Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st
To put it simply, I couldn't stop reading. A truly remarkable work of historical fiction based soundly in historical fact. As a fan of this type of literature, I heartily recommend this example.
Not a single character appears but is fully rounded and fleshed out; she happily delves back into a particular character's past then effortlessly brings you back to the...
Published on 20 Sep 2004 by Gareth Davies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Master of Rome
Read over 100 pages but the story wasn't going anywhere really disappointed I normally stick with a book but this was a no road to Rome.
Published 6 months ago by J. Coulson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st, 20 Sep 2004
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
To put it simply, I couldn't stop reading. A truly remarkable work of historical fiction based soundly in historical fact. As a fan of this type of literature, I heartily recommend this example.
Not a single character appears but is fully rounded and fleshed out; she happily delves back into a particular character's past then effortlessly brings you back to the current plot. The plots themselves are beautifully complex without being complicated. Her true masterstroke (amongst many) is in making each character human. The enemies of the books 'heroes' are not villains - simply differently minded. Even our protagonists are not above selfish or violent deeds. All is so well presented in the social and moral code of the time, without any modern comment, that you begin to forget you're reading a historical work.
Having finished this book, I was delighted to see that there are several more to follow. Until I get my hands on them I'm very happily reading the glossary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge scope, huge story, beautifully written, loved it!!!, 8 Jun 2006
If you are at all the tiniest bit interested in the history of ancient Rome, you must read the Masters of Rome series. Some of the practices of Roman society at that time were, in modern eyes, barbaric, but McCullough presents them in a matter-of-fact way, she does not judge anyone. Even the monstrous Sulla was, at times, likeable and you can't get away from the fact he was a genius. I liked that she did not just present the bare bones of Roman history, but each character comes alive at her hands. You learn why each character behaves as he/she does, and their decisions that will eventually shape the world. You can almost imagine strolling through the Subura, taking in the hustle and bustle of street vendors, touching elbows with Roman citizens from the poorest to the grandest, soaking in the smells and the hot sun, hearing the babble of many different languages. McCullough, who must have spent countless exhausting months researching this, presents her book as if to say: this was Rome - this was how her citizens behaved - these are the laws they formulated, the battles they fought, their hopes and struggles. You may not approve but that was life in 60BC - these people are not for you to judge, but take the time to learn their story and understand how the modern world was shaped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Rome, 7 Feb 2004
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
This book is the first in the six part series called "The Masters of Rome" and this book starts deals with two of these men. Primarily focusing on Gaius Marius who is a wealthy but ancestrally poor man, which causes him to be slighted by the powerful men of Rome, despite his being the most able military commander of his time. The secondary character of this book is the charismatic Lucius Cornelius Sulla. Sulla is the degenerate but patrician son of an extremely poor family and despite his good name looks to be unable to even enter the senate. The lives of these two men, who are so closely related to the Julius Caesar, are related in this wonderfully descriptive and historically accurate book.
Be warned; you will be hooked on these books, but on the bright side your knowledge of Ancient Rome will increase one hundred fold and learning has never been so fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 11 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
Crammed with historical detail, poltical plots and enormous battle scenes. McCullough's greatest trick is to fill this book (and the rest of the series) with fascinating personalities whose motivations aren't those of twentieth century people, but are still totally believable. This is historical novel writing at its best - as good as Renault, Graves, and Patrick O'Brian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My desert island book., 10 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The First Man in Rome (Paperback)
This is a fantastic blockbuster. Set in the Roman Republic in the last century BC, it begins with the political rise of Gaius Marius and ends with Julius Caesar. The characters - a mixture of real historical figures, fictional creations, and many who are neither quite one nor the other - are beautifully drawn and observed, and none fails to engage. I became particularly attached to a relatively minor player, Metellus Pius "The Piglet". McCullough's historical accuracy is astounding and she gives her readers the full benefit of her extensive research without ever becoming pedagogical.
The works of other modern authors of fiction set in ancient Rome look trivial and sketchy beside this series - even Steven Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa series, which I also rate very highly, is simply not in the same class. You have to go back to Robert Graves's "I, Claudius" and "Claudius the God" to find something even remotely comparable.
I am amazed at how little critical and public attention this series has received in the UK, and would commend it to everyone who is interested in Roman history or who just loves a good yarn well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of a Wonderful Series of Novels on Ancient Rome, 24 Sep 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: First Man in Rome (Hardcover)
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been bestsellers. Colleen lives on Norfolk Island in the Pacific with her husband.

Colleen McCullough has been one of my favourite authors ever since I read this book many years ago. Her research on the subject and her feel for the period of history she is writing about is second to none. The only slight criticism that I have with the books on Rome and it is probably outside the author's control is that the books are so detailed that the number of characters that become part of the story is so large that it is sometimes difficult to keep track of them all, but this is a small price to pay for the enjoyment the books give the reader.

The First Man in Rome begins the series and the reader is introduced to Gaius Marius, one of Rome's greatest and most successful generals. Wealthy but from a low born family. A man who has pulled himself up by his boot straps and on the other side of the coin, Cornelius Sulla, a man from well bred stock. Both men have a driving ambition, both want to be the `The First Man in Rome'. There ambition drives them forward and will lay the foundations for the greatest empire known to mankind.

This is a book of human frailties and also burning ambition. It has a cast of some of the most famous names to grace Roman history. The start of one of the greatest fictional sagas written in modern times and a most for all lovers of ancient history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and informative, 11 Dec 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Man in Rome (Paperback)
Roman and historical fiction are one of my favourate reads. Collen McCullough's 'First Man of Rome' is one of the best I have read in a long time. As good as Allan Massie's 'Augustus' and as enjoyable as the Steven Saylor series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First in a towering series, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
Colleen McCullough is a first-rate storyteller, and her historical novels are particularly good. "The First Man in Rome" is the first in a series of large, readable, well-researched and satisfying novels chronicling the downfall of the Roman Republic. This is fascinating period in history and one well covered by writers weaving stories round the larger-than-life protagonists and the events they drive and are driven by. Recent examples include the detective stories of Stephen Saylor and John Maddox Roberts, and Robert Harris's "Imperium": one of the joys for the reader interested in this time is to compare and contrast the way the historical figures and events are treated by the different authors. McCullough's books are larger and more detailed than those of the other writers noted here, of course, their size and scope reminiscent of the novels of the late and much-missed James Clavell. Like Clavell's they have one big risk attached to them - that if you start reading you will quickly be hooked and find that you have no choice but to devote a large chunk of your life to reading as many of them as you can lay your hands on! In the McCullough "Masters of Rome" series, of course, it is important to do this in the right sequence - you will also be impressed that an author can maintain such a high standard of writing and reader-involvement over quite so many thousands of pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched., 13 Feb 2007
By 
A. Meaden "Parano!d" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
Colleen McCullough has obviously spent a lot of time ensuring that, to the last detail, this book is as close to the reality of events as can possibly be. She explains in great detail, the intricacies of the most august Roman families and the part they played in the ancient republic.

It centres around Gaius Marius a so called 'Italian hay-seed, with no Greek in him', and his determination to become consul (The First Man) in Rome, and also Lucius Cornelius Sulla; A young man from one of the oldest, most respected patrician families who - due to his father drinking away the family fortune - finds himself so poor that he can't even afford one slave (imagine it!) but is desperate to reclaim the status his family once held.

A word of warning though; if you haven't read anything on this period of Rome's history before, I recommend that you do. Having read Conn Iggulden's Emperor series previous to these, I felt that I at least had a basic knowledge of ancient Rome (seeing as Iggulden made no attempt at historical accuracy, prefering good, old-fashioned adventure) but at times, the barage of names, places and going-ons in and around the Forum Romana - from McCullough's Rome - had my head slightly rotating, if not spinning!

This book misses out on the whole five stars as I beleive that McCullough - in this first book of the series, at least - is still finding her feet when it comes to story telling. Having said that, there is nothing particularly wrong with the writing, she just occasionally goes off on a tangent; trying to explain too much and veering from the original point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb read in a class of its own, 13 Feb 2002
By 
C. Aitken (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Man in Rome (Paperback)
This book had me so gripped that I had to read all the sequels too. It is superb. It takes you deep into the real ancient Rome, into the minds of brilliant and charismatic men, making Sulla come to life in an extraordinary manner. It takes rare talent to make one like and admire a man who murders as Sulla did but McCullough achieves this effortlessly. Unusually the wealth of detail, the extensive use of (long) names, and the wide range of events may keep the reader on their toes but they are not overwhelming, and one is never left reeling and saying "Enough!". I just want more. This is seriously addictive stuff. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome)
First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome) by Colleen McCullough Doctor of Neurophysiology (Paperback - 7 Aug 2003)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews