Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, can't tell its fiction!
This is the first Chris Ryan book I have read and it will not be the last. The book was bought for me by my daughter for Christmas and I have praised her for her choice. At one point in the book I found it hard to tell whether I was reading fiction or a factual account of the authors own experiences. Very enjoyable read. Highly believable but an evil way to end a book!
Published on 14 Jan. 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This is the first of Ryan's novels I've read, and the first of his Geordie Sharp novels. It concerns the Provisional IRA, and how Sharp (a member of the SAS) becomes embroiled in a personal crusade to hunt down one of its leaders. I don't want to spoil it any further than that, because the twist and turns are probably the most notable part of the book.

It's a...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Steve D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, can't tell its fiction!, 14 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stand by, Stand by (Paperback)
This is the first Chris Ryan book I have read and it will not be the last. The book was bought for me by my daughter for Christmas and I have praised her for her choice. At one point in the book I found it hard to tell whether I was reading fiction or a factual account of the authors own experiences. Very enjoyable read. Highly believable but an evil way to end a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive!!, 8 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stand by, Stand by (Paperback)
As this was the first book by Chris Ryan that I have read I was a bit unsure about whether I had spent my money correctly (I was debating between this book between one by a more familiar author). But I can easily say that my fears soon dissapeared when I became totally engrossed in the book. The description of the surroundings and problems that the character faced painted a clear picture of the environment as well as the tactics that are employed by the SAS.
The first thing that comes to mind when thinking about the book is that the action does not stop. This results in the book always keeping the reader hooked. The author also painted a good picture about the feelings and friendship within the SAS, no doubt drawing from his own experiences within the regiment. Also I must admit that it was a very interesting way to finish the book, I was impressed.
To sum up, the book is a compulsive read and a must for fans of fiction. Chris Ryan creats a vivid description of the surroundings and the characters as well as giving the reader a sense of the confusion that is present when there is a covert attack. He writes in a way that the reader is instantly thrust into the surroundings that the lead character is in. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!, 15 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stand by, Stand by (Paperback)
This is Ryan's first fiction book and possibly his best. It gives a stunning insight into the world of covert operations and has a truly amazing storyline. It is gripping and emotional and throughout the book there is plenty of action, which comes thick and fast. You get a real feel of covert operations reading this book and you don't want to put it down. I really enjoyed it and have read many of his other books after reading this one. A great read. GOOD GOIN'RYAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Steve D (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By Stand By (Kindle Edition)
This is the first of Ryan's novels I've read, and the first of his Geordie Sharp novels. It concerns the Provisional IRA, and how Sharp (a member of the SAS) becomes embroiled in a personal crusade to hunt down one of its leaders. I don't want to spoil it any further than that, because the twist and turns are probably the most notable part of the book.

It's a decent read, although there are many rough edges. This was Ryan's debut work of fiction, but I haven't read any others so don't know if his style improves. Again, I don't want to spoil any major plot points, but there was one particular life-changing moment for our Geordie to which his only response was "Oh no!" - which made me laugh. Of course, saying 'oh no' on its own isn't a problem but, given the context and the presence of the exclamation mark, it just didn't seem very convincing. Considering the depth of knowledge he brings to the subject, and his obvious efforts to lend authenticity to the situations, I would hope that Ryan has worked on his characterisation/dialogue in subsequent novels.

Also, the latter stages of the book rely on your suspension of disbelief at one huge coincidence that happens half way round the world in Colombia. It was a little too convenient, imo, even if the seeds had been laid earlier on.

Having said all that, I did enjoy it. There is a great build up of menace that escalates as matters progress, although I felt he could have done much more with it than he actually does. However, the ending has to be read to be believed - it's jaw on the floor stuff.

The Kindle formatting is good, no complaints at all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, good realistic action, 29 Feb. 2008
By 
Manoli G "maduk" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stand By, Stand By (Paperback)
I've just started going through his series and after having read "The one that got away", i did not think that this book would be able to beat the storyline. Wrong! Excellent storyline, a bit slow at the beginning, but then on i found it difficult to put it down as the action flowed and just got better and better. It made me think as to if this is a true story due to the realism in the writing. But, when i thought i had read it all; the ending threw me completely. What a great twist! Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Butt clenching, teeth grinding novel, 15 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stand by, Stand by (Hardcover)
This books got the lot, action, blood, romance and much more, its a roller-coaster ride of one mans obsession to get revenge on his wifes murderer, once you pick this up and get to the chapter when he gets to Ireland, you'll be stuck on the edge of your seat for hours. Superbly written, bring on the next.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no standing, just buy!, 6 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Stand By, Stand By (Paperback)
having read all of the chris ryan books i have favorites and ones i dont like and this book was the first i read and i thought it was spectacular! it has so many different twists and turns and also it was revealed in an inerview that this is loosely based on a story that reall happened but with details changed . it also is the first book of a 4 book series *it is followed by zero option which picks up about a minute in the story after stand by stand by finishes) following goerdie sharp an SAS sargeant which means its one of the few chris ryan books being first person making it easier to read and lets you really access the character . chris ryan gives you the right amont of detail for you to really get excited about turning the page and the fact its SAS makes the appeal even bigger as andy mcnab books blew people away and chris is even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chris does "the Troubles", 3 April 2013
By 
Lee Hanley (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stand By, Stand By (Paperback)
This the first of four stories to feature "Geordie Sharp". This novel is set part in Northern Ireland and part in Columbia and covers a number of classic set-piece SAS actions. They are almost certainly very realist and therefore to be savored and appreciated. The follow-on novel Zero Option is closely connected to this one and should be read in sequence. It is a bit disjointed in parts, with a few loose ends and some elements which don't go where you think they will but there is no shortage of atmosphere without the hour by hour, day by day style of Andy McNab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read but drags on a bit, 19 Aug. 2007
By 
Mrs. K. Stacey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand By, Stand By (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book because of how realistic everything is. Ryan describes in great detail an adventure that could actually happen. The only problem i have is that in the first half of the book, there's half a dozen sidekick characters that, just as you start to get to know them, Ryan abandons and brings in a fresh batch to replace. With this going on i can't feel attached to any of the characters apart from Sharp and Tony.
Overall i would recommend to all those who want to learn about the sort of jobs the SAS pull off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chris Ryan; Stand by, Stand by, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand By, Stand By (Paperback)
A good, hard hitting, & totally edge of the seat read. The dialogue & characters were very believable, & it's without a doubt a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand By, Stand By
Stand By, Stand By by Chris Ryan (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews