Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henry VIII by David Starkey
I enjoy the author's TV programs about the lives of the English Kings and Queens. I thought I would give his books a try as there would be more information in them than can be put onto a short program. I was right. There is much information about the King from birth to death and all written in the same manner you can hear him speaking as he does on TV. A little strange at...
Published on 11 July 2009 by S. Pentney

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fills out the details
This is definitely not the book for anyone who does not know the chronology of Henry VIII's reign, or for anyone just wanting the six wives story, or indeed much about the English Reformation. Nor is it much of a biography of the old monster himself.

Where it does score highly is in bringing out why faction was such a crucial element in the politics of the...
Published on 13 July 2009 by A. Warmington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fills out the details, 13 July 2009
By 
A. Warmington (Hampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
This is definitely not the book for anyone who does not know the chronology of Henry VIII's reign, or for anyone just wanting the six wives story, or indeed much about the English Reformation. Nor is it much of a biography of the old monster himself.

Where it does score highly is in bringing out why faction was such a crucial element in the politics of the reign and how different people used different offices and positions within the court of a paranoid tyrant who was fundamentally a coward to advance personal and political agendas at different times. The ebb and flow is fascinating if gruelling to read.

Unlike another reviewer, the impression I took away is that Thomas Cromwell destroyed Anne Boleyn because he knew the King wanted rid of her and had to take charge of the process lest the noble/conservative faction used her downfall to carry him and his whole programme away with her. He was no more ruthless or bloodstained than anyone else in the carnage of the 1530s, just more skilled. Not that it saved him when his own time came.

Starkey, I think, might have done more to explain why, uniquely among all ages, the reign of Henry VIII was a time when to lose at politics almost always meant death.

During the reign, by my count, 23 courtiers or ministers were put to death for treason. Of these, only Bishop John Fisher (who called for Spain to invade England) was definitely guilty as charged and, by the standards of the day, Catherine Howard, her lovers and Lady Rochford who aided her might be added to the list. Why did five palpably innocent men have to die to be rid of Anne Boleyn? Even on the most cynical reading, surely one would have done. And what did living in this world do the psyche of courtiers? Now that would make an interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henry VIII by David Starkey, 11 July 2009
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
I enjoy the author's TV programs about the lives of the English Kings and Queens. I thought I would give his books a try as there would be more information in them than can be put onto a short program. I was right. There is much information about the King from birth to death and all written in the same manner you can hear him speaking as he does on TV. A little strange at first to read and hear his voice in your mind but then he is very listenable on TV, very easy to read his written word.
It seems to be well reasearched, logically presented yet with an ease to allow the ordinary man to read it and enjoy it. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys his TV programs or who would like to read a history which is both fun to read and full of little facts to brighten the day. All the drama of his life is captured. It is hard to think how much his life has affected everything we do and believe in today and yet it is all there to see. David Starkey has also included a number of photos to enhance the book. I would recommend this to anyone with any interest in the subject and would recommend the author as I have read his much longer work on Elizabeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's that good! Do get a copy and enjoy, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
This is an essential absolutely must have addition to your book-list on Tudor history and it is just a dream to read. Dr Starkey makes history pleasurable! It's got everything you need to know to create a working model of Henry VIII's court in your head. It's that good!
Do get a copy and enjoy! You will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 19 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
David Starkey manages to keep a complex story very clear in a readable and entertaining way. I would have liked a little more on Anne Boleyn as the most interesting of the 6 wives as well as a bit more colour on Henry's interactions with Charles V and Francois Ist of France.
What I liked is his analysis of how the court worked in factions and how the key element was to get the King's ear. Henry is often portrayed as cruel, which he was, but the book makes clear that those around him were not any better.
Overall an excellent introduction, because it is a short book, that explains very well the institutional circumstances of his reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sister liked it, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
My sister asked me to order this for her and she liked it very much. No complaints at all from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good bargain, 15 Dec 2012
By 
SCharles (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics (Paperback)
This is a slender book bought to understand more about the men and the politics of the 16th century. I can give it three stars for excellent price and relatively good delivery time. If Dr Starkey's other work is anything to go by it will deserve more starts when I finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics
Reign Of Henry VIII: The Personalities and Politics by Dr David Starkey (Paperback - 3 Oct 2002)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews