Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read - Didn't want it to end!
This was the first ever book I've read by this author, but it won't be the last. The arrival of Nina in a small village interupts the sleepy lives of the couples, bringing to the forefront their feelings for each other. After the end of a year none of them will ever look at their lives or marriages in the same way. This book is not for the faint hearted as there are...
Published on 25 July 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, very
I ordered this book but when it arrived it had the same title but was by an author called Shane Watson. Not at all what was ordered although the paperwork with it said by Rosie Thomas!!!!!!!!!!! Bad, very bad
Published 4 months ago by Pam Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read - Didn't want it to end!, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This was the first ever book I've read by this author, but it won't be the last. The arrival of Nina in a small village interupts the sleepy lives of the couples, bringing to the forefront their feelings for each other. After the end of a year none of them will ever look at their lives or marriages in the same way. This book is not for the faint hearted as there are some very 'hot' sex scenes, but they are very well written. Once I got into this book I didn't want to put it down, but then I didn't want it to end either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Favourite, 22 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
I find Rosie Thomas books to either be very good, or very bad - this is one of the very good ones. I have read it numerous times, it is just one of those books you know you can pick up and still enjoy - the plot is interesting, yet undemanding and the characterisation is very good. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 11 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
Rosie Thomas never fails to make me want her books to never end. They are gripping and colourful. I get engrossed and don't want to put her books down.This one was what life is about and how people react accordingly. BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, very, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
I ordered this book but when it arrived it had the same title but was by an author called Shane Watson. Not at all what was ordered although the paperwork with it said by Rosie Thomas!!!!!!!!!!! Bad, very bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not good either, 29 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
Rosie is good writer and she knows how to draw you into a story. This book is a character driven novel, dealing with various couples and their bad marriages. The plot does not build up to a climax, the story kind of ambles along with some small climaxes.

The problem I have with this book is that almost all the characters are deeply unsympathetic and unlikeable. I get the impression that Rosie Thomas does not believe in marriage. All marriages portrayed here are depressing. There is no love between any of the couples. Everyone acts selfishly.

The main character, Nina, is a selfabsorbed aloof widdow, weaseling herself into a circle of friends, then sleeps with two of the men without even thinking of their wives. When she wants a baby, she just decides to get pregnant and tells everyone it is just HER baby, the father is irrelevant. This to me seems very selfish and unfair to the father, and the baby. but then again, Nina only ever worries about herself. You feel no empathy for her. I actually quite disliked her.

The men are all called Michael, Andrew, James (Jim) etc. and are all the same person it seems, in their middle class middle age stereotypical behaviour (bed every woman they can, then go back running to their families). Some of the wives seem nice, I kind of liked Hannah and Vicky, but they are unfathful too. Not because they are in love, they just seem bored.

There is no love in this book, and also no humour at all. That makes it all a rather depressing story with the bottom line that all marriages are frauds, everyone will sleep around if they can. This could be all quite witty or dark, but it is neither. Just like the marriages decribed here, it is actually all rather dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colleen H. Bownas, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
I thought it was boring - just a lot of foolish people jumping in and out of bed with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuk, 28 Dec. 2008
By 
A. B. Taylor "Allie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
Oh dear, well I was hoping I'd discovered another good author but on the strength of this book I was disappointed.

Must agree with a previous Reviewer that the characters are deeply unlikeable and I honestly found the plot rather like a bad ITV mini-series with soft-porn thrown in.
Jilly Cooper would have written this better as she would have added humour and a vulnerability to certain characters which meant I could have cared about them.

Skim read to the end and am happy to move on to something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unlovable Characters, 24 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Other People's Marriages (Paperback)
I had read two of Rosie Thomas's previous books, Every Woman Knows a Secret and The Potter's House, and enjoyed both. I was therefore looking forward to Other People's Marriages but was disappointed. Whilst undoubtedly well written it's basically a tale of three middle class couples and their infidelities. I couldn't warm to any of the characters either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Other People's Marriages
Other People's Marriages by Rosie Thomas (Paperback - 3 July 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews