Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written book
Candace Robb's Owen Archer Mystery series is a treat which should not be missed by readers who are fond of fiction set in mediaeval times. She has produced another gripping story in 'A Gift of Sanctuary' - sixth book in her Owen Archer Mystery series. (Till date the eight titles published in the series are; The Apothecary Rose, The Lady Chapel, The Nun's Tale, The King's...
Published on 2 May 2004 by Param Jit Mann

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as enjoyable as earlier ones in the series
I didn't enjoy this as much as the earlier Owen Archer novels, I think probably because it did not feature the usual York characters and settings. None of the SW Wales characters really grabbed me and this was rather a chore.
Published on 16 Dec 2006 by John Hopper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written book, 2 May 2004
This review is from: A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
Candace Robb's Owen Archer Mystery series is a treat which should not be missed by readers who are fond of fiction set in mediaeval times. She has produced another gripping story in 'A Gift of Sanctuary' - sixth book in her Owen Archer Mystery series. (Till date the eight titles published in the series are; The Apothecary Rose, The Lady Chapel, The Nun's Tale, The King's Bishop, The Riddle of St. Leonard's, A Gift of Sanctuary, A Spy for the Redeemer and The Cross-legged Knight.)
Owen Archer, one eyed ex-soldier and part time spy in the 14th century England, accompanies a pilgrimage to the city of St.David's. Accompanied by Geoffrey Chaucer, he is to recruit archers for the Duke of Lancaster. His hidden agenda is to ascertain the loyalty of Duke's steward at Cydweli. Candace Robb weaves the story well. Right from the beginning one gets involved in the characters and their struggles. Owen's self-doubt about his own loyalties as he returns to his homeland - Wales. Sir Robert and Brother Michaelo's inner journey into their past, their regrets and repentance. Chaucer's forays into poetry. And all this successfully knitted into a tight tale of murder, suspense and politics backed by excellent research in the time period by the author. Though a reader like me who does not have any previous knowledge of the Welsh history gets a little lost in the maze of Welsh names and historical references, it does not detract heavily from the overall satisfaction of a reading a well written book. Lovers of this genre may like to check out 'Chronicles of Brother Cadfael' by Ellis Peters and the master piece of this genre, Umberto Eco's 'The Name of the Rose'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as enjoyable as earlier ones in the series, 16 Dec 2006
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
I didn't enjoy this as much as the earlier Owen Archer novels, I think probably because it did not feature the usual York characters and settings. None of the SW Wales characters really grabbed me and this was rather a chore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift of a Good Book, 29 Nov 2004
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
Spring 1369, Owen Archer, one-time soldier and spy is out recruiting archers for the Duke of Lancaster, but he is also on a mission to find out whether the Duke's own steward is betraying him to the Welsh rebels. Trouble goes before them and a body in the Duke's livery is left at the city gates.
All of Candace Robb's novels have great appeal to those interested in the medieval period and this one is no exception. Owen Archer is a believable hero and the area of York in which he lived is not too far from my own home which lends a extra dimension to the novels from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing and difficult to follow., 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This Owen Archer mystery is set in Wales. Intriguing as that sounds, Owen Archer is without his principle cast of family and friends, namely, Lucie Wilton, Magda Digby, Archbishop Thoresby, Bess and Jasper de Melton. Alone with Sir Robert and Brother Michaelo, he returns to his homeland for a pilgrimage and to recruit archers for his King. He does an admirable job with the characters he has to work with, but this book does not have the same feel of the previous mysteries. If one cares more for reading a history of Wales than of a thrilling mystery, it is a good book. If the reverse is true, I found it disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The only disappointing Owen Archer book, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
I found this book very difficult to follow, mainly on account of the greater references to Welsh and English political figures and the history of the tension between England and Wales. Keeping track of all the Welsh names was a chore. Candace Robb's books work best when they avoid the national politics of the day and concentrate on the York characters: I missed Lucie, Jasper, Thoresby, Magda and Bess - and of course the streets of York which I know well. Taking Owen and transplanting him to another place, even if it is the land of his birth, did not work at all for me. It is not often that I give up on a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Candace Robb's writing never fails to please, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story woven around life in the life of a spy and an apothecaries apprentice in mediaeval times, is both entertaining and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Owen Archer on a pilgrimage., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different setting for Owen as he goes with his father in law to Wales. Intrigue and mystery follow him. Superb historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift of a Good Book, 13 May 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Spring 1369, Owen Archer, one-time soldier and spy is out recruiting archers for the Duke of Lancaster, but he is also on a mission to find out whether the Duke's own steward is betraying him to the Welsh rebels. Trouble goes before them and a body in the Duke's livery is left at the city gates.

All of Candace Robb's novels have great appeal to those interested in the medieval period and this one is no exception. Owen Archer is a believable hero and the area of York in which he lived is not too far from my own home which lends an extra dimension to the novels for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Mayhem at its best, 4 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) (Paperback)
This is the sixth novel in a series featuring mediaeval sleuth Owen Archer. This episode takes Owen home to Wales away from the York setting readers are used to. Owen is employed by the Archbishop of York, was once Captain of Archers to the former Duke of Lancaster. He is now on a commission for the present Duke of Lancaster, John of Gaunt, to recruit archers for the army of King Edward III. Along with Geoffrey Chaucer, Owen has a mission to investigate an accusation of treason made against one of Gaunt's stewards. Murder and attempted murder, and the detection of murderers abound through every page of this book as usual. Robb's books deliver a rollicking good read and a good dose of historical realism. Look forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery)
A Gift Of Sanctuary (Owen Archer Mystery) by Candace Robb (Paperback - 1 April 1999)
7.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews