Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard-to-put-down romantic novel
As with Rosie Thomas's other stories, I found this one pleasing and flowing to read, very sensitively written, yet believable and realistic. I enjoyed this book very much.
Published on 20 Jun. 1999

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Life
Although this was a well written story, it is not the cheeriest in the world.

It is very sad in places and made me feel very uncomfortable in relation to the 'heroine' who regrets a decision in her past. This however is no reflection on Rosie Thomas' writing - she deals sensitively with the subject - possibly how well she has written as you can put yourself in...
Published on 31 July 2008 by Mrs. C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard-to-put-down romantic novel, 20 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Simple Life (Paperback)
As with Rosie Thomas's other stories, I found this one pleasing and flowing to read, very sensitively written, yet believable and realistic. I enjoyed this book very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Life, 31 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Simple Life (Paperback)
Although this was a well written story, it is not the cheeriest in the world.

It is very sad in places and made me feel very uncomfortable in relation to the 'heroine' who regrets a decision in her past. This however is no reflection on Rosie Thomas' writing - she deals sensitively with the subject - possibly how well she has written as you can put yourself in the lead characters shoes.

I have only read one other Rosie Thomas book - Bad Girls, Good Women and thoroughly enjoyed this, even though again, you feel uncomfortable in the lead characters shoes, and it was incredibly sad in parts. This said though it did not feel as bleak as this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming tale of a woman's quest to heal her heart, 16 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Simple Life (Paperback)
Once again Rosie Thomas keeps you gripped from page one. This is a heart-rendering story of a woman who cannot come to terms with a decision she made in her past and returns to England from her American home to try to make peace with her past. Although almost tragic in parts, the story shows that sometimes you must follow you heart regardless of the consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very readable if improbable, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Simple Life (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this book on holiday and didn't get time to finish it so I bought it on my Kindle as I really wanted to know what happened. However I have to say that the denouement/plot became ridiculously improbable and pretty contrived with each chapter. (One coincidence making me actually exclaim out loud- 'how ridiculous!') The climax of the story descended into mawkishness. As a parent of a disabled child I found that pretty difficult to take but still found it very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one...., 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Simple Life (Kindle Edition)
Sorry only 3 stars for this .....I loved the Kashmir Shawl and got this one to follow it - but didn't think it was the same quality. I also found it a bit depressing actually..not a very relaxing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Aug. 2002
This review is from: A Simple Life (Paperback)
As a fan of Rosie Thomas I always expect a good read, something I hate to finish but simply can't put down. This book is by far her best work, I cried in parts and laughed in others. A story told with a depth of emotion that is missing from so many of todays authors. I recommend this book to all those people who read who ask, can I borrow a book to read, so far I haven't had any complaints, please buy it, read it and pass it around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the simple life, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Life (Paperback)
Nice book, but it became boring. Have read books by Rosie Thomas before but this was not upto her usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thoughtful novel, 5 Nov. 2012
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Simple Life (Paperback)
Dinah, with her husband and children, is living in America because of Matthew's research at the university. Outwardly they appear a very happy family but they have left a very big secret at home in England and the choices which they made are destroying the marriage and Dinah's peace of mind. When Matthew does something that betrays Dinah's trust and she comes into contact with a teenager who has her own issues Dinah is precipitated into action and she returns to England to try to come to terms with her life.

I became totally engrossed in this novel. I thought that the author demonstrated very well how a marriage could disintegrate in silence and the pressure which partners often make upon one other. Dinah feels that she has had to make a great sacrifice to keep Matthew, and Matthew feels that he has done the best for the family. Their two points of view can never be reconciled and their relationship has necessarily to be built on an unsteady foundation.

There are lots of engaging characters in this book starting with Matthew and Dinah but including Milly the disengaged teenager and Francis to whom Dinah offers hope and then withdraws it. The author clearly shows the impact both in the past and the present of what Dinah and Matthew had done but makes no judgements about whether they were right or wrong.

This is a book which leaves you with lots to think about and its strength is in the description of events which are very real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Simple Life (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read and i think this could happen, but towards the end the story got a bit silly .Thank goodness it did get sorted out before the end and everyone lived happy ever after, so the speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review - A Simple Life, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Simple Life (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a very interesting subject which was explored beautifully but I did feel some of the plot was a bit extreme.Janet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simple Life
Simple Life by Rosie Thomas (Paperback - 3 July 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews