Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History from the hip
As a child of the late fifties, I'm old enough to remember the Rolling Stones' music first time around, but I was too young then to have any inlking of the social revolution that was underway, soundtracked by the Beatles/Stones et al as they swept away the old guard of safe pop music your mom liked. This is a superb first-hand account from a man who was not only right in...
Published on 24 Feb. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2Stoned
Arrived in reasonable condition and timeously. The title says it all both of this and the first book...feels as though Andrew was 'out of his mind' when he wrote it. Confused, muddled and sometimes difficult to follow what should be a good story from one of the early trail-blazers of 60s music business.
Published on 16 July 2011 by R. Harrod


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History from the hip, 24 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 2Stoned (Hardcover)
As a child of the late fifties, I'm old enough to remember the Rolling Stones' music first time around, but I was too young then to have any inlking of the social revolution that was underway, soundtracked by the Beatles/Stones et al as they swept away the old guard of safe pop music your mom liked. This is a superb first-hand account from a man who was not only right in the heart of the action, but causing a fair chunk of it himself. Oldham writes with the panache you would expect of an arch pop publicist, and the book is also well served by some equally telling contributions from other sharp observers of the time - some well known, some not. But they all have an interesting tale to tell.
It's difficult not to warm to the author, regardless of the scrapes and states he got himself (and others) into, because he relates his take on events with a disarming honesty throughout, shot through with a wry sense of the absurd. What the reader gets as a result is a well written eye-witness account of a musical revolution in progress. Whether you're young or old, it sets the music in the context of its time, spiced with some glorious anecdotes. And best of all, it makes you want to listen to all that fabulous music (and not just the Stones' stuff) all over again. For anyone with any feeling for the times, the music, or both, this book is indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book about the 60's, 13 Dec. 2002
By 
Mr. R. C. Golten "roger4346" (Kings Langley, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2Stoned (Hardcover)
This could be better than having been there (like it says about the DVD of the 1970 isle of wight festival - certainly safer and more comfortable, anyway) Andrew Loog Oldham has taken self-destructive testing further that any man still alive, and he's written two of the best books ever on the post-war generation which spawned pop & rock. I can't wait for the third in this tri-biography, which also includes contributions from other protagonists like Allen Klein, Keith Richard and Pete Townshend.
Searingly honest, brilliantly & originally written. I was a nice boy; a Beatles baby, but these books illuminate the times like no others, and are the testament of the man who started The Stones rolling - and let's face it, it's a successful formula which continues to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Received in tip top condition (including coffee stain just to make it an offiical ALO derivative), 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2Stoned (Paperback)
I am just finishing Stoned by Andrew Loog Oldham and am alternately mesmerised and in fits of laughter over the amazing feats performed by ALO in the pursuit of image and art. If 2Stoned is just as good this is a rare treat! For those interested ( qs I am) in how the 60s spawned a rare generation of beatniks,poets, and weirdos, then this is a guided tour of that world. A fantastic jewel of history in the midst of the recent 'dumbing down' and mediocrity of the current arts world. I'm glad I lived through this amazing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2Stoned, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: 2Stoned (Paperback)
Arrived in reasonable condition and timeously. The title says it all both of this and the first book...feels as though Andrew was 'out of his mind' when he wrote it. Confused, muddled and sometimes difficult to follow what should be a good story from one of the early trail-blazers of 60s music business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 stoned 2 boring, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
D. MCGEER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2Stoned (Paperback)
I was expecting much more from than this book however it provides a lot of personal accounts of events that are often self indulgent and rather boring. I cant say that I would recomend it. The overall impression is that someone wanted to make money quickly but couldnt be bothered to put any effort into the book. A bit like cut and paste and then try and fool everyone to believe that this isnt the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2Stoned (Paperback)
Book 'em Danno
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2Stoned (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2Stoned
2Stoned by Andrew Loog Oldham (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2003)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews