Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Enjoyable
How refreshing! A genuinely multi-talented author! Comic commitments or not, I certainly hope to read more from Watson.
Bullet Points is very well written, surprising in the solemnity of the tone, and the humour is sparse. Don't believe the outside blurb; in no way could you call this a comedy novel, even one darkly humoured. This does not detract from the story,...
Published on 9 Sep 2005 by Sweary

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
love him as a comedian and was bought this as a present, and i can't state how disappointed i was. i was waiting to get to the body of the story and i never reached it. i persevered with it as i wanted to give it a chance but i am afraid it will now sit gathering dust. if you are a fan of his and want more of the same then don't buy this book
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by andy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Enjoyable, 9 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
How refreshing! A genuinely multi-talented author! Comic commitments or not, I certainly hope to read more from Watson.
Bullet Points is very well written, surprising in the solemnity of the tone, and the humour is sparse. Don't believe the outside blurb; in no way could you call this a comedy novel, even one darkly humoured. This does not detract from the story, however. Our narrator remains a sincere, engaging character; his honesty (although we learn later he may not be as honest with himself as he thought) is a very likeable trait, and even when he behaves badly we cannot lose sympathy for him.
For a debut, this is alarmingly confident, restrained, well plotted. It reminds me of Tobias Wolff's work... no small praise indeed! If there is only one gripe I have, it's that the epilogue, although gripping (like a horrible car accident), is something I didn't see coming. At all. The final revelations should, perhaps, have been backed up by small clues in the re-reading of the novel, but there aren't any. Not to worry. It's still a powerful ending, and this novel is powerful stuff. Sombre, often horrifying, with a heavy tone, I highly recommend Bullet Points, but not as light reading as one might expect from an energetic young comic such as Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total surprise, 10 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bullet Points (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I had seen Mark Watson do stand-up comedy and was expecting more of the same sort of thing. Although the novel is very funny in parts, it's not at all the sort of thing you would expect a comedian to write. It's a dark, pretty tragic tale, and Watson does a very good job of capturing the thoughts of a middle-aged, disillusioned man. A really good tragicomedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight, taught and clever, 3 Dec 2006
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
Watson has a refreshingly steady voice for a comedian. The prose doesn't pump and fizz as youmight expect from a stand-up comedian, rather it has a steady tension as the face of the unreliable narrator is revealed. For a first novel, it is also bold, both with characters far removed from those usually handled by young authors, and psychologically (the subject matter). Read this...you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, thought provoking and extremely enjoyable., 24 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. B. Harper "Bry" (Flackwell Heath, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
I purchased this book off the back of all the good reviews it has got, and as rarely happens in this case, it did not disappoint!
The reader can instantly relate to Peter (the narrator) and the relationship built between him and the reader as the novel progresses is a fascinating one. Essentially, he talks the reader through his childhood (briefly) and his subsequent life, pinpointing certain cases in his career. The ending is a shocker, but it is not wholly unexpected as any other ending would have been totally wrong for the characterisation of Peter. By ending the novel with a note from Richard, Watson leaves the reader questioning who was correct - the narrator who we have trusted throughout the book, or his friend who outshone him at every opportunity.
If I had read this without knowing the author, I would never have guessed it was a (then) 23 year old comedian! It is a hundred times more accomplished than most could ever hope for, let alone in a first book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Promising Writer, 8 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bullet Points (Hardcover)
For once I think the hype given to a 'next big thing' author might be justified. This is a really unusual, clever book with a brilliantly constructed plot and a load of highly original ideas - the chapter about the songwriter is superb in particular. It's not perfect, but the 23-year-old writer is obviously a real name for the future. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mad, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
A good book, but then the author is a very funny man, totally believable and well written, a very different book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one!, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
Another great mark Watson book. All of his books seem completely different to me and this one has a unique format. Like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining writer., 24 Nov 2011
By 
A. Roberts (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
Mark Watson is a great writer. This, as all his other books, make you want to carry on reading. His writing leads you to feel great empathy for the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i laughed, i cried, i recommended it to you..., 26 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
because i enjoyed it so much. also, if you missed the
meaning of life and hate everything in the world then go see on of his new stand up gigs!i have to admit i only saw the two so far ad i shall be buying the new book so, what have you go to loose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bullet Points (Paperback)
love him as a comedian and was bought this as a present, and i can't state how disappointed i was. i was waiting to get to the body of the story and i never reached it. i persevered with it as i wanted to give it a chance but i am afraid it will now sit gathering dust. if you are a fan of his and want more of the same then don't buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet Points
Bullet Points by Mark Watson (Paperback - 3 Feb 2005)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews