Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth about Haiti
It's really great to see that this book is back in print. For anybody planning to visit Haiti, I cannot think of a more comprehensive or accessible guide to the country's history, culture and attractions. Even for those that aren't, this is a terrific read. Although, this is ostensibly a travelogue, it's actually much more than this, providing a sound overview of what...
Published on 20 Dec 2002 by Kasper Simon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough
I don't dispute that there is a lot of information in this book. The author knows his subject and has done his homework. But it was hard going for me. Well over 300 pages of VERY small print in my copy, and a lot of old historic information which was of no real interest to me. If you want an overview of Haiti that is easy to read, look elsewhere.
Published on 3 Jan 2009 by T. King


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth about Haiti, 20 Dec 2002
It's really great to see that this book is back in print. For anybody planning to visit Haiti, I cannot think of a more comprehensive or accessible guide to the country's history, culture and attractions. Even for those that aren't, this is a terrific read. Although, this is ostensibly a travelogue, it's actually much more than this, providing a sound overview of what is one of the most interesting places on earth. It's a beautifully written book, at times profoundly sad but often very, very funny. Join the author for the trip of a lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Account of Haiti, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Nico (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Ian Thomson's account of his travels through Haiti. I thought he described modern Haiti very well and with great understanding. The book provides a comprehensive history of Haiti which helps the reader understand the society that has emerged and exists today. I found his account of the bloody overthrow of the French plantocracy and the eventual defeat of the French amy sent to put down the rebellion fascinating. Thomson also details life in Haiti well under the rule of Papa Doc and Baby Doc and in particular their use of the Tontons Macoute with their links to voodoo to intimidate and cower the population. Thomson also describes the physical geography of Haiti well in particular the damaging de-forestation which has occurred. An interesting book for people who want to know more about Haiti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and fascinating account, 1 Aug 2009
By 
B. WARD (Topanga Canyon, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
This is an excellent book that covers Haiti's violent past and present realities as the author journeys north and south from Port-au-Prince to other towns and some splendidly obscure destinations. The historical anecdotes are fascinating, the author has done his research well. He also vividly portrays the people of Haiti, their daily lives, beliefs and culture. If you are interested in knowing more about Haiti beyond the popular prejudices about "voodoo", then 'Bonjour Blanc' is requisite reading. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Land of Darkness, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
The author captures the spirit of this unusual land very well. Haiti is scary, but also fascinating. You kind of hold your breath when you're hearing about the horrors of life there, yet you can't help wanting to hear more. As a follow-up, readers might want to buy Papa Doc: Portrait of a Haitian Tyrant by John Marquis, which focuses on a spy trial in Port-au-Prince in 1968. The author actually met Papa Doc inside the National Palace. On the face of it, Papa Doc looked as harmless as a grizzly old grandpa. The giveaway was the revolver in his pending tray. Eery place, but endlessly enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
I've long been fascinated by Haiti, a country I associate with brutal dictatorship and voodoo. Ian Thomson has produced a readable, sometimes very funny, culturally astute book, which blends travelogue with cultural history. It hasn't made me want to visit Haiti, but it falls into a category I like to think of as "I'm so glad he's gone there so that I don't have to". A very impressive account by a skilful writer. Recommended to fans of quality travel writing (e.g. Paul Theroux) and anyone interested in the culture of Papa Doc and voodoo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting book about a really interesting place., 12 Sep 2008
By 
D. Cooley "Svens Dad" (In my house which is where svens dad lives who is me) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
This book is brilliant there's not an awfull lot to my knowledge written about Haiti which is part of why i think its such an interesting place and this book is a real insight, its really well written by an obviously very brave man, it almost makes me want to go there myself almost that is. Really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough, 3 Jan 2009
By 
T. King (Portadown, Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti (Paperback)
I don't dispute that there is a lot of information in this book. The author knows his subject and has done his homework. But it was hard going for me. Well over 300 pages of VERY small print in my copy, and a lot of old historic information which was of no real interest to me. If you want an overview of Haiti that is easy to read, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti
Bonjour Blanc: A Journey Through Haiti by Ian Thomson (Paperback - 6 May 2004)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews