Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How social interactions shape the brain and mind
In 1997, Daniel Goleman published his book Emotional Intelligence which launched that powerful concept. He followed it with several related books, such as Working with Emotional Intelligence. This book is the natural outgrowth of Goleman's ongoing work, so it will be immediately appealing to anyone who found his earlier books useful. However, this volume also deserves to...
Published on 3 Jun 2008 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a LOT shorter
I enjoy reading about social science and psycholgoy but I was disappointed by this book. The research is very sound and there are lots of chapter notes and references if that is what you are looking for. But from my personal perspective, this wasn't the book I was looking for.

Firstly, the book is very descriptive and tends to elaborate on lots of research in...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How social interactions shape the brain and mind, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In 1997, Daniel Goleman published his book Emotional Intelligence which launched that powerful concept. He followed it with several related books, such as Working with Emotional Intelligence. This book is the natural outgrowth of Goleman's ongoing work, so it will be immediately appealing to anyone who found his earlier books useful. However, this volume also deserves to be read on its own account. Goleman writes well. He synthesizes a broad range of thinkers and encapsulates numerous studies smoothly. And two other assets really make the book flow: First, a real sense of Goleman as a person comes through in the book's numerous personal anecdotes; second, Goleman has a great attitude. He clearly believes in the good in people and wants them to prosper. He cares and that comes through as well. Since part of this book is about the effects of rapport and supportive emotional interactions, these are not minor or casual points; in fact, they illustrate his claims. getAbstract warmly recommends this book to anyone who wants to understand social intelligence or to improve performance by improving organizational culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Goleman classics, 11 Jun 2009
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
Just what I needed. Why are we not given a copy of this book in teacher training? And why are we not told the secrets of emotions and encouraged to use them positively and constructively rather than to belittle, humiliate and get our own way?

Working with special needs students, this book puts into perspective the role of social understanding and highlights the reasons why so many children have issues with their peers, with authority and with other adults in their lives. It explains why I had such issues....

Anything by Goleman is worth buying. Be sure to read it and pass on the understanding to at least 10 other people. Your wish will come true.....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a worthy sucessor to his blockbuster, 18 Sep 2007
By 
M. Barnett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a worthy follow up to his previous block-buster. If it popularises the overwhelming importance of relationships it will have filled a big hole in mainstream thinking, which remains dominated by an aversion to recognising such issues, treating them as 'soft' and unproven and unscientific.
Read it and then give it to anyone and everyone who will read it. After 30 years working in mental health I think that our relationships are the most important choices we will ever make. You cannot choose who you were born to, but you can go some way to choosing who you live with and how you care for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Brain young mind, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from my son, and gobble-read it, enjoying every page - and challenged by all the new (to me) ideas it contained.
So I bought a copy for myself, and am re-reading it more slowly, but still enjoying it immensely. At 76 years old, I feel very lucky to have access to new thinking, and am hoping the challenge of studying this material will keep my own brain in good trim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting analysis of human relations, 18 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
I read this book after "emotional intelligence", both were very interesting; made things more clear about human relationships and our dependence on one another...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice product, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
Lovelly book, interesting and easy to read for someone who is not acquainted with psychology or related fields definitely recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a LOT shorter, 21 Sep 2008
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
I enjoy reading about social science and psycholgoy but I was disappointed by this book. The research is very sound and there are lots of chapter notes and references if that is what you are looking for. But from my personal perspective, this wasn't the book I was looking for.

Firstly, the book is very descriptive and tends to elaborate on lots of research in lots of detail rather than telling you the practical implications of the research. I want to know: What can I do to improve my 'social intelligence'? But that's not really what the book's focus is on.

My other comment is that the book could be about half the length. Goleman has a very flowery writing style and tends to string together really lengthy sentences that sometimes require reading twice.

If you want a book that covers the latest research in interpersonal communication, this book is for you. If you want a book that helps you in your life or career, I'd skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful insights to be found in this book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
Extremely useful insights to be found in this book.

For anyone working in an office environment or dealing with people in general it can make a huge difference to follow some of the advice found in this book.

Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for a special project and not read personally. No complaints from the doneE so it must have been right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
M. Lyon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships (Paperback)
Got halfway through, it was fascinating (but unfortunately stolen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships
Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships by Daniel Goleman (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews