Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by it's cover
The cover of this book gives a completely false impression and is obviously aimed at the "buy it for a holiday read" market. In fact the story works on many different levels. It is a tale of two loves ... life and the mountains. OK, there are a few cliches within but the plot twists and turns unexpectedly. It doesn't even end when you think that it should but...
Published on 1 Oct. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and informative
Best [point is that there is a lot of good information about climbing Everest. eg 1000 people attempt the climb every year. Exciting story but it rather falls to pieces towards the end. Characters do not feel real.
Published 16 months ago by Maisie Brown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by it's cover, 1 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: White (Paperback)
The cover of this book gives a completely false impression and is obviously aimed at the "buy it for a holiday read" market. In fact the story works on many different levels. It is a tale of two loves ... life and the mountains. OK, there are a few cliches within but the plot twists and turns unexpectedly. It doesn't even end when you think that it should but the extra 60 pages tie up all the loose ends in a completely satisfying manner. It's a story of loves lost and found, an adventure that is terrifyingly real and a search for reasons to live. All of the three main characters are multi-layered and you can't help caring about what happens to them. This book will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Peaks" a little early, 26 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: White (Paperback)
I loved four fifths of this book. The story is gripping - the details about the hardships of an attempt on Everest are mesmerising, and having read it I couldn't believe how anyone would willingly try it! But Rosie Thomas manages to convince us of the motivations driving the main characters. She writes with great style and pace, ripping the story along and providing just enough detail so you can see, hear, smell, taste and touch everything that's going on. But I felt that the last 60 pages were a major let down, literally an anticlimax, and found myself skimming through just to confirm that what I thought was going to happen would (it did). It really did feel like a big mistake in pacing to me, though I know other people have thought otherwise. But for everything up to that point, buy it - it's a gripping, well-told story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably gripping and very moving novel, 17 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: White (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book. It's nothing most of the popular fiction cluttering up the bookshops, but it's a perfect "curl up on a wet weekend" book. Rosie Thomas tells the story of a woman, Finch, and the two men she becomes involved with when she signs up to work as the doctor on a commercial expedition to climb Everest. One of the men, Sam, falls in love with her. Son of a keen climber, he's loathed the mountains all his life. The other, Al, is a man she fell in love with ten years before but he was married.
Very quickly, Rosie Thomas makes you care passionately about this love triangle. The expedition itself is only part of the book, but a very gripping part. You really go up the mountain with the characters, but for anyone who's worried that it sounds a bit sporty, don't be. Somehow Rosie Thomas makes the stunning beauty of Nepal as important as the adventure, and above all she makes the story of the three main characters what this book is really about. Each of them has their own demons to face - and does so.
It's a really wonderful read, quite unforgettable. I will be recommending it to everyone I know who likes an engrossing, well written novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real love story in a harsh setting, 8 Sept. 2006
By 
Mrs. J. Redmond (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White (Paperback)
I loved this book. Things didn't turn out the way I expected with Finch which made for a good story. The real fascination of this book for me, though, was the dramatic backdrop of Everest and the harsh realities of mountaineering. I was completely hooked from page 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passion and Drama, 17 Oct. 2007
This review is from: White (Paperback)
This title was actually published in 2000 and it has been sitting on my bookshelf for awhile. I only decided to read it now because my copy has a pink cover, strange reason! The reason being that one of my Bookcrossing friends is doing a release challenge to raise money for Breast Cancer Awareness month, October. So my copy will now be sent on to her in support.
I am not a great fan of soppy romance, which I thought this was going to be. It was far from that and I enjoyed it much more than I expected to.
Sam McGarth, Finch Buchanan and Al Hood are the protagonists, involved in a triangular relationship, past and present. It is this relationship that brings them together on an expedition to climb Everest.
I actually know very little about mountaineering so found the detail fascinating. I do find it difficult to understand why people want to push their body to its limits and beyond though. The experience of the climbers struggling to climb Everest in this story is horrendous. I was particularly interested though to read about Namche and the trek up to Everest Base Camp as I have a niece who as part of her travels is due to go there.
If you like a good romance with some drama thrown in, you cannot fail to enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White, 1 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: White (Paperback)
This is a fabulous story - I've read it twice and can't wait to read it again. She so obviously has a real knowledge of the bleakness, loneliness and terrifying hardship of mountaineering. Everyone should read this book - it says a great deal about a human being's ability to be self reliant as well as compassionate. Utterly compelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 22 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: White (Paperback)
very refreshing to read a fiction novel so detained, this authour definitly knows her stuff! completly enticing and guarenteed to keep you reading for hours. definitly worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another world, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White (Paperback)
I've never been to the Himalaya. Never dreamt
of climbing the Everest. I live in Europe,
never been to the States or Canada.
For me this book (like other books by Rosie Thomas)
is wha tyou call in french a complete "dépaysement":
a change of atmosphere, a world
different from mine.This is something that appeals to me!

Passionate and romantic story, good characterisation of Dr Finch Buchanan
and Sam McGrath and the change of their seemingly impossible relationship.
There is a progression in this novel : a progression worth following!

Elisheva Guggenheim-Mohosh, Geneva, Switzerland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mountains..and how to perish., 10 Dec. 2001
By 
This review is from: White (Paperback)
What an amazing story of passion..passion for climbing, getting what you want and letting slip away all you have!
Once again Rosie takes you away into another world that we can all identify with. If you are interested in climbing Everest, then read this. You might change your mind afterwards! If you are looking for a complicated heartbreaking romance then read it too..
It's a great book to read infront of your fire..keep warm and drift into a story based in Wales, Canada, foothills of Everest and of course a short stay on the summit..it's not what you think..some people stay there. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
C. A. Osborne "christine - book worm" (Northants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White (Paperback)
If you like cold and mountains - even if like me you have never climbed any you will love this book. The descriptions of climbing Everest and the conditions of the camps were so good I had to go on the Internet and find more true descriptions from people who have actually climbed Everest.
Characters were very believable apart from the meeting on the plane seemed a little far fetched. But I suppose that is what fiction is all about. Would recommend this book to anyone who likes a bit of romance mixed in with adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White
White by Rosie Thomas (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews