Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars247
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2013
This extraordinary book begs for multiple readings. As my first experience of Murakami I am not disappointed. I came away confused and moved, and went straight back to page 1!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I simply love this book! I haven't quite finished it and will be very sad when it ends. I will certainly back for more works by this author. Unlike anything I've read before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
I didnt know if I liked this story or not... it's a strange tale. The characters are memorable but I found it hard to keep track of the story. You may love it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Excellent, enthralling and enticing. Another masterpiece by MURAKAMI. I'd also suggest 1Q84. Both Kafta on the shore and 1Q84 keep you guessing until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
Really enjoyed this book. Unusual, interesting and well written. A recommended read. This was the first of Murakami books I ave read and now I am addicted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
The weirdness of the story is part of the attraction - after three other of his books i begin to realise that this is part of this author's attraction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
A real page turner. Murakami's style of writing will have you forget about everything that is going on around you. You will be absorbed by the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2005
As previous reviews have mentioned, you cannot avoid the slightly uncomfortable feeling that too many aspects of the story do not combine. Some chapters or plot lines have a great deal of attention paid and yet contribute little to the overall sentiment.
However, In my opinion it was supposed to be left open. And by doing so the book kept me absolutely hooked. All too often in modern literature we are spoon fed the plot leaving little room for the imagination to interfere with the authors grand ambition.
I spent some time after finishing the book reflecting upon it and will definately be reading more by Murakami. What higher praise can I give than that?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Strange, slow, seductive and surreal, and yet I couldn't put it down. Like all of Mjrakami's books, I cannot explain why I like the, I just do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
What an outstanding book! I adore Murakami and this book is my favourite one of his. What a wonderful read. One of my all time favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.