Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early novel
I think this must be one of Rosie Thomas's earliest novels as it was originally published in 1986; the copy I have just finished was a 2002 reprint. As it is set in the twenties and thirties it does not feel at all dated, a compassionate love story that leaves you feeling at the end that you would like to know what happens to the characters in later life. I have no idea...
Published on 17 Aug 2007 by LindyLouMac

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Where is the depth and quality.
Once again a disappointing read from one of my favourite authors. Were they written many years ago. Normally the depth and research carried out are superb. This book trite dribble.
Published 1 month ago by mizee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early novel, 17 Aug 2007
By 
LindyLouMac (Wales and Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
I think this must be one of Rosie Thomas's earliest novels as it was originally published in 1986; the copy I have just finished was a 2002 reprint. As it is set in the twenties and thirties it does not feel at all dated, a compassionate love story that leaves you feeling at the end that you would like to know what happens to the characters in later life. I have no idea if a sequel was ever written, but I would not hesitate to read it if I came across one.
The heroine Amy Lovell feels awkward and uncomfortable living the debutante lifestyle she was born to. In the turbulent political times of pre-world war Europe she discovers life in London beyond her sheltered existence. Consequently she decides to train as a Nurse and this eventually leads her to work behind enemy lines in Spain where love and pain are both agonising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and absorbing read, 16 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic. It follows Amy Lovell growing up and discovering who she really is instead of being the expected 'society girl'
Amy learns how to find her own happiness rather than following in the footsteps her family members take (which aren't as perfect as they may appear to the outside world) and she sees that money certainly doesn't equal happiness.
Rosie Thomas writes in a way that brings the characters alive and makes you cry and laugh through Amy's joys and heartache.
This was the first Rosie Thomas book I read but it certainly won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Dove by Rosie Thomas, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
I burnt the midnight oil reading this book and shall probably read it again some time. It is of course fiction, but the feelings portrayed and descriptions of the various social situations are so vivid - she must have done a great deal of research. I have read a few of her books but this one and "Iris and Ruby" are my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absoluely Beautifully Written- A Rosie Thomas novel is a sure thing, 3 Jan 2009
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
Rosie Thomas does it again. Such a prolific author. She writes with such beauty. The title means "Paloma" in Spanish. The novel is a great story filled with bittersweet loss, pain, and of course, love. I read a lot of novels. You would be amazed how much I read, but Rosie Thomas stands out from the crowd. There's no one like her. I also recommend my most favorite of all of her books, "All My Sins Remembered." This will haunt you and stay with you for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Welsh miner and the Lord's daughter- stories of social mobility., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
This story of Rosie Thomas, first published in 1986, is about failed love affairs.
The failed marriage of Mari and the dedicated Welsh miner and trade-union activist,
Nick Penry. And the long love affair between Amy Lovell, Lord Lovell's daughter,who,
searching an aim to her life, becomes a nurse, and the same Nick Penry. These love
affairs are situated in the turmoil of the Thirties, the Great Depression, the rise
of fascism in Europe, the anti -fascist struggle, both in the East-End of London (the
Cable Street Battle in october 1936 in which Nick participates) and in the
Spanish Civil War ,where Nick Penry joins the International Brigades,
only to face the bitter reality: the Communist Party's domination
of the idealistic anti-fascist volunteers, and even the execution of members
of the International Brigades by Moscow-based Komissars. (Ken Follett will treat
the same two subjects 26 years later, in 2012, in his book "Winter of the World"!!)

Amy follows her lover to Spain as a volunteer nurse, but Nick's suffering and
disillusion with communism will put an end to their love story. Nick becomes
a Labour MP, Amy adopts Paloma,( the" White Dove")becomes a doctor and probably a
doctor's wife. The Second World War starts and, a hundred pages too late,in
my opinion, the story ends.

Elisheva Guggenheim-Mohosh, Geneva, Switzerland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Paperback)
Yet another good read from Rosie Thomas, she never fails and will be sad when I have completed reading all of her novels. Highly recommended to everyone. The book arrived in good order and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Kindle Edition)
I often pick novels set in the time period but this one stands out. Loved the interesting characters and how women were portrayed in different ways unlike in so much fiction set in this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the white dove, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Kindle Edition)
another block buster story from Rosie Thomas. Its really hard to put down. Its on a par with the Kashmir shawl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Where is the depth and quality., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Kindle Edition)
Once again a disappointing read from one of my favourite authors. Were they written many years ago. Normally the depth and research carried out are superb. This book trite dribble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crossing the divide and back, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Dove (Kindle Edition)
Thoughtfully written story of England's elite and how one family's differing routes change the way things have always been to a more knowing way of life and acceptance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf0f41c8)

This product

The White Dove
The White Dove by Rosie Thomas (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews