Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And three !! The Masters of Rome go on roaring and thundering !
After two masterpieces like "First man in Rome" and "Grass Crown" it is really a great achievement of Collen McCullough that the third instalment in the series is another great book.

This story takes us through the last years of Sulla, the rise of Pompey the Great, the war in Iberia (Spain) between Sulla's forces and his last Roman enemy Sertorius (a...
Published on 28 Aug. 2007 by Maciej

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy!,
I have purchased the first four books for my kindle over the last couple of months, went to buy the fifth in the series only to find out that it's no longer available in kindle format, and I would have to buy the whole 5 book series for £15! Shame, as was enjoying the series, but for this fact can only give 1 star. Very poor form from either publisher or amazon.
Published 12 months ago by mr barry maxted


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And three !! The Masters of Rome go on roaring and thundering !, 28 Aug. 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
After two masterpieces like "First man in Rome" and "Grass Crown" it is really a great achievement of Collen McCullough that the third instalment in the series is another great book.

This story takes us through the last years of Sulla, the rise of Pompey the Great, the war in Iberia (Spain) between Sulla's forces and his last Roman enemy Sertorius (a charismatic Roman general turned Iberian warlord), the first steps of young Ceasar's career and also Spartacus slave rebellion. It is extremely erudit, historically very true, well paced, full of intelligent dialogues, naturalistic in its description of the unspeakable cruelty of Roman world but also witty and humouristic by moments (the description of the decadent hellenistic king of Bithynia is particularly irresistible).

The description of Spartacus rebellion is very interesting and I believe it is very useful to read it to have another view of this event - mostly known in the public perception by the (magnificent) movie with Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtiss. Needless to say, here the vision, being historically more accurate, is also less glamourous but not less moving...

Now, author continues to describe Ceasar as a God like being (although in this book he is still mostly a teenager) surrounded by inferiors. It can get on the nerves of the reader (it did on mines) when most of future Ceasar's antagonists like Pompey or Bibulus are described in the worst possible way, preparing the reader to accept their future fate in the following books... This worshipping of Ceasar and bashing of all others, even great generals like Lucullus or Marcus Crassus, is the only thing that in my humble opinion Colleen McCullough got wrong in this great historical cycle.

Still, it doesn't change the fact that this is a most excellent thing, coming after two great books and leading us into more great readings. Warmly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Star is Rising, 8 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been bestsellers. Colleen lives on Norfolk Island in the Pacific with her husband.

Colleen McCullough has been one of my favourite authors, ever since I read the book The First Man in Rome and then eagerly awaited the next in the series and then the next and so on. The book Fortune's Favourites, third in the series covers the period in Roman history when, perhaps the greatest change took place. A triangle of three of possibly the most recognized names in Roman history, Lucius Cornelius Sulla, Pompey and a young man, yet to make a name for himself Julius Caesar.

The glory days of Gaius Marius are gone and his one time right hand man, Sulla and the young, 22-year-old Pompey, who has already designated himself The Great are each vying for sole control of Rome. What they are not taking seriously is the rising star of a young soldier, who at this stage in his career is not afraid of hanging onto the togas of the more influential men in Roman society. He is already beginning to make a name for himself and Sulla and Pompey will ignore him at their peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reconstruction of ancient rome, 21 Feb. 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
This is book 3 in McCullough's massive 6 book series, and suffers a little from being a pivotal book that has to be got through before she can move on with her story.

It covers the rise of Pompey, the childhood and early life of Julius Caesar, and the decline and deaths of Marius and Sulla.

McCullough is superb on treating the minutiae of Roman life and never fights shy of intricate political debates and speeches. This is probably the next best thing to reading the actual historical sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic read, 14 Aug. 2003
By 
Jo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Paperback)
I loved this book. It made me laugh, cry and marvel at the parallels between ancient Roman life and certain aspects of the modern-day world. The characterisation was so strong and compelling, it sometimes felt as if Ms McCullough had actually known the people she writes about with such consummate skill and authority! Once again Sulla is our (anti)hero; the depiction of his descent into disgraceful old age is fascinating. I cannot recommend this highly enough - although a family tree or two would be useful to keep all the Gaiuses and Quintuses and Marcuses and Lutatiuses in line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for Julius Caesar to step forward, 8 Aug. 2007
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Masters of Rome series of six. Make sure that you have first read The First Man in Rome, and The Grass Crown.

Here the great Sulla has his status challenged by the emerging Pompey. And Julius Caesar is quickly making a name for himself on the battle field. Will he win the coveted Grass Crown that Sulla so thoroughly enjoyed?

Enjoy the brilliant Colleen McCullough's epic Roman historical fiction series. You will never read a more in depth, engaging, and hugely grand series on the political intrigue and military escapades, of Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy!,, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have purchased the first four books for my kindle over the last couple of months, went to buy the fifth in the series only to find out that it's no longer available in kindle format, and I would have to buy the whole 5 book series for £15! Shame, as was enjoying the series, but for this fact can only give 1 star. Very poor form from either publisher or amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reconstruction of ancient Rome, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is book 3 in McCullough's massive 6 book series which must be read in order, and suffers a little from being a pivotal book in the sequence that has to be got through before she can move on with her story. It covers the decline and deaths of Marius and Sulla, the rise of Pompey, and the childhood and early life of Julius Caesar.

McCullough is superb on treating the minutiae of Roman life and never fights shy of intricate political debates and speeches. Her evocation of Rome is exemplary, and gives a far more accurate picture of the culture than all those books full of sex, corruption and decadence (the Romans would have been horrified!)

This probably isn't for anyone wanting adventures with gladiators or the legions, as it pays attention to the senate, to the political nuances of the republic, and the in-fighting that takes place between the leading political families.

There are moments where the book falls a little into soap opera territory but overall this is probably the next best thing to reading the actual historical sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd masters of rome, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
I have read the previous books in this trilogy and i think that they are fantastic. This book is a lot more interesting read than the others and i think that this is because they touch on a famous period of history and one which i have always been interested in. There is a great amount of detail in the novel and i think that you should only read this if you have the patience and the genuine interest to know more. There is a star missing because i still find it rather jarring when the author slips into a love fest over caesar, however i think that this is proof of the authors love of the time period and it certainly makes the book more endearing. would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fortunes Favourites, 8 Mar. 2012
By 
Cat (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
I really love the history of Marius and Sulla and was looking for some good fiction. This is great for a student or fan of Roman history though I think you will need a basic understanding of Roman politics to understand it.

Although I loved to read it and would recommend the series, I found myself skipping great chunks of it and still being able to continue without a problem, so I think it could've been slimmed down. I think she has injected a lot of her research into the story, which is all well and good, but isn't essential to the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite series of all time!, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
Colleen McCullough is an amazing writer and was able to breathe new fire into known ancient historical events, filling the gaps in the dry facts with passion, emotions and other expressions of the human condition.

I read every book in the series, and was captured in the world Dr. McCullough had woven. When I was done, I was so sad that the adventure was over.
I would love to read any historical novel written by Dr. McCullough, and I recommend this series to anyone who likes classic civilizations, and historical novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome)
Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome) by Colleen McCullough Doctor of Neurophysiology (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2003)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews