Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Produce Thought-Provoking Evidence of the Way Nature Works
If you like those wonderful articles in the science section of The New York Times, you've undoubtedly read Mr. Johnson's writing before. Reading this book is like gaining access to a whole collection of the best of such articles.

I've always preferred experimental evidence to theorizing as a way to advance knowledge. Many things can be better understood, both...
Published on 30 May 2008 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well then lost its way...
The first two are real page turners, fascinating insights into how discoveries are made, then gradually it became rather dull and by the last two it felt he'd lost interest. The fact that none of the experiments were by a woman was unnecessarily sexist.
Published 4 months ago by Rev. H. J. Crompton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Produce Thought-Provoking Evidence of the Way Nature Works, 30 May 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you like those wonderful articles in the science section of The New York Times, you've undoubtedly read Mr. Johnson's writing before. Reading this book is like gaining access to a whole collection of the best of such articles.

I've always preferred experimental evidence to theorizing as a way to advance knowledge. Many things can be better understood, both in and out of scientific fields, if thoughtful experiments can be designed and properly measured.

Many science courses emphasize what the law of physics is or whatever is being studied and provide little perspective on the evidence for that law or natural function. That's too bad: In the process, those who are interested in the subject miss the chance to gain a deep appreciation for the subject.

George Johnson does an excellent job of providing pithy, clear, and interesting histories of the scientists, the problems they addressed, and the experiments they used to advance knowledge. Some of these stories were more compelling than any television drama I've ever seen.

Prior to the rebirth of inquiry in the Renaissance, Greek theories about how the world works often dominated. Those theories had to be overcome. In some cases, equally arbitrary theories were proposed by more modern scientists. The search for new knowledge almost always began with observing something in nature that didn't follow the "rule" that everyone else believed in.

The section on Galileo will quickly get your attention because Mr. Johnson dispels the notion of dropping weights from the Leaning Tower of Pisa in favor of describing how an inclined plane was used by Galileo to measure acceleration of a rolling ball. The most fascinating part of the work is how Galileo used his experimental results to derive a theory of what was really going on. Very nice!

The chapter on William Harvey nicely explains the prior view that there were two types of fluids, one in veins and a different one in arteries, rather than one quantity of blood circulating throughout the body. The evidence that this idea was silly is pretty clear, but the challenges of figuring out how the blood circulated are nicely explained here.

The chapter on Isaac Newton requires a strong stomach as Mr. Johnson describes how Newton put a probe into his own eyes to see what the effects would be. The experiments that showed how colors are contained in light are quite interesting.

My favorite chapter, however, is the one on Luigi Galvani in which he sought to demonstrate that animals use electricity to move. Galvani faced a persistent critic in Volta who conducted experiments to disprove Galvani. In the best scientific tradition, both men were right in defining different qualities of how electricity works.

I was almost as intrigued by the chapter on Pavlov that explained a fuller range of his experiments with changing reflexes. It made me want to read more about Pavlov.

The chapter on Millikan was uniquely intriguing, as Mr. Johnson explains through his re-creation of the experiment that Millikan used to measure electron movement that experiments can be almost as much of an art as a science.

In some cases, the personal details of the scientists' lives were almost as fascinating as the science such as Lady Ada Lovelace's single-minded pursuit of the much older, married Michael Faraday who outlived her by many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The needle in Newton's eye, 14 Jun 2008
By 
Christian Jongeneel (Rotterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Most books skip over the details of famous experiments, because the results are what counts. How many people, for instance, know how exactly Ivan Pavlov measured his dogs salivating after ringing a bell? George Johnson gives the answer in this enjoyable book. Pavlov operated on his dogs, so the saliva would be led to a tube outside the dog's mouth.

The anekdotes mr Johnson dishes up range from the charming to the engrossing. The thought of Isaac Newton poking around in his eyesockets with a blunt needle to see what effects this would cause, is, well, rather gross. There's also plenty of room for details on character and contemporary circumstances of the ten protagonists: Galilei, Harvey, Newton, Lavoisier, Galvini, Faraday, Joule, Pavlov, Michelson and Millikan.

What this book is lacking, is science. The physical basics of the experiments are barely explained, just enough to understand what they are about. Mr Johnson clearly set out to amuse rather than educate - which is fine, of course, as long as readers know what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments (Paperback)
Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Started well then lost its way..., 7 Mar 2014
By 
Rev. H. J. Crompton "Crompy" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two are real page turners, fascinating insights into how discoveries are made, then gradually it became rather dull and by the last two it felt he'd lost interest. The fact that none of the experiments were by a woman was unnecessarily sexist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nature of experiments, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments (Paperback)
book is ckearly written and experiments are well chosen however I found them over simplified. I would have to think carefully about to whom I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments (Paperback)
Bought for my stepson who is studying sciences and he loved the book and couldn't wait to start reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent table quiz material, 15 Mar 2011
By 
DB "davidbirkett" (Co. Kildare, Ireland (but born & raised Liverpool, UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments (Paperback)
I set a science quiz in November each year during Science Week Ireland, and I should be able to mine this for several questions. There were lots of things I didn't know, and quite a few things I thought I knew but would be just the sort of half-knowledge that sets off the alarms on QI. I don't mind giving away that I'm going to use this book - if it gets someone to read it through then so much the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments (Paperback)
This is a wonderful and concise book. One of the best science books I've ever read. Written in a very simple way, anyone can understand and enjoy this book. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments
The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments by George Johnson (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews