Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egad, This Is Good!
This is the first Georgette Heyer I have ever read and I was instantly enraptured by this story.
Jack Carstares may be in disgrace after a "cheating at cards" episode, but after six years travelling abroad he feels the need to return to England. He takes up being a highwayman as a hobby, but a chance encounter with his younger brother begins to draw him back among...
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by M. J. Saxton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average
not the best heyer novel i have read but the story was compelling enough. lots of sword fights, damsels being rescued and highwaymen. lots of plot lines going on that the love story takes a back seat. if this the first heyer novel dont be put off, there are so many others to read and enjoy
Published on 23 Nov. 2008 by Lindymck


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egad, This Is Good!, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is the first Georgette Heyer I have ever read and I was instantly enraptured by this story.
Jack Carstares may be in disgrace after a "cheating at cards" episode, but after six years travelling abroad he feels the need to return to England. He takes up being a highwayman as a hobby, but a chance encounter with his younger brother begins to draw him back among his old friends.
So bring on the wicked Duke, the Black Moth, an evocative portrait of the eighteenth century aristocratic libertine; the younger brother with the vain and capricious wife; the dark beauty threatened with the loss of virtue and liberty and we're all set for a rollicking story.
It is a virtuosic piece of entertainment and should have been made into a film long ago. The settings are exquisite, every detail of indoor and outdoor background evocative without forcing itself on the reader's attention. The characters are well defined in an Austen-esque way that makes you want to see them in the flesh.
Heyer also builds tension in a subtle way that does not overexcite, but creates anticipation and satisfaction in equal measure. The ending is nicely drawn without sickly sentiment or the hideous clash of wedding bells.
As the Earl of Wyncham, Jack has responsibilities that he refuses to take up, and somewhere inside this very entertaining tale runs the theme of responsibility and its consequences. There is more thematic depth here than you might be led to believe.
It is a shame that she has a reputation among the general reading public as a popular writer of schmaltzy romance, for those in the know she is a writer of skill whose stories are rich in detail and character, and who sets a great example as the best of popular historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent romance with a twist, 19 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Black Moth (Hardcover)
This is Georgette Heyer at her best and this book is one of my favourites. The book has been cleverly written to unveil a number of twists to the story. The Earl is not a rogue, but a character who is easy to love and who has been wronged by has family. If you like Georgette Heyer books you will love this one, the only other book I prefer over it is Convenient Marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rather brilliant debut, 30 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This was the third Georgette Heyer novel i ever read, and its one of my favourites. The characters are interesting and none more so then the Duke of Andover who in my opinion is the finest charatcer she ever created. A good read
s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Moth, 24 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is my favourite Georgette Heyer, in fact the first that I read many years ago. The characters are romantic, believable, and, strangely for a novel written decades ago about people two centuries past, very up to date. Quintessential Heyer, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A swinging Regency Georgette Heyer, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
Black Moth is a truely enjoyable read full of adventure, danger and of course love. The noble brother who has saved his younger brother from disgrace, and all but ruined his own life as a result, returns as a highway man and saves a maiden in distress. The events that follow are fast and fun, with dashing and well described sword fights and loyal friends to the rescue. Good wins against evil, but it is a close run thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Black Moth, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read 'The Black Moth' more than forty years ago and decided then that it wasn't one of my favourite Heyer novels. I have just re-read it and still class it as one of my least favourite. It is set in the eighteenth century and not the period she made quintessentially her own, the Regency, so I suppose it starts off with a disadvantage from my point of view.

The book lacks, in the main, the author's famous lightness of touch and her humour, though towards the end there are flashes of it as the tragedy descends almost into farce as the various relationships are resolved.

The Duke of Andover falls in love with the beautiful Diana and instead of courting her in the normal fashion he decides to kidnap her. Unfortunately for him Diana finds him sinister and unsettling and anyway she has fallen in love with someone else - the pleasant and likeable 'Mr Carr' with his secret past and disreputable present.

The book owes at least some of its inspiration I think to the tales of Gothic horror fashionable later in the eighteenth century with the sinister looking Duke dressed all in black and known as The Black Moth. The kidnap is straight out of Mrs Edgeworth or 'Monk' Lewis as is the Duke's sinister appearance.

This is an enjoyable read though and puts many authors of historical novels in the shade but it isn't a good introduction to Georgette Heyer. If you want to start reading her novels then 'Arabella' or 'Friday's Child' are good books to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Moth, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is the first Georgette Heyer Regency novel I've read and I really enjoyed it. I felt like I was going on an adventure with these characters. I couldn't help but love Jack and feel sorry for Dickie who really paid a heavy price for a few seconds of stupidity, whereas poor Jack stood by his brother out of love, loyalty and respect, and equally paid a heavy price too.

A very good book, which certainly held my attention throughout. I thought Lavinia was a thoroughlly spoilt bratt who didn't really know what she'd got until she was in danger of losing it.

Very good book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific first novel, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Sue (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
This was Heyer's first novel, written when she was fifteen. Yes, fifteen. Unlike most of her later work, it is not set in the Regency period, but one, or even two generations earlier, in the mid eighteenth century. Powdered hair, hooped under skirts and rich silks and brocades for men and women. In her layout of the chapters, one can see the influence of eighteenth century writers such as Frances Burney, and some of the plot devices are familiar from Burney's work, particularly 'Cecilia'. Nevertheless, she handles the interaction between her characters in a mature way, introduces their back stories with aplomb, and weaves the various threads of the plot with great confidence. Many reviewers have concentrated on the contradictions in the character of the Duke of Andover, although whether this was deliberate, or a function of the extreme youth of the author and inevitable limits on her own understanding of human nature at the time of writing (1921) is hard to say.

Notwithstanding all of this, it is an enjoyable and well paced read, with plenty of swashbuckling action to balance the balls, routs and masquerades of the London scenes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is one of Georgette Heyer's best books, in my opinion. I had great fun re-reading it recently, after many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gee...tough crowd, 12 Oct. 2001
This review is from: The Black Moth (Paperback)
This was my first Georgette Heyer novel and one of my first romance stories overall. ..and I rather liked it.
Isn't it the better stories who make the villain interesting? His Grace was a complicated character, an aspect of the story which gave it a little more depth than a two-dimensional 'he's wicked and no one likes him' sort of bad man. He really isn't a bad man at all--just misunderstood and 'eccentric' (as the British say) in a selfish sort of way. It would have been interesting to see HIM as the hero in a subsequent story...
As to the hero and heroine...
Learning that this was an early work of Ms. Heyer sounds right. The hero and heroine are innocent optimists, though the hero is supposed to be somewhat of a cynic. From my experience, most Regency romances have an innocent heroine and a foppishly meticulously-dressed hero. again, just learning that Georgette Heyer invented the Regency romance.
Anyway, the supporting characters were interesting--Lavinia...childishly shallow but good-hearted, long-suffering younger brother, comically insecure valet, blustering Irish giant of a friend. The subplots gave a larger picture to the simpler love story.
The ending was a little disappointing. It all wrapped up in one scene--after a cool sword fight, though. Everything was neatly resolved and everyone had a civilized dinner together afterwards.
It was novel to me to experience the different mode of language used--"M le duc" for one. I supposed the characters were a little shallow, but...nothing's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Moth
Black Moth by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews