Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egad, This Is Good!
This is the first Georgette Heyer I have ever read and I was instantly enraptured by this story.
Jack Carstares may be in disgrace after a "cheating at cards" episode, but after six years travelling abroad he feels the need to return to England. He takes up being a highwayman as a hobby, but a chance encounter with his younger brother begins to draw him back among...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by M. J. Saxton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average
not the best heyer novel i have read but the story was compelling enough. lots of sword fights, damsels being rescued and highwaymen. lots of plot lines going on that the love story takes a back seat. if this the first heyer novel dont be put off, there are so many others to read and enjoy
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by Lindymck


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egad, This Is Good!, 6 Jun 2012
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is the first Georgette Heyer I have ever read and I was instantly enraptured by this story.
Jack Carstares may be in disgrace after a "cheating at cards" episode, but after six years travelling abroad he feels the need to return to England. He takes up being a highwayman as a hobby, but a chance encounter with his younger brother begins to draw him back among his old friends.
So bring on the wicked Duke, the Black Moth, an evocative portrait of the eighteenth century aristocratic libertine; the younger brother with the vain and capricious wife; the dark beauty threatened with the loss of virtue and liberty and we're all set for a rollicking story.
It is a virtuosic piece of entertainment and should have been made into a film long ago. The settings are exquisite, every detail of indoor and outdoor background evocative without forcing itself on the reader's attention. The characters are well defined in an Austen-esque way that makes you want to see them in the flesh.
Heyer also builds tension in a subtle way that does not overexcite, but creates anticipation and satisfaction in equal measure. The ending is nicely drawn without sickly sentiment or the hideous clash of wedding bells.
As the Earl of Wyncham, Jack has responsibilities that he refuses to take up, and somewhere inside this very entertaining tale runs the theme of responsibility and its consequences. There is more thematic depth here than you might be led to believe.
It is a shame that she has a reputation among the general reading public as a popular writer of schmaltzy romance, for those in the know she is a writer of skill whose stories are rich in detail and character, and who sets a great example as the best of popular historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent romance with a twist, 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Black Moth (Hardcover)
This is Georgette Heyer at her best and this book is one of my favourites. The book has been cleverly written to unveil a number of twists to the story. The Earl is not a rogue, but a character who is easy to love and who has been wronged by has family. If you like Georgette Heyer books you will love this one, the only other book I prefer over it is Convenient Marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rather brilliant debut, 30 Nov 2005
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This was the third Georgette Heyer novel i ever read, and its one of my favourites. The characters are interesting and none more so then the Duke of Andover who in my opinion is the finest charatcer she ever created. A good read
s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Moth, 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is my favourite Georgette Heyer, in fact the first that I read many years ago. The characters are romantic, believable, and, strangely for a novel written decades ago about people two centuries past, very up to date. Quintessential Heyer, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 24 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is one of Georgette Heyer's best books, in my opinion. I had great fun re-reading it recently, after many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A swinging Regency Georgette Heyer, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
Black Moth is a truely enjoyable read full of adventure, danger and of course love. The noble brother who has saved his younger brother from disgrace, and all but ruined his own life as a result, returns as a highway man and saves a maiden in distress. The events that follow are fast and fun, with dashing and well described sword fights and loyal friends to the rescue. Good wins against evil, but it is a close run thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Moth, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
This is the first Georgette Heyer Regency novel I've read and I really enjoyed it. I felt like I was going on an adventure with these characters. I couldn't help but love Jack and feel sorry for Dickie who really paid a heavy price for a few seconds of stupidity, whereas poor Jack stood by his brother out of love, loyalty and respect, and equally paid a heavy price too.

A very good book, which certainly held my attention throughout. I thought Lavinia was a thoroughlly spoilt bratt who didn't really know what she'd got until she was in danger of losing it.

Very good book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gee...tough crowd, 12 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Black Moth (Paperback)
This was my first Georgette Heyer novel and one of my first romance stories overall. ..and I rather liked it.
Isn't it the better stories who make the villain interesting? His Grace was a complicated character, an aspect of the story which gave it a little more depth than a two-dimensional 'he's wicked and no one likes him' sort of bad man. He really isn't a bad man at all--just misunderstood and 'eccentric' (as the British say) in a selfish sort of way. It would have been interesting to see HIM as the hero in a subsequent story...
As to the hero and heroine...
Learning that this was an early work of Ms. Heyer sounds right. The hero and heroine are innocent optimists, though the hero is supposed to be somewhat of a cynic. From my experience, most Regency romances have an innocent heroine and a foppishly meticulously-dressed hero. again, just learning that Georgette Heyer invented the Regency romance.
Anyway, the supporting characters were interesting--Lavinia...childishly shallow but good-hearted, long-suffering younger brother, comically insecure valet, blustering Irish giant of a friend. The subplots gave a larger picture to the simpler love story.
The ending was a little disappointing. It all wrapped up in one scene--after a cool sword fight, though. Everything was neatly resolved and everyone had a civilized dinner together afterwards.
It was novel to me to experience the different mode of language used--"M le duc" for one. I supposed the characters were a little shallow, but...nothing's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Moth (Paperback)
not the best heyer novel i have read but the story was compelling enough. lots of sword fights, damsels being rescued and highwaymen. lots of plot lines going on that the love story takes a back seat. if this the first heyer novel dont be put off, there are so many others to read and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the standard you've come to expect., 7 Jan 2001
By 
Jo Lee (Hallatrow, B&NES United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Moth (Paperback)
All of the Georgette Heyers on my bookshelf are beginning to get rather tatty from constant re-reading - all except for The Black Moth. I read this book once, and then never again. The story is told mainly from the male protagonists' point of view, and the love of his life is definitely not the Heyer heroine we have all come to love and expect, and takes a completely passive role in the story.
A grave disappointment coming after just having read The Grand Sophy. (Who in my mind is the perfect Heyer Heroine, and the book I would most like to receive the TV "Pride and Prejudice" treatment")
If you must read this book, leave until after you have read the rest of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Moth
Black Moth by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews