Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry = Wit ! Surprisingly original and funny viewpoints.
This is actually a collection of tonnes of different articles written over the years for a variety of publications. Most are only 1 to 3 pages long, and fit as many laughs into each one as you would normally get in one whole 'comedy book'. Steven's veiwpoints are so refreshing on so many issues, yet at the same time you think to yourself, "why has no-one though...
Published on 7 Dec 1998

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitty, but witty.
This book is collection of a wealth of essays, reviews, radio sketches and other oddments from various sources, so inevitably is something of a mixed bag. The majority of the pieces - including the fictionalised ramblings of The Liar's Professor Trefusis - take the form of short essays where Fry bemoans the state of society, both here and abroad. What saves these pieces...
Published on 18 Aug 2005 by Jane Aland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry = Wit ! Surprisingly original and funny viewpoints., 7 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
This is actually a collection of tonnes of different articles written over the years for a variety of publications. Most are only 1 to 3 pages long, and fit as many laughs into each one as you would normally get in one whole 'comedy book'. Steven's veiwpoints are so refreshing on so many issues, yet at the same time you think to yourself, "why has no-one though of this before ?". If your sense of humour is the kind that likes originality and new twists (with surreal and quirky touches) then this is what you will laugh at.
It turned me into a big fan of his, but I did not enjoy his novels so much. This format I think gives you the best of him. He says in the intro. that he used to get loads of desperate requests from readers for copies of articles he'd done; later you see why. Actually the introduction is one of the best bits as he is SO ironic, modest and more witty than anyone I've ever read. In fact simply, Fry = Wit. If anyone else finds a book similar then please, please contact me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitty, but witty., 18 Aug 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
This book is collection of a wealth of essays, reviews, radio sketches and other oddments from various sources, so inevitably is something of a mixed bag. The majority of the pieces - including the fictionalised ramblings of The Liar's Professor Trefusis - take the form of short essays where Fry bemoans the state of society, both here and abroad. What saves these pieces from becoming tiresome is that Fry's observations (or, to put it more bluntly - moans) are wrapped up in both his ironic humour and an invigorating prose driven by his love of words. There is one slight problem with reading the pieces en masse however, and that is that Fry does have a tendencies to repeat his favourite anecdotes, arguments, and jokes - sometimes variations of the same line can be found repeated here not once but three or four times. In the books defence, these pieces were never originally written to sit next to each other, but having been collected a rather more rigorous editing might have eliminated some of this repetition. Still, an intelligent and amusing non-fiction collection, Paperweight is perhaps better experienced in small chunks than as one continuous text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'The Liar'? Could well be. A veritable feast of Stephen, 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
Much as I like 'The Liar', I reckon 'Paperweight' for Stephen Fry's best book. This hefty but unputdownable volume collects a great tranche of Mr. Fry's reviews, essays, columns for (e.g.) 'The Listener' and (maybe best of the lot) 'radio essays' delivered by his professorial alter ego, Donald Trefusis. ('Paperweight' also contains his early play 'Latin!', which makes a truly eye-watering read decades after its first performance and is really not indicated reading for the easily offended.)
I don't think I can recommend this book highly enough - of course, Mr. Fry's wit and ear for parody never let him down, but then you'd maybe expect that. What might be more of a surprise is what an incisive commentator and critic he can be. Every topic Mr. Fry writes about is illuminated by his efforts - be it cricket, 'Clause 28', the Father Brown stories, Sherlock Holmes, socks, sex or Bernard Levin. Be careful how you use this volume though - once you open 'Paperweight', there's a fair chance the rest of the day will have to be given over to its perusal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Amusing, 9 Oct 2003
By 
Paul Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
If you enjoy Fry's humour (and in many respects even if you don't) you will simply love this colleciton of newspaper essays and radio transcripts. I've always enjoyed Fry's intelligent humour and it is on show here better than anywhere else.
I would say the highlight of the book is a series of transcripts of Donald Trefusus a university professor covering all manner of strange topics.
It's a strange book to try and explain, and I don't think I've done a very good job myself, so I'll just say that it is well worth owning - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paperweight stephen fry audio and book, 30 Nov 2004
By 
i absolutely give 5 stars to 'Paperweight' 1 and 2,for the book and the audio tape, although the audio is sooo much more entertaining, the bonus is the Fry voice surely?..never get tired of listening..his thoughts hidden in laughter,his politics and views on life never fail to amuse and are thought provoking, plus he loves Alistair Sim, so FRY RULES!! make a 2005 resolution
and get all the FRY works...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speaks for it self, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
You seldom go wrong with Stephen Fry! Intelligent and witty! This is a book I will read more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not a lightweight, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
hilarious, thoughtful, entertaining, exciting, with a twinkle in his eye and a smile on his face, with a tear and belly laugh. Stephen Fry is one of the few people I would love to meet and empty a bottle of wine with whilst talking the hours away. This is a clever book and a must for all those, who still believe that brains are useful and should be challenged now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoughtful, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
This is mostly a compilation of short pieces for newspapers. Some if it is trivial, but much is thoughtful, and all is elegantly phrased. A pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing at first, 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Paperweight (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all Stephen Fry's novels and I especially loved his autobiography, so I looked forward to reading 'Paperweight' with relish. However, I was rather disappointed. I found the first part of the book (consisting of the ramblings of Donald Trefusis and other characters) to be entirely boring and I found myself skipping pages to avoid reading them. I was much relieved to find that the later articles and musings of Stephen Fry were just as I'd come to expect of the author! Thankfully, I found myself laughing out loud at several of his opinions and ideas and I read with wonder, the many long-winded and unheard of (by me, anyway!) words, contemplating where on earth they had originated from! From here onwards, I found I had to keep picking the book up in order to read a little further, until I had reached the end. Apart from the seemingly boring beginning, this is a book for lovers of Stephen Fry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. Nicola L. Ott "Nicky Ott" (Malawi, Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperweight (Kindle Edition)
There are some very funny bits, lots of words need looking up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paperweight
Paperweight by Stephen Fry (Paperback - 5 Aug 2004)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews