Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle and evocative
Sebald writes movingly of four different emigrants and ties together their sense of loss and displacement. There are common threads in each story but each life is clearly drawn and it's effect upon Sebald's own life and emotions alluded to rather than stated explicitly.
There is a real sense of place in each story & I especially enjoyed the description of...
Published on 9 April 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality book
I purchased this book as part of a study course but didn't particularly enjoy it. The writing is excellent but I found the stories quite depressive. Price though was very good.
Published 14 months ago by Annie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Quality book, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
I purchased this book as part of a study course but didn't particularly enjoy it. The writing is excellent but I found the stories quite depressive. Price though was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eminent emigrants, 2 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
This is a wonderful novel of fact and fiction. Incredibly moving about lost people living anonymous lives. At times rather depressing but at the same time most rewarding. It's a style of writing I don't think you'll find anywhere else. Almost like reading someone's private thoughts or experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable book, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
This is a very unusual book in that it combined truth with ficyion and the photographs lend it an air of mystery. It opens up a world from the past and the main characters are full of interest.
The book arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening, 21 Oct 1999
By 
Mark "markalexander100" (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Emigrants (Hardcover)
This is an astonishing book. Whether in his original German or in this English translation, Sebald has a verbal precision and grace which set off perfectly the flights of the imagination contained in his digressions on the intellectual life of Mitteleuropa or the role of silk cultivation in Mediaeval China. Erudite, intellectual and a thrilling jouney through the mind of one of Europe's finest writers, this is one to buy immdiately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Emigrants, 14 May 2014
By 
essieb (England UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
Would not be my personal choice for reading; bought it as part of OU course. Extremely well written and thought provoking, rather depressing, but did not find it inspiring, although I know many people did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent service, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
I got the book on time and everything is well, however, the book cover was creased from wearing which wasn't mentioned in the description. However, it was a fair deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Life is too short, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emigrants (Paperback)
An easy read, but pointless.A rag bag of uninspired journalism.If you think you may have less than, say, another 40 years to live, reading this is a waste of your valuable time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Emigrants
The Emigrants by W. G. Sebald (Paperback - 2002)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews