Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather Returns/ Godfather The Lost Years
Think it should be pointed out that these two books are in fact the same book with different covers
Published on 7 Feb 2008 by Mrs. Sharon Smith

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious.
I never thought I'd look at 1/2 star reviews, and feel comforted that I wasn't the only one. The Lost Years answers one or two trivial questions (how did Clemenza die? How was Fredo tempted to treachory? What happened to Tessio?) left by the original novel and film. And it does so in the same style as Puzo, with narration that dips into the characters' thoughts quickly,...
Published on 18 Jan 2005 by gazthefool


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather Returns/ Godfather The Lost Years, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Think it should be pointed out that these two books are in fact the same book with different covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious., 18 Jan 2005
I never thought I'd look at 1/2 star reviews, and feel comforted that I wasn't the only one. The Lost Years answers one or two trivial questions (how did Clemenza die? How was Fredo tempted to treachory? What happened to Tessio?) left by the original novel and film. And it does so in the same style as Puzo, with narration that dips into the characters' thoughts quickly, cleverly.
But quite simply, there's barely anything going on throughout. We have to endure Fredo's disgusting love life, some tedious errands for Tom Hagen, and - who cares? - the marital difficulties of Francesca Corleone, daughter of Sonny. The blurb promises a "cold war" between Michael and Nick Geraci. I do not exagerrate when I say, 19 chapters of this book elapse before Geraci even recognises Michael as an enemy. His "war," his "plan," consists of one "move," that cheatingly affects something we've already seen in The Godfather part II. Only three words spring to mind: "Was that it?"
The characters act normally, but have nothing to do. And like Puzo, Mark Winegardner focuses on too many characters that matter too little. There are no scenes of iconic violence, all too much detailed sex (do we really need to know where large-nosed Louie "The Face" Russo got his name?), and far too little of anything that made The Godfather work.
Throughout reading, I was worried this would boil down to the excited-but-pointless realm of fan-fiction. It is even less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful, 7 Dec 2004
By A Customer
Much of this book is irrelevant padding.It comes nowhere near Puzo's original for excitement and pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underated, 31 Aug 2006
By 
S. Elgey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i thought this book was great it had a sense of humour which i feel added a new dimension to it, people reviewing this book said it didn't talk about the death of clemenza, well their book must've had a few pages stuck together as it does have that scene, it goes into others peoples perspectives about events during the second film and we see things clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Jeffrey Archer" does the Godfather (poorly), 6 Jan 2005
By 
Jim Gould "jimbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was attracted to this book, given a long personal interest in the Godfather franchise and Mario Puzo's work.
If your motivation is the same you'll be disappointed, but probably finish the book out of pure curiosity as to where Winegardner will go next.
In this novel, Fredo Corleone plays a more central role giving you more insight into his motivations.
There is a lot of padding, the inclusion of unnecassary incidental characters from the family and a lot of recapping the original Godfather story (I guess for the benefit of anyone new to the franchise). I found it easy to skip several pages at a time without losing anything, unlike with any Puzo novel.
The "Jeffrey Archer" element is the blatant inclusion of real-life American history, such as the Kennedy family, events during their time in office and the inclusion of Sinatra's "rat pack" - although thinly guised and the actual mention of both Al Capone and Andy Warhol. This loses something from the more subtle ambiguity of the Johnny Fontane character in the original. The attempt to make it an all inclusive Archer-type blockbuster doesn't work for me.
One wonders if any of this novel is based upon ideas of Puzo he never had time to put into a novel or whether Wineberger had largely a free reign. Whichever, Wineberger's writing style does not sit comfortably with the Godfather's legacy/franchise.
In conclusion the Puzo estate "sold out the old man!" on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Different Title to Same Book, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst a good book, it would help if there had been a warning that The Godfather Returns is the American printing and is exactly the same book as The Godfather The Lost Years otherwise you will end up making the same mistake I did and purchase both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A WORTHY SEQUEL, 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Godfather: The Lost Years (Mass Market Paperback)
Just can't understand the predominance of negative reviews here.
As a fan of the original novel and the three movies,I felt this was really well-written with complex plotting and some nice twists and turns in the last few chapters.
I've just finished it and already started on "Godfather's Revenge"!
My main issue (not specifically with this novel but with the whole book / movie franchise) is the hugh mis-match between the narrative line of the films compared with that of the books ... particularly with the Lucy Mancini character,whose central role in the epic (at least in the film trilogy) is made clear in Godfather III.This narrative thread is completely absent from the books.
Careless plotting on the part of Part III's scriptwriters - and it means that the books can never have a complete narrative correlation with the films.
Even so this book is a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly written, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You just know by reading this that author has never even met mario Puzo, which isn't a crime but you wonder if he has even read the godfather.. I don't think he has..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great author, 6 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather: The Lost Years (Mass Market Paperback)
fantastic read, unable to put it down, I particularly like this author and have most of his books, recomend them as a great read.
Joan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books I have read. Being a massive Godfather/Mario Puzo fan this is perfection. Oh if only a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather: The Lost Years
The Godfather: The Lost Years by Mark Winegardner (Mass Market Paperback - 29 Sep 2005)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews