Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Luck Factor is a Remarkable Book
This is an amazing book. It's no ordinary self-help book - it's well-written, presents fascinating results of solid scientific research, and it works - at least it worked for me! It's packed with information about psychology yet it is an easy and compelling read. It describes how the author, who is an academic psychologist, did research that revealed that luck is not...
Published on 8 Jan 2003

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This would have made a very interesting magazine article.
Although there are some interesting ideas in this book, there is an awful lot of padding; and believe me it takes an awful lot of padding to stretch 4 ideas into 200 pages.
It soon becomes irritating to have so many re-statements of the same ideas and "quick re-caps" and end-of-chapter summaries. No-one has an attention span that short!
The 4 ideas themselves...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by Mr. RpN


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather repetitive, 16 Nov 2010
I started off with high hopes for this book but it started to irritate me more and more. It's one of those books that state the bleedin' obvious in thousands of words. It can all be summed up as "If you have a positive outlook and put yourself about a bit, you'll usually be more successful than those who don't."

The other main irritation is the "case studies" where what people say about themselves is always taken as fact and at face value. Just because someone declares that they are incredibly lucky and happy, doesn't mean they are.

It's also full of stories of the "I would have been in the Twin Towers that day, but I had toothache and went to the dentist's instead" variety. That's at least some consolation for the poor buggers who got their body parts blown off then!

At what point does a lucky escape stop being a lucky escape, I wonder. "I was in the Twin Towers a month before the planes struck" lacks the appeal of I was in there five minutes before, but in reality is no less or more remarkable.

I've given the book three points, because there is always something useful in this type of book even if it is not original. In my case, making more of an effort to keep up with old friends and strike up conversations with people while out and about.

Be positive and put yourself about a bit more. Good advice, even if you don't need a 200-page book to pass on the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great manual for living
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak book, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
Richard Wiseman conducts study of 2 people Brenda and Martin and comes up with a general conclusion based on a non scientific experiment. Page 59/60 and 61. Brenda does not pick up a 5£ note, orders a coffee and sits silently at a table, therefore, according to Wiseman, she attracts bad luck when compared to Martin who picks up the 5£note, orders coffee and chats with another patron.

The book is full of conclusion based on wrong statistics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and thought provoking, 9 May 2011
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
This is a worthwhile read - Dr Wiseman has taken on a very challenging subject, researched his theories thoroughly and produced some very interesting and compelling results. Following his findings should be beneficial to most people but for those who feel truly unlucky and that the world is against them, it could be a real game changer.

Although the book is ultimately fascinating, the writing style isn't the most inviting at times and overall it did leave me a little cold. Very good, nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought mine in a charity shop........., 27 Aug 2009
By 
Joyeuse (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
so what does that say?

Has the previous owner achieved such amazing success in life with the help of this volume that s/he no longer needs it or tossed it out as a complete waste of time? As it's fairly pristine I suspect it's the latter but on the other hand the spouse of said owner may have spotted the title and feared this presaged an unforseen tendancy to gambing addiction and so dropped it into the charity shop on the way to Somerfields. You never can tell.

Seems to me, from a yet incomplete reading, that the recommended knack is being open open to all encounters and possibilities. Though, as I've also read a couple of books on psychopathy lately, maybe that isn't always such a smart move either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was one of the students on the Richard & Judy 'Luck Factor' trial, 30 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
Hi everyone, I was on the R & J show when Richard first released his book, I was one of three students on a 3 week trial with Prof Wiseman, I found it totally fantastic and life changing, if you want to know more then one of my business (I started using Richards luck principles) has newspapers articles and links to articles about my total change of luck..... Look me up on independentauthors.co.uk

Prof Wiseman himself is still to this day a good freind and contact always there for any queries and motivation and also my progress since the show, so thanks to Richard and I hope you all just get on with the luck principles within the book and you WILL be surprised at what you can achieve....best part for me though is....I got the book free! and signed, betcha all jealous now ;O) Gary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scientific Hokum, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
This is typical of the sort of book written by someone from the scientific community that sets out to prove what is already common knowledge to a large proportion of the population - that luck, as the old saying goes, is what you make it. Which beggars the question - why inflict it on the book reading public in the first place? It's also a strange subject for a man whose reputation depends on shooting down anything that remotely questions established (read 'closed') scientific thought. Granted, he laboriously endeavours to explain the concept of luck from a purely psychological standpoint (now there's a surprise), but it would perhaps have been more appropriate to have simply presented the subject as a mode of positive thinking and leave it at that. Instead the book is titled The Luck Factor presumably in an attempt to reach a wider audience, from the serious minded theorists, gamblers and lottery hopefuls to the superstitious element of the population the author is normally at odds with. A thoroughly forgettable work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy it!, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
Total rubbish! Waste of money! thought it would be a good page turner but it turned out to be another of those crappy boring books! totally nothing of interest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind (Paperback)
This is the first review I write and the only reason I am doing so, is in the hope of not letting people make the same mistake I did. Sadly, this book was a waste of my time and money. There is absolutely no new information. The only astonishing thing about it is that someone actually spent time doing questionable research on luck and then claimed to have discovered what makes lucky people being lucky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind
The Luck Factor: The Scientific Study of the Lucky Mind by Richard Wiseman (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews