Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe inspiring
A book of stark, gaunt imagery and truly emotive subjects. Time's arrow delivers on many levels, as a warning of mans descent into pure evil it utilises the Nazi's reign to portray how seemingly 'normal' people can be turned to sadistic keepers of hell on Earth. The inverted time scale creates a sense of disarray which adds to the tumultuous approach to the inevitable...
Published on 30 July 2002 by Elmore

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time's Arrow
Time's Arrow is a life backwards, but not in the Benjamin Button sense; rather, the book begins with our protagonist's death in the late 20th Century, and tracks backwards through time to end at his birth some 70 years previous. Counterpoint to this is our narrator, a kind of psychological hitch-hiker. Basically, the narrator is a character living inside the protagonist...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by TomCat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe inspiring, 30 July 2002
By 
Elmore (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
A book of stark, gaunt imagery and truly emotive subjects. Time's arrow delivers on many levels, as a warning of mans descent into pure evil it utilises the Nazi's reign to portray how seemingly 'normal' people can be turned to sadistic keepers of hell on Earth. The inverted time scale creates a sense of disarray which adds to the tumultuous approach to the inevitable revelation of Tod Friendly's real history.
Contrary to what some have said, Amis deals with the Holocaust with a subtle approach, mirrored by Tod's reversed morality toward the horrific going-ons in Auschwitz.
A heart wrenchingly powerful read, which evokes a myriad of emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intellectual, but not fully developed, 11 May 2003
By 
Jonathan Waterlow (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amis’s thought-provoking, award-winning, look at the mind of a Nazi involved in the horrors of the holocaust is a very interesting read. The central conceit is that a second voice, the narrator, sits in the mind of the war criminal, watching his life play, backwards. This novel technique means that acts of appalling violence appear to the narrator as acts of great compassion – for example, torture victims are apparently magically healed by the anonymous man we follow through the book.
Amis cleverly juxtaposes this with the man’s life as a doctor, which the narrator perceives as the work of a torturer… this inversion of the truth is a very effective method of showing just how distorted the truth of Nazi Germany (or indeed any country exposed to propaganda) would have been. This is very thought-provoking… and you certainly have to do a lot of thinking when reading this book, what with all conversations taking place in reverse and so forth.
However, interesting and intellectual as this book certainly is, Amis does very little else after establishing the raison d’etre of the story. Once you’ve “discovered” (the jacket gives it away immediately) the author’s conceit, then you could, almost, write the rest of the book yourself and realise the points Amis makes without actually reading them. Interesting and, at times, entertaining though it is, more could have been done to make it a more fulfilling read. Single-concept efforts take a lot of talent to pull off successfully – talent Amis certainly has; he just didn’t use it to its fullest here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life story told from death to birth by main character's soul, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Amis presents an entertaining and enlightening read with Time's Arrow. The story is told by the "soul" of the main character, Dr. Tod Friendly, who narrates Tod's life in reverse. The narrator's innocence makes the read interesting as he describes everyday events taking place backwards as though that was the way the incidents always occur. His naivete also hints at a terrible secret Tod seems to be running from. The reader discovers it during WWII when the main character works at Auschwitz concentration camp. Not only does Amis contrive poignant Holocaust images, but the reversal of time's arrow lets the reader see the event in a different light, one that parallels the Nazi's idea of "creating" a perfect race through genocide. Amis's characteristic mastery of language and satirical wit can be seen throughout the work while his wonderful prose never fails to entertain. Though a little complicated at times, the novel is definately a worthwhile read as it gets the reader's mind working and will not be easily forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time's Arrow, 12 Jun 2011
By 
TomCat (Cardiff, Wales.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time's Arrow (Paperback)
Time's Arrow is a life backwards, but not in the Benjamin Button sense; rather, the book begins with our protagonist's death in the late 20th Century, and tracks backwards through time to end at his birth some 70 years previous. Counterpoint to this is our narrator, a kind of psychological hitch-hiker. Basically, the narrator is a character living inside the protagonist (but can neither exert control or influence) and who's forced to experience events backwards. Thus, to our narrator, the world is a baffling and irrational construct which begins with death ("I moved forward, out of the blackest sleep") and ends with birth - the terrifying entry into the mother's womb.

Got it? I'm finding the premise surprisingly difficult to explain. Imagine watching a film backwards while somebody describes the action as if it were playing forwards and you'll have some idea of this book's narrative throughline. Although the concept is initially baffling, the novel's opening 50 pages (or so) carry with them an persuasive sense of comedy that lightens the tone and makes the longer-than-average time it takes to acclimatise to the novel's style more endurable. For example, moments of otherwise mundane experience are lifted into the sphere of the comedic by our narrator's bizarre inverse chronological perspective: as our narrator sees is, a visit to the doctor consist of an immediate consultation followed by an unexplained hour-long wait in a holding area. Sex is a strange, tufted and clumsy process, the ultimate goal of which is, clearly, to be taken to dinner in a nice restaurant; where food is regurgitated onto cutlery before cooled in ovens and taken to stores where it is exchanged for money etc. etc. These amusing descriptions are augmented by reverse dialogue (much harder to follow than you'd think) which is equal parts funny and frustrating - a conflict that probably explains the novel's paucity of direct speech. More irritating is Amis' characteristic tonal smuggishness; whether he's bombarding the reader with very unusual words (more, it seems, to show-off his learning and belittle his audience than to elucidate or enlighten) or making naff nudge-nudge-wink-wink asides to the reader when, for example, the narrator explains that all relationships begin with horrific arguments and end with awkward "hellos" at parties; too much of the novel's opening is redolent of some smart-ass joke that Amis doesn't want the reader in-on.

But emerging from the somewhat clumsy and inchoate first 50 pages is a steadily spreading darkness, a kind of sinister shadow that creeps over and into the narrative, first with occasional negative abstract nouns (`regret', `deceit', `loss', `exile') and later with more horrific and grotesque manifestations (nightmares, arguments, violence). Yep, our protagonist harbours an appalling secret about his past (or his future? haha etc./*yawn*), which is only gradually revealed as both reader and narrator journey back through time.

To fast-forward: lots of incidental things happen to our protagonist (of ever changing name) as he becomes younger and younger until we reach the real crux of both the book and his mysterious identity. This aforementioned tonal gloom gets darker and darker until eventually we discover the truth that's casting it's shadow over the text: our protagonist was a Nazi doctor who administered thousands of phenol injections to German Jews in Auschwitz. Of course our narrator can't discern any sense of horror or crime from the actions of the holocaust; to him it's all backwards, and so it's a beautiful and selfless act of creation. As such, the book's linguistic register is altered to become fittingly biblical: "Our purpose? To dream a race. To make a people from the weather. From thunder and from lightning. With gas, with electricity, with fire."

[A note on where I stand re: the aestheticization of the holocaust]: I've always been uncomfortable with artistic representations of the holocaust (especially in literature), not because I adhere to any outré political or moral stringencies, but because I find the numbers and sheer horror involved to be utterly ungraspable. It's so radically alien to our everyday experience, and six million murders is such an unknowably huge number, that, rather than horror, I'm often beset with a sense of numbness when I read about it - and this is probably the complete opposite of the intended effect of any piece of holocaust art. I can't make sense of it (if sense there is to be made). At the same time, however, I don't hold to an Adornian idiolect of `No art out of Auschwitz' - (a concept I remember an eccentric university lecturer trying to push onto me over and over again). So for me the holocaust isn't beyond representation, it's just... difficult.

But Time's Arrow's backwards narrative, oddly enough, offers a relatively successful heuristic to the problems of describing the holocaust without simultaneously generating this sense of emotional disconnect. Everything we know about the holocaust becomes a reversal: murder to birth, pain to healing, starvation to growth, imprisonment to freedom; and there's something undeniably beautiful about destruction that's undone. For the narrator of Time's Arrow, the holocaust isn't a disgrace of history relegated to the past; instead, it never happened and never will. It's strikingly reminiscent of a scene from Slaughterhouse 5 in which Billy Pilgrim watches old war films backwards.

Of course, the corollary to this interpretation is a more cynical reading that finds the cancelling of the holocaust to be a grossly offensive and dismissive literary act. My counter-point to this argument would be that Amis never asks the reader to ignore or forget the holocaust, rather, he gives us a celebration of the life and vibrancy that was lost, rather than yet-another bleak description of the act of massacre. It's a bit like feeling grief through looking at photographs as opposed to grief through looking at gravestones. I found this book offers one of the few representations of the holocaust that really got to me with a kick-in-the-guts sense of emotion. The re-birth of a people is incredibly moving purely because it doesn't wallow in the blatant horror that's already seared into the minds of the reader from so many other sources.

In other aspects the books is... alright. Characterisation is somewhat lacking, as most of the people we meet are either foils for reverse chronology jokes "my wife gets younger every day" (literally) or cartoonish representations of Nazi evil. The narrator is the only persistent voice, and even his confusion and bewilderment regarding his temporal situation often feels abstract and disinterested, which creates an unnerving sense that he's not at all real, but merely a funnel through which Amis can pipe his backwards narrative.

On a more pernickety level, the medium of the novel (reading left to right, top to bottom etc) creates problems for the time-in-reverse gimmick - such as: why isn't the narrator speaking backwards? The aesthetic of the concept is imperfectly realised because it's so often frustrated by the limits of the form; i.e. the book has to make some kind of sense.

So Time's Arrow is a neat idea, but whereas the novel's best bits come from the nature of the backwards narrative as a storytelling gimmick (the aforementioned holocaust in reverse), this is also the source of the book's most major failings. Sadly you have to plough through a lot of dirt to get to this book's diamonds. As good as this books is, if you do happen to be looking for an experimental anti-war novel that highlights the senselessness of massacre, you're probably better sticking to Slaughterhouse 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The world has stopped making sense again...", 14 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Time's Arrow (Paperback)
Tod T. Friendly (who is in fact Odilo Unverdorben, a Nazi Doctor and assistant to Josef Mengele in Auschwitz-Birkenau), at the moment of his death in late 20th century New York, re-lives his life (which to the people surrounding him is a complete secret), or more correctly, a shadow or rather perplex and surprised double of Tod Friendly (or John Young, and finally Odilo Unverdorben), who is the narrator of this account, does. Ingeniously, Martin Amis has mirrored this life as inversion, making it something like a upside down account of the 20th century.
Definetely not an easy read in the beginning (Martin Amis never is, thankfully- and reading inverse dialogues is wee bit like running backwards- not that I've tried running backwards though), "Time's Arrow" needs time getting accustomed to, increases momentum until finally Odilo Unverdorben re-enters his mothers womb. Inverse dialogue, inverse sexual acts, inverse life- even Auschwitz and Odilos role during the holocaust inversed: especially this part of this novel is the one making this book an unforgettable reading experience, this is the part, which stuns most, with leaves you breathlessly following Odilos shadows inverse view of the Schoah.
Martin Amis' prose is ironical, black, ice-cold, cruel and consciously pathetical at times. A shattering, stunning and utterly original visionary work of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic reappraisal of the morality of war and genocide, 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Amis balances nicely his natural cleverness and his artistry in this book. It might be confusing for the hard-of-thinking but is basically a very simple (and not entirely original, as Amis acknowledges himself) device of having the flow of time run backwards, that enables a lot of new thought about morality and its nature. Not a "fun" book, but it will reward the work of thinking through it, and shed genuinely new light on the nature of evil. For me, his best book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, if disturbing journey of one mans' life, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Starting as all good thing should,at the end, we become the chip on this mans' shoulder. He is a vile human being who only becomes worse with youth. The cleverness of the author becomes apparent instantly with the main character rubbishing his own profession, doctoring in the very first page. Although the plot does get a bit confusing toward the end, it seems in keeping with the ergency of the period. Definetly work reading, probably more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly impressive, 25 Sep 2006
This review is from: Time's Arrow (Paperback)
Taking any life through a backwards lense would have been sufficient to display the dazzling literary technique at work here, but to have the courage (or audacity) needed to tackle the subject of the holocaust in this way lifts the novel from a clever work to a truly monumental work of literature. The reader's own confusion, followed by collusion, is used as a powerful tool of engagement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrow Time's on words 100, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: Time's Arrow (Paperback)
I laughed less than with other Amis novels (well it does involve the holocaust) but the writing has everything I fell in love with on reading `Money': language and craft that has you resting the open book on one knee while you savour just how good it is. The backwards timeline is an appropriate, thought-provoking device. The first time we witness the aging narrator make love, we understand it is the last time he ever will. And as a young Nazi doctor, the mutilated heal at his hands. A book of contradictions, it's deeply moving and it never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time's Arrow (Kindle Edition)
I have heard this book described as a man's life backwards through the Holocaust. It is rather an internal passenger or parasite's view of a man's life played backwards. the passenger has no freedom of will and is merely experiencing the life backwards, part of which takes place during Nazi Germany. A great book with some profound points and some very amusing passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time's Arrow
Time's Arrow by Martin Amis (Paperback - 13 Aug 2003)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews