Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb rendition of d day landings
An almost historical account of the preparation for the d day landings and war time Britain. Most excellent one of his best books!
Published 21 months ago by Martin K. Davies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Disappointing, characters lack the warmth and depth that one usually associates with Leslie Thomas' novels.
Published 4 months ago by Jdec


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb rendition of d day landings, 27 April 2013
An almost historical account of the preparation for the d day landings and war time Britain. Most excellent one of his best books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 1 April 2013
By 
Mr. John J. Oakeshott (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining book giving some substance to the run up to D day, Would recommend it as a good story book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another well written book., 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy Leslie Thomas's writing. His books don't involve the gung ho hero type but are well written stories about the people from the sidelines who contribute to the big story, heros in their own right. Mr Thomas is a tremendous wordsmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great WW2 story from Leslie Thomas, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Thomas - full of great characters and amusing incidents. Perhaps a bit too much like The Magic Army and not quite as good as The Dearest and the Best, but very enjoyable all the same. If you like "our Leslie", you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leslie Thomas at his best, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leslie Thomas is always good for a first class read and this one is as good as all of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you expect from a brilliant writer, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually read a book a fortnight but finished this one in a couple of days as I found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Thomas tale!!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For The Day (Paperback)
A typical Leslie Thomas story of wartime U.K. which is my era. I really enjoy these stories of his, they take me back to my early days in the services. Very nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing, characters lack the warmth and depth that one usually associates with Leslie Thomas' novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For The Day : (Hardcover)
Excellent writer, good plot, funny in places, couldn't put it down once I had picked it up. really liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Mar. 2009
By 
Alan Thomas "Mr T's reviews" (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for the Day (Paperback)
A pleasant easy read, typical of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting for the Day
Waiting for the Day by Leslie Thomas (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews