Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent on both Caesar and Rome
There's a 5 year gap between the end of the last novel in this 6 book series (Caesar's Women) and this one: Caesar is in Gaul, and finds his ties in Rome being cut. Instead he throws himself into the Gallic campaigns which are described in minute and enthralling detail (based on Caesar's own commentaries).

I don't know how McCullough does it, but she manages to...
Published on 21 Feb 2007 by Roman Clodia

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, spoiled by the spell checker!
A gripping read. McCullough never seems to put a foot wrong in her 'Masters of Rome' books. The obvious result of much research melded with fiction that wouldn't let you put the book down........ except for the numerous 'wrong words' in the text (paperback) that appear to have been 'corrected' by an errant spell checker. So distracting and annoying that the book hit...
Published on 14 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent on both Caesar and Rome, 21 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
There's a 5 year gap between the end of the last novel in this 6 book series (Caesar's Women) and this one: Caesar is in Gaul, and finds his ties in Rome being cut. Instead he throws himself into the Gallic campaigns which are described in minute and enthralling detail (based on Caesar's own commentaries).

I don't know how McCullough does it, but she manages to render military campaigns, legion's rebellions etc absolutely fascinating! This isn't by any means an objective look at either Caesar or Roman imperialism, and she is unashamedly on Caesar's side, but somehow it works fabulously.

Back in Rome the Senate led by the vacillating Cicero and neurotic Cato and undermining Caesar, and the book leads inevitably and inexorably to Caear's crossing of the Rubicon.

I can't praise this book enought - not as history (which it doesn't purport to be, though it does stick to the sources - albeit in an interpretative way) but as sheer story-telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, 14 Aug 2003
By 
Jo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caesar (Paperback)
I agree utterly, a_mccormack, about the spell-checking issue ... a shame, as it occasionally distracted me from what is once again a first-rate book. Caesar's brilliant Gallic campaigns are described with exactly the right amount of detail; enough to immerse, but not enough to overwhelm. The ongoing development of GJC is fascinating, as is the depiction of the boni (am I the only person who wishes she could travel back in time and strangle Cato and Bibulus? And even dear Magnus too?) and their machinations. The reader is once again placed firmly on Caesar's side, and that is no bad thing. Roll on the paperback version of The October Horse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, spoiled by the spell checker!, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Caesar (Paperback)
A gripping read. McCullough never seems to put a foot wrong in her 'Masters of Rome' books. The obvious result of much research melded with fiction that wouldn't let you put the book down........ except for the numerous 'wrong words' in the text (paperback) that appear to have been 'corrected' by an errant spell checker. So distracting and annoying that the book hit the wall twice and lost 2 stars! I can't wait for 'The October Horse' but I hope the publishers employ a proof reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating and rivetting, 14 Sep 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book covers Caesar in his prime, first in the conquest of Gaul and then in the Civil War with Pompey. To my amazement, I have not tired one bit of this series and simply couldn't stop reading this one.
In this volume, the author concentrates on Caesar's action and military techniques and they are indeed fascinating. For example, in the siege of Alesia, Caesar faced threats from within the citadel and from far vaster forces without, at his flank. SO he built a kind of defensive/offensive plankway - a ring around the citadel that could be attacked and defended from both sides and starved the occupants out while holding off hostile reinforcements. This was totally new in military history, as McCUllough explians in vivid detail and action. Though I have never been one to enjoy military history, I found myself cheering for Caesar and in awe of his creativity.

Much less is devoted in this volume to who Caesar was and why he did what he did, which were explored in the earlier volumes. Nonetheless, the personalities of his assistants - the cruel Labienus, the indolent yet growing Anthony (and his huge crotch) and at least a score of others - come through in great detail and with remarkable historical accuracy. The reader is treated to how Caesar managed them all. THe counterpoint of this volume is Pompey the Great, whose flaws and pretentions are magnified with age. While I was less convinced by this portrait, it is still very interesting. FInally, the portrait of the Gauls (and their brash leader Vercingetorix) is very well drawn and informative, as is the portrayal of the young Cleopatra struggling to maintain herself on the throne.

As I have said before, the measure of success for me is that I want to go back to the classical sources to learn more. Warmly recommended, both for the action and for the learning about vanished worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superbly informative, huge in scope, 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Caesar (Paperback)
I found this, and the whole series, another superb piece. Her work tends to be sometimes too informative for fiction, and Caesar is so perfect as to be unreal, but then he was probably the most extraordinary man who ever lived. The whole series is brilliant from start to finish and cannot be faulted for content. Perhaps fiction is sacrificed to fact, but I prefer that to cavalier use of anachronism and twisting of facts. Brilliant. Can't wait for the final volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story continues, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I finished reading book 4 I couldn't wait to start reading book 5 and to see how the story pan's out. and then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Roman novel, 11 April 2014
By 
Stephen M. Lock "Hendonman" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great novel continuing her Roman story. I look forward to further novels with her characters continuing to be involved with Roman expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT !!!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Brian S. Bramwell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the books in the "Masters of Rome" series...many of which I obtained when in USA due to lack of availability here in UK I was really pleased to see them on the Kindle at last and bought the lot which I am happily reading in sequence....Caesar like all the books can be read as a stand alone book but its is far better to read in sequence...What Mz McCullough has done is Novelized History and brought the people who lived then and the events back to life...Novelizing History is only ok IF as Mz McCullough has done ensured that the timelines and the events as well as customs & Laws of the time are adhered to...in fact I could recommend any serious student of the history of Rome to read these novels as they give a very accurate description of events that led Rome from being a republic and how individuals came to the forefront such as Julius Caesar, Pompey etc to end up with an Emperor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but disappointed!, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Caesar (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
My only problem with this addition to the series is that it takes place five years after the ending of the last book during Caesar's second five year stint in Gaul. The previous five years were quickly summed up at the beginning which left me a little disappointed as I felt this period could have easily been encompassed in a serarate novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ceaser, 21 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Caesar (Masters of Rome) (Paperback)
I am on the final book October horse.I am not a political person and i really wouldn`t view the books as being dedicated to politics.Discovering how the women were powerful in their own right ,Ceasers mother for example influencing behind the scenes,.It has been a fascinating journey and i would recommend all the books in the series for a damn good read.There are some amazing ,powerful people.I`m quite sad that i`m on the last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caesar (Masters of Rome)
Caesar (Masters of Rome) by Colleen McCullough Doctor of Neurophysiology (Paperback - 7 Aug 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews