Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should be made to read this book
It's hard to explain the liberation I felt after reading this book. The maxim 'knowledge is power' has never been more true. Huxley shows with such clarity and lucidity, the way all our lives are controlled by over-organisation, indoctrination and propaganda. "The stuff of conspiracy theories," people might say? Think again.
Huxley shows how peoples perception of...
Published on 25 Jan 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected
This book doesn't have the same easy style as Brave New World. It was quite difficult to wade through at some points but it's good to have a wider view of Huxley's ideas.
Published 5 months ago by Becka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should be made to read this book, 25 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Brave New World Revisited (Paperback)
It's hard to explain the liberation I felt after reading this book. The maxim 'knowledge is power' has never been more true. Huxley shows with such clarity and lucidity, the way all our lives are controlled by over-organisation, indoctrination and propaganda. "The stuff of conspiracy theories," people might say? Think again.
Huxley shows how peoples perception of freedom is based on what you are told and understand freedom as actually being or looking like. He explodes this idea and goes on to show how our lives are shaped and controlled by those we elect to 'lead us'. To show how this can be done he cites the obvious yet accutely sharp example of Hitler's use of propaganda in bringing an entire German nation round to his way of thinking.
It goes without saying that if Hitler can use propaganda on such a dramtic level to control peoples views and ideas of what 'the truth' is, then its not beyond anyone else with large amounts of power to use those methods in other ways.
I urge anyone reading this review to buy the book, read it and pass it on to others. You will never look at the world and our system of governments the same way, ever again. If this leaves your perceptions of the world around you unchanged then Ill give you a refund myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind A Brave New World, 9 July 2004
If you have read both Brave New World and 1984 (George Orwell), then you must read this. It has no storyline or plot like the above, but it surely compares and explains both books a little better. It also relates examples from real history (Nazi Germany or Stalinist Russia). The book can be seen as both a foreword, an epilogue and the research to "A Brave New World" I very much enjoyed both Brave New World and 1984, but after reading BNW Revisited you will have a completely new perspective of the world around you. A must read after BNW and 1984.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scarily accurate prediction, 26 Nov 2010
By 
E. Freeman (Preston UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brave New World Revisited (Paperback)
This book by Aldous Huxley is a very chilling read.It predicts the rise of globalisation by large companies,the propagandisation of the media by mega rich individuals with their own political agendas and the loss of individual freedoms.
As you read the book you start to realise how much ground has been lost by the
individual and how much has been gained by the establishment and the powers that
be.A very real but very frightening glimpse of the future.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a Profound Read, 28 Nov 2007
Aldous Huxley's classic book, "Brave New World," is very interesting and such a profound read. This book should be strongly recommended.

In a way, this book is prophetic. While it is considered a science fiction, it remarkably parallel to that of today's world. Projecting suggestions through our sleeps are one of modes of mind control.

Today, we are all been subject constantly to 'suggestions' to one form or another, including a controlled media. And, we are ignoring the madness and believing in the lies brought forth by our so-called 'leaders' through the media. They can even seep the 'suggestions' through education, through televisions, through strobe lights, and through any media of sorts. And, we do not have a strong psychological resistance to these suggestions.

There is very important quote from this book that speaks of mind control:

"Till at last the child's mind is these suggestions and the sum of the suggestions is the child's mind. And not the child's mind only. The adult's mind too - all his life long. The mind that judges and desires and decides is made up of these suggestions. But these suggestions are our suggestions...suggestions from the State."

Brave New World is similar to George Orwell's "1984" in term of bureaucratized society where one lost self-identity and under a complete control of the state. Both "1984" and Brave New World do indeed had an impact on me as well anyone else in reading them.

Huxley's book is strongly recommended and receive more than five stars because it holds the real warning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More & More Prescient, 22 Dec 2006
BNW while not perhaps truly great in a literary sense, is most certainly extraordinary in a prophetic one, and in its way a deeper book than 1984, displaying Huxley's subtler understanding of totalitarian's potential wiles, and also his wry and absurdist sense of humour...the Epsilon Semi-Morons and their newspapers of no more than one syllable comes to mind. Now what could that be lampooning in the modern world? Huxley once described it as perhaps fraudulent to pretend to be a novelist, but that he was more of an essayist who with much pleasure used the novel form to embody his ideas. Having said that though, I think he could write works that are fine works of art, with special mention to Eyeless in Gaza and also Those Barren Leaves.
Anyway to get back on track, BNW Revisited is a work that deserves as wide a readership as its more famous younger brother, and displays Huxley's remarkably incisive, elegant and clear thinking about issues of great importance, which can be broadly grouped together as the ever present threat to man's freedom from those in power. As Huxley wrote, "A democracy is a society dedicated to the proposition that power is often abused, and should be entrusted to officials in limited amounts only." This is especially important now as particularly in modern US and Britain, civil liberties are eroded by centralising governments promising us that these increased powers are for own good. Revisited contains amongst much else very elightening thoughts on propaganda in a supposedly free society. Anyway these two books can hardly be more highly recommended, and despite the heavy subject matter, somehow manage to lighten rather than deaden one's mood and worldview due to the self-evident uplifting sense of Huxley's own self. Those impressed with BNW should probably check out Dostoevsky's The Brothers Karamazov as Huxley said that he gained much of the inspiration from its magnificent book within a book, The Legend of the Grand Inquisitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic read, 13 May 2005
A brilliant read! a classic that i had always been trying to get a suitable copy of.
This particular edition is brilliant as about a third to half of the book is the Brave New World revisited which provides a modern interpretation of Huxleys vision. A very very interesting and quite surprising accompaniment to the novel as it discusses just how much Huxleys world mirrors our own.
Very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NPR's..., 23 Nov 2011
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brave New World Revisited (Paperback)
Amy Goodman recently wrote an article about the forcible removal of "Occupy Wall Street" protesters from Zuccotti Park in Manhattan. They had a library of some 5,000 books that the police hauled off to the dump. One that escaped that fate was this book, and Goodman wrote about how extremely relevant it is to today's events. And so I decided to reread it, a book I had first read half a century ago... and clearly not comprehending much of it at age 15. On the first reading I had not marked a single passage... a habit I adopted not much thereafter. On this reading, a passage is marked on virtually every other page.

Huxley wrote Brave New World in 1931. Along with George Orwell's 1984 Nineteen Eighty-Four (Penguin Modern Classics) they were the essential reads of the `50's and `60's in terms of how the future might play out. In "Revisited", written in the late `50's, Huxley frankly compares the two visions, and says that his was the more correct, while conceding the merits of Orwell's vision. And I agree. The courser brutality of totalitarian control, exemplified by the rats dancing around one's head, as Orwell prophesized, is there for sure, but it is not the preferred or more common means of control utilized by the power elites. They definitely prefer the "velvet glove" approach of propaganda, the diversionary "circuses" (read today: the celebrity culture, the "missing white women," and professional sports), and the intoxicating "soma" of consumerism.

The author seemed to uncannily identify in the `50's so many of the real problems we, who want a truly democratic and free nation, face today. His first chapter is on over-population, which I continue to believe is in the top 3-4 issues that must be addressed. With the advances in public health and nutrition, the death side of the population equation fell dramatically. Huxley says that it took from the time of Christ to the Elizabethan period for the world's population to double. He said that it would double again in half of the 20th century, and would be 5.5 billion by the year 2000. In 2011, it became seven billion. All too correctly, he says: "Unsolved, that problem will render insoluble all our other problems. Worse, still, it will create conditions in which individual freedom and the social decencies of the democratic way of life will become impossible, almost unthinkable."
Another major concern is labeled "over-organization, which he describes as the increasingly regimented social and work structures that are imposed on "the masses" and the increasing concentration of power in the hands of the few (read: the 1%). As he says: "As the little Men disappear, more and more economic power comes to be wielded by fewer and fewer people." It is natural that he draws on the writing of C. Wright Mills, particularly The Power Elite. Bon mots? " The beauty of tidiness is used as a justification for despotism." Certainly one of the justifications for "clearing" Zoccotti Park.

There are a couple of chapters, one on propaganda in a democratic society; the other, in a totalitarian one. Without being able to specifically envision the rise of Fox "News" he says: "In the democratic West there is economic censorship and the media of mass communication are controlled by members of the Power Elite," and "But even in Rome there was nothing like the non-stop distraction now provided by newspapers and magazines, by radio, television and the cinema...for the purpose of preventing people from paying too much attention to the realities of the social and political situation." For being written in the `50's, prescience squared.

Other sections are dedicated to the consumer society, and the relentless efforts at selling the latest goods. Fittingly, he quotes from Vance Packard's Hidden Persuaders, The and discusses how the same techniques can be used for political control.

In the final chapter, on what can be done, he discusses the writ of habeas corpus, and suggests that there should be a writ of habeas mentem: "But here can be preventive legislation-- an outlawing of the psychological slave trade, a statute for the protection of minds against the unscrupulous purveyors of poisonous propaganda...modeled on the statutes for the protection of bodies against the unscrupulous purveyors of adulterated food and dangerous drugs." He also says, clearly projected the rise of the 1%: "We know that it is unsafe to allow power to be concentrated in the hands of a ruling oligarchy; nevertheless power is in fact being concentrated in fewer and fewer hands." The last sentence: "It is still our duty to do whatever we can to resist them." An impressive read the second time around; a vital book for your library, in Zuccotti Park, or wherever it might be. 5-stars, plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Brave New World"!, 27 May 1999
By A Customer
Essential handbook for understanding the wretched lives of those so unfortunate as to live in the later part of the 20th century, or something like that! Great read. Hard to put down. Clearly expounds the writers very motivations to write a book like "Brave New World". A true classic in its own right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Malthusian drill, 30 Mar 2007
By 
Guy reid-brown "GRB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`The lust for power can be just as completely satisfied by suggesting people into loving their servitude as by flogging and kicking them into obedience.' (from a letter to George Orwell, 1949)

As the European Union celebrates the fiftieth anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, it is sobering to reflect on Huxley's preface to `Brave New World' written twenty years after it's original publication in 1932: `Only a large-scale popular movement toward decentralization and self-help can arrest the present tendency toward statism. At present there is no sign that such a movement will take place.'

The main pleasure in reading this novel now is in ticking off the boxes for how much he got right so many decades a go - recreational drug use, instant contraception, twenty four hour TV, child sex education, genetic engineering. Huxley's characters are even obliged to participate in communal drug taking and ecstatic dancing to trance inducing music as part of their conditioning. There is also the compulsory Metrication that is a feature of both Huxley's dystopia and Orwell's `1984' - a sure symptom of totalitarianism.

`Brave New World Revisited', published in 1958 is less known but even more fascinating - this is non fiction and elucidates how `Big Government and Big Business already possess, or will very soon possess, all the techniques for mind manipulation described in Brave New World, along with others of which I was too unimaginative to dream.' - and he hadn't even come across Bluetooth and `Second Life.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 July 1999
By A Customer
Words can't describe how powerful this book is-because it's true! Everybody should read this and compare it to their own lives, society as a whole and to the future. It can change peoples lives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave New World Revisited
Brave New World Revisited by Aldous Huxley (Paperback - 2 Sep 2004)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews