Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello to old Berlin
This book is known as the original of "Cabaret"- which is why I bought it. And am I glad I did- don't expect the story as seen on stage or film, for here you will find several accounts of pre-war Berlin from various view points. The book is made up of several, smaller, novella's that are vaguely related while independent in themselves. Isherwood's strength...
Published on 17 Aug. 2000 by akissterrible@yahoo.co.uk

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting look at society in 1930's Berlin
An enjoyable read and window onto life in 1930s Berlin. It's not a novel so expect lots of loose ends, however the payback is that it's likely to be a truer representation of the people, poverty and decadence of the times.
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by Sam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
Christopher Isherwoods writings from Berlin the years between the wars are absolutely lovely - charming, witty and highly readable ever since. Also the story "Sally Bowles" became the almost classical musical "Cabarée" with Liza Minelly as Sally. I read the book many, many years ago - it is still as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye to Berlin, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Kindle Edition)
The characters are so marvellously drawn. If you are somene who i more interested in characteenrs than plot and, like me, fascinated by this particular moment in history, then you cannot fail to love this book. I have came late to this fascinating writer but I will be reading more of his work for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the book gives an eerie feeling about Berlin at the ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Kindle Edition)
the book gives an eerie feeling about Berlin at the time of the rise of Hitler. It is all the more authentic for its timing which leaves the reader chillingly looking into the future for the chartacters and wondering if they were to survive the coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
M. Ronald Jewell "Sugah" (à Gay Paree) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
How on earth they ever contrived the Sally Bowles that we know fro Liza is beyond me, this book is fantastics in it's inside view onto Berlin as the Nazi's rose to power and the innocent real people that were subject to their ascension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of pre War Berlin, 6 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
Very enjoyable collection of short stories or impressions. Most people have heard of Sally Bowels but all of the characters come to life. I wanted to laugh and cry and know more. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Kindle Edition)
As someone who lives in Berlin this was a fascinating insight into Berlin during the end of the Weimar years and the rise of the Nazis.
Isherwood writes beautifully, a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, enriching, an experience., 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Kindle Edition)
So good!! Thoroughly enjoyable read that teaches and entertains, recommended highly from me. Every page has a teaching and a close reference to Berlin in a challenging time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed cabaret the film you'll enjoy the writing that brings ..., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
If you enjoyed cabaret the film you'll enjoy the writing that brings you thee original Sally Bowles. Well written, great dialogue with an insight into Nazi Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fragments apparently writing at the time of the rise of ..., 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
Fragments apparently writing at the time of the rise of Nazism in Germany, evoked the period very well. It prompted a lot of discussion in our Book Group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye To Berlin (Paperback)
Stylistically brilliant, anyone interested in the Weimar-era, as well as anyone interested in a good read, should read Isherwood. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye to Berlin (Vintage Crucial Classics)
Goodbye to Berlin (Vintage Crucial Classics) by Christopher Isherwood (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews