisp Sharpe style, with their little idiosynchrasies and foibles, and the plot is as wonderfully bizarre as any of Sharpe's previous works. And yet I felt a little disappointed at the end - mainly because the usual dozen or so 'absolute-belly-laughs-with-tears' weren't present. I don't think that this book is upto Sharpe's usual standard. If you're a newcomer to the works of Sharpe, choose Ancestral Vices or Wilt or one of his other hits first - come to this one only when you've tasted Sharpe at his best. Nevertheless, The Midden still ranks way above the works of many other so-called comedy novelists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well below par., 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Midden (Paperback)
Very dissapointing offering from the 'master of the british farce'. Some clever comic situations and the usual mad characters but a little predictable. Could it be that he is not as 'Sharp'as he once was?Far funnier is Conduct Unbecoming by Chris Gaynor.This in a similar vein to Sharpe but a completely different style; however, the laughs are there by the truckload so it is well worth reading if you like this kind of book. Sorry but The Midden did not win me over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Sharp, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Kindle Edition)
Not as amusing as many of Sharpe's books and a little confusing. Not in the same class as Porterhouse Blue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tom Sharpe, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Hardcover)
Sadly there will be no more of his brilliant farces becuase he recently passed away. Nevertheless there is still a rich legacy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Sharpe, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Paperback)
Although the book was second hand and in very good condition as promised, the content however was a lot to be desired. I always (in the eighties) used to read Tom Sharpe books and found them extremely funny. Wilt, Riotous Assembly, The Throwback (magnificent!!) etc. but unfortunately this left me cold. I did persevere till the end but I still thought it not one of his best efforts. Either I have lost my sense of humour or he has lost the plot.......as indeed I did halfway through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Paperback)
If you have never read a Tom Sharpe book you have not lived. He is laugh out loud funny. PLEASE give a go, you will not regret and be back to buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Midden, 8 Dec 2013
By 
H. A. Boston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Kindle Edition)
Not the best, far from it. Was rather confusing a read and all loose ends did not tie up.
,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem by the Middenful, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Kindle Edition)
Convolutions and. Mania of Sharpean proportions. The author continues to cock a snoot at the vagrancies of authority, public services and social class with sometimes shocking but hilarious results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sharpe., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Kindle Edition)
I could get boring talking about how I love Tom Sharpe's work and how much I laugh out loud when I read them but I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay read, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midden (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book as I have a hard copy of the Wilt and the Wilt Alternative that I read to cheer myself up.
Although The Middden was an okay read I was disappointed not to have more. I have now read all 5 Wilt books by Tom Sharpe.
The First for me was the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Midden
The Midden by Tom Sharpe (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews