Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you ever visit rural France, read this first. If you are not visiting France - read it anyway!
Ah Clochemerle. Possibly my favourite book of all time. I've re-read it about 6 or 7 times now most recently just finishing it yesterday and it never fails to amuse and impress me. Bearing in mind it was written in 1936 it is a bit "racy" and when you consider it was translated in the same year for British publication, I hate to think what the guardians of our morals...
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by Big Jim

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle? Still very much the case!
Excellent and oh, still how true! I 01st read Clochemerle when I was about 20, never dreaming I was to spend the major part of my adult life in France. Now for having lived for so long in Provincial France, and not too far away from Lyons and the Beaujolais region, I can better visualize the streets of Clochemerle; the summer heat; the Lime trees and Horse chestnut trees...
Published on 18 Feb 2012 by Ripper38


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clochmerle fan, 11 April 2013
By 
L. P. Williams (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
it takes me back to the sleepy, colloquial villages where I once resided. the humour is so well conveyed as is the adherence to Catholicism in rural France. All the fun and romance without today's political minefield. BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I first read this book years ago and was pleased to be reunited with an old friend, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Paperback)
I first read this book years ago and was pleased to be reunited with an old friend. I especially like the little line drawings which illustrate many of the pages, making this version a particular delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second time around, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
First read this while serving national service in Germany. (long time ago). Enjoyed it second time around on my kindle. Worth a read if you like something quite different and a little quirky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open a bottle of Beaujolais and enjoy., 24 Dec 2012
By 
I. Chard "Ian Chard" (Isle of Skye, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
I have known this book and its sequels; Clochemerle les Bains and Clochmere Babylon, for many years. They are all excellent reads and good for a belly laugh. Pity I can't give it more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real reading :), 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Hardcover)
I grew up with Clochemerle and Don Cammilo - both remarkable for being totally out of place and time.

Clochemerle is not an intellectual book, but it really has no time for fools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh la la, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
Could not understand why my parents laughed so much over this book, I now know why, you have to have a warped sense of humour :-)) A real fun read of the French way of life!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle, 21 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
A delightful book, well translated. I can see the characters from the 1970s TV version. A colourful, rich if, (I think!) a somewhat exaggerated vision of 1920s rural France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Clochemerle (Paperback)
Could only be bettered by a DVD of the 1972 BBC series

having been a Parish Councillor can relate to the situation! It should be summer reading for all new councillors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Club book, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Paperback)
I first read this when I was in my teens and thought it was hilarious, but 50 years later I found it rather hard to get into, and not so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle (Kindle Edition)
I have been waiting at get the Kindle version for some time and made a request for it, Now it has arrived. I have also purchased the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clochemerle
Clochemerle by Gabriel Chevallier (Paperback - 2 Sep 2004)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews