Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy-proof coctail of profound, sad and hilarious
Ageing "professional Welshman" Alun (nee Alan) Weaver decides to up-sticks from his fashionable North London home and go back to his roots. Taking with him his ex-hottie wife (Rhiannon) and many half-completed written projects and other half-formed ideas.

Despite the passing of time (in which he has gained a CBE and a minor talking-heads TV career - seemingly...
Published on 6 May 2011 by Peter H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Devils
this should have been half as long as there wasnt enough going on ,but twas a good portrayal of certain types in the South Wales valleys of this era amusing in parts
Published 4 months ago by f


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy-proof coctail of profound, sad and hilarious, 6 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Ageing "professional Welshman" Alun (nee Alan) Weaver decides to up-sticks from his fashionable North London home and go back to his roots. Taking with him his ex-hottie wife (Rhiannon) and many half-completed written projects and other half-formed ideas.

Despite the passing of time (in which he has gained a CBE and a minor talking-heads TV career - seemingly based on knowing a, here renamed, Dylan Thomas) he is soon back as leader-of-the-gang: The "Old Devils" (Malcolm, Charlie and Peter) who pub-crawl and party to their, undoubted, premature graves.

Starting by reviewing the reviewers (rather than the book) I am tempted to say (snobbishly?) is that you either get this or you don't. Like reading War and Peace not knowing it is going to be very long, heavy and set in Russia, or Robinson Crusoe not knowing it is about solitude, you might easily get off on the wrong foot. If not be thrown entirely.

However, please, don't be put off by bare headlines, topic or even the (much noted) loose meandering plot. Indeed marvel at its Houdini-like ability to break free of its, apparent, chains, handcuffs and heavy padlocks and come to the surface as a winner.

(Here we are in the land of aching limbs, borderline alcoholism, difficult bowl movements, false teeth and how difficult toes are to clip when clinically obese. And, I say with a chuckle, much, much, more and worse!)

If I was to give one negative, it does little for women. Maybe men get the wives they deserve and maybe women do bitch behind each others back in real life, but they come across as an extra jaded lot.

However it doesn't follow the comedy rule of women being the stay-at-homes armed with curlers, a hairnet and a rolling pin. Far from it, they have an eye for a party as much as the men. Even, as you would find by reading it, have very different agendas and priorities to the men folk.

Equally the massive lead character of Weaver does diminish and overshadow the others who, at least, don't like causing trouble for its own sake and are less inclined to be let their mouths run away with them.

One of these books that if you manage to read it once you will end up reading it twice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triple Whisky Please, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I first read this book when it came out and I didn't like it all that much. I liked his brighter kind of shinier books like 'Lucky Jim' and 'Stanley and the Women' better. However nearing the age of Amis's characters in this book I am having a right Amis binge (I am talking senior) now and I found this much more compelling.

As usual with Amis the male characters are really what the book is about, the women are a bit thin. These men are mostly fat, colossally unfit drunkards with heroic endurability and considerable tolerance for their lives, and a willingness to stick together. They are also at times very intelligent and funny. They shoulder life's difficulties with massive doses of super-bitchy humour.

The Welsh thing is interesting. Amis is of all men the most English, of all writers I should say. He has even written novels about how much he hates abroad. Wales is very definitely not England, but it is not abroad either. But in England you have to have a ticket to do Wales.

Amis seems to me to have put more into this than most of his books and the humour is as distilled as the whisky all the men seem to take their morning bath in. I would say it does for old age what 'Take a Girl Like You' does for courting. Now there's an old word for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wickedness in Wales, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
One of his best. A Professional Welshman returns, with his beautiful wife, to the Welsh town of his youth, and together and separately the couple meet up with all their old friends. The "hero" is happy to get off with all his friends' wives and drag his old mates on a weeklong pub crawl. A lot of alcohol is absorbed as the old friends are revealed as living lives of quiet desperation, leavened by 30s jazz. The BBC dramatised this back in the 80s - the brilliant series has never been repeated, and it's not on DVD. Why, oh, why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poor old Kingsley, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Poor old Kingsley...he's come in for a bit of a bashing in some reviews here, mostly due to his portrayal of female characters, which are said to be both misogynistic and thinly detailed, and this is a fair criticism. Added to that, this book deals with Welsh identity and aging, viewed through the haze of alcohol...it's not a concoction for success. Yet this is one of those books that reads itself and the effort to reach the end was light. This book is warm and eloquently fermented in Amis' mind - it feels natural, organic, rather than an example of an author showing you just how clever he is (I get this feeling with, for example, Jon McGregor). You will probably either like it or dislike it, but based on your preconceptions of what is right or wrong, before you read the first lines, rather than the quality of the writing itself, which is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Devils, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
this should have been half as long as there wasnt enough going on ,but twas a good portrayal of certain types in the South Wales valleys of this era amusing in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welsh, but with a large glass of Scotch..., 13 Mar 2014
By 
John Goddard (Saffron Walden, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book recently as part of a personal challenge to read all the winners of the Booker Prize. I didn't instantly warm to this portrayal of damaged and damaging drunks. But they got under my skin. I remained less than convinced with the portrayal of the women, but the petty nastiness and calculating unpleasantness of the male characters was mesmeric.

Witty, but not cheerful, this was an entertaining read. I liked it and will probably read other works by Kingsley Amis (probably Lucky Jim next...), but would be unlikely to hurry back to The Old Devils - hence 4 stars rather than 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a deserving award winner, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps I should have known better than buying an award winner. They mostly disappoint and this was no exception. I'm not sure if it helps or hinders being Welsh when reading this. Hinders I suppose; it's characters are rather stereotyped and introverted. Goes into the general category of award winners where I'm convinced the judges are simply too pretentious to call the writer's bluff and declare it mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 10 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Re-read 20 years later this is still great reading. Not for those with a tendency towards depression as Amis's knife lances deeply into the boil of everyday life for older couples. The theme is fatalistic and loaded with equal measures of sarcasm and irony. The setting is a dull and conservative suburban corner of South Wales where "Welshness" is a topic for endless discussion. An intelligent and well educated gang of old Welsh boozers have their everyday life disrupted by the return of a minor literary celebrity and "would-be" Don Juan. The intrigues and old wounds that have been just below the surface for years are suddenly forked to the surface. While some have taken this book as a litany of misogyny it is not that at all. While the women may not be as loyal or supportive to their husbands as might be hoped, it is the lack of will and energy of their husbands which provokes this. When the would-be hero arrives, he shows up the other men's lack of drive by his "up and at 'em" approach. Can be read in many ways, none of them terribly optimistic although there is a hidden romantic theme if you look deep enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of gentle humour and wry observation, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Philip Mayo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Reread, for the first time in years in Jan 2013. Wonderful writing, full of gentle humour and wry observation. He always seems to find the right word and perfect phrase. I think that this was one of his very best, possibly even as memorable as Lucky Jim. There is a lot of the latter day Kingsley in here - spookily prescient too, as it's not that far from how things turned out. Poor old Kingsley. It feels like we have lost a really fun-to-be-with friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over The Moon, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Old Devils (Hardcover)
the rating on this book was excellent also it is in very good condition,if you are a Kingsley Amis fan worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Old Devils (Vintage Classics)
The Old Devils (Vintage Classics) by Kingsley Amis (Paperback - 5 Feb 2004)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews