Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Dale For An Enjoyable Read!
Thanks Dale for an excellent book. I felt it very heartwarming and very emmotional to read. I spent most of the time reading a chapter and then having alittle cry. I wish authors could write a book which was so moving. But also there was alot of humour in the book. I also felt that as you were reading it, Dale was telling you the story as if he was in the same room...
Published on 25 Mar 2003 by amandanewton

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dale shows his private side (sort of)
As a great reader of biography, I thought that any book written by Dale Winton would be larger-than-life and deeply camp, much like the man himself. However that wasn't really the case.
While this book gives the reader an insight into his difficult early years (parents' divorce, mother's illness and death), it quickly turned into a luvvie-fest where everyone Dale...
Published on 10 Oct 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Dale For An Enjoyable Read!, 25 Mar 2003
This review is from: Dale: My Story (Hardcover)
Thanks Dale for an excellent book. I felt it very heartwarming and very emmotional to read. I spent most of the time reading a chapter and then having alittle cry. I wish authors could write a book which was so moving. But also there was alot of humour in the book. I also felt that as you were reading it, Dale was telling you the story as if he was in the same room as you. I recommend this book to anyone, young or old. I have been a fan of Dale's for a few years now and I was so glad to have read a facinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, honest and fun - an excellent buy, 28 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dale: My Story (Hardcover)
This is a great story. Dale is an excellent TV entertainer who always seems so full of life and happy. I was therfore surprised to read about the tragedies in his life, but full of admiration for the way that he has risen above them all and worked hard to get where he is today.
In this book you really get to see the real Dale. He comes across as a very honest and genuine man, but it's all written in a way that lets you know that he has still kept his sense of fun and humour. The book reads as if Dale was telling you his story himself - you can really hear his voice - which makes the funny stories all the more hilarious!
The pictures in the book are worth the money themselves - lovely pictures of Dale as a young boy, with the mother he adored (a beautiful woman who committed suicide when he was 21, the story of how he found her is a part of the book that is so sensitively written it brought tears to my eyes), and pictures of him when he was overweight and you can't tell it's him.
This would make a lovely present, but is also a brilliant book to buy yourself - perfect to curl up with on the sofa on a cold winters day. It's one of the best showbusiness autobiographies I've read in ages. Thank you Dale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Story (Paperback)
Book delivered in good time and was in very good codition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dale: My Story (Hardcover)
its amazing!! 5****** I love dale winton is the best man in the world. big kiss amazing book!!
xxxx. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and fast service book in very good condition, 22 Nov 2013
By 
P. Cartwright "dicky" (montmoreau france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Story (Paperback)
very pleased with your service, the book arrived well within time all the way -to France.
Would recommend you to all.
Richard in France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dale Winton, 19 Mar 2013
By 
J. McAuley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dale: My Story (Hardcover)
I bought this for my mother, who is a big Dale fan. She said it was well written and interesting,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dale shows his private side (sort of), 10 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dale: My Story (Hardcover)
As a great reader of biography, I thought that any book written by Dale Winton would be larger-than-life and deeply camp, much like the man himself. However that wasn't really the case.
While this book gives the reader an insight into his difficult early years (parents' divorce, mother's illness and death), it quickly turned into a luvvie-fest where everyone Dale met became a 'dear friend'. While I can imagine this being the case, as Dale comes across as a friendly sort of guy, after a while in the book it gets a bit gushing and insincere. He glosses over the negative bits of his career, for example when he switched agents who were also 'great friends' when he hit the big time. Very little space is devoted to this - instead he prefers to tell us how wonderful his new agent is.
Of course, many of us want the answer to the 'is he gay' question, which Dale gives us in the very last chapter. Without letting on what he tells us, there are few surprises in store.
All in all this is the sort of lightweight book that will while away a few hours on a plane or on the beach, but it's not an in-depth autobiography and there are no big surprises. Dale comes across as a rather shallow, insecure, camp 'luvvie' - nothing more and nothing less than we expected based on his tv persona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Story
My Story by Dale Winton (Paperback - 7 Aug 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews