Customer Reviews


7 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something a little unusual, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Paperback)
This is a very unusual and strangely moving story. A little girl and her dog, live in a cave. The little girl lives alone and feeds and clothes herself. One day the girl and dog see signs a bear has been in their cave. When it returns they manage to scare it away, before realising the bear's cub is still in the cave. They look for the mother bear and all end up curled up together, warm and safe while the snow falls outside. There is a desolation about the illustrations, but a real sense of strength and courage about the characters. This is really something different by a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wild girl, 9 Jan. 2010
By 
the book mum (balfron, glasgow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Paperback)
Never know if I buy this author's books for me or my children. A beautiful storybook, with clear simple storyline and wonderful illustrations. A real success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book for girls (no princesses though), 1 July 2011
By 
Martin (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Paperback)
My 5-yr old loves this book.
There's no "monsters", bad dreams or incomprehensible trendiness.
There's a simple story with a bit of tension and hug at the end.

I love it too
The girl in it in strong and self-reliant in a totally unselfconscious way.
Alone and somewhat lonely she is still wonderfully calm.
(There is no explanation for her solitary existence)

There is no glossing over her brutal existence
(the fleas, cold and dirt are spelt out)
but there is still humanity in her.

Now, my daughter like faeries/mermaids/princesses and so do I
but it's great to find a cross-grained books like this
that tells a great story but also makes her think that there is life beyond
the glass slipper.

BTW there is a great little puzzle in the book for kids.
If you only see mother bear footprints leading to the cave
how did the cub get to be there ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and different, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Paperback)
I love this book, as does my 3 year old son. In a somewhat desolate landscape of loneliness and beauty live a girl and her dog. There's enough tension to keep the plot going, a bit of humour, and the illustrations are just stunning.

Crucially, the girl is self-sufficient and feisty. No prince needed, no glitter, and no pink. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple tale of survival and love, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Paperback)
A thought-provoking story about a little girl who lives all alone in the snowy prehistoric wilderness. Good for smaller children (age 3-8) to help them think about other people not as fortunate as them and appreciate the simple pleasures of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter (now 3, then 6 months younger) loves ..., 26 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. J. Youngman (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Hardcover)
My daughter (now 3, then 6 months younger) loves this book. I expected lots of questions about why she was alone, but no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Girl (Hardcover)
A truly delightful book with a lovely ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Girl
The Wild Girl by Christopher Wormell (Paperback - 2 Nov. 2006)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews