Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloak Of Deception by James Luceno
THE STORY:
A prelude to 'The Phantom Menace', this book sets the film up as well as 'Shadows Of The Empire' did for 'Return Of The Jedi'. There are countless plotlines that flow through the book including Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan's hunt for a pirate leader, the Trade Federation's scheming, Senator Palpatine's political maneuvering and the terrorist actions of the Nebula...
Published on 18 Dec. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The titular "bad" guys were more idiots than actually bad. Sidious/Palpatine was as slimy
Well written but dry story with very little engagement. None of the characters were sympathetic for me. I didn't cheer for the heroes or boo the villains. The titular "bad" guys were more idiots than actually bad. Sidious/Palpatine was as slimy, malicious and manipulative as ever. Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan were more cardboard cutout representations of their cinematic...
Published 2 months ago by Mo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloak Of Deception by James Luceno, 18 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
THE STORY:
A prelude to 'The Phantom Menace', this book sets the film up as well as 'Shadows Of The Empire' did for 'Return Of The Jedi'. There are countless plotlines that flow through the book including Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan's hunt for a pirate leader, the Trade Federation's scheming, Senator Palpatine's political maneuvering and the terrorist actions of the Nebula Front. It all culminates in a surprising finale on Eriadu.
THE LIGHT SIDE:
Although some may be overwhelmed by the political intrigues of this book, I found it to a brave and intelligent approach to the prequel era story. It's well written and evenly places action amid the intrigue. The best thing about this book is the way in which Luceno weaves it into the Star Wars mythos, with cameos from earlier novels as well as the new prequel era ones and a clever elaboration of things merely mentioned in Episode I. Also, there's some hints as to the contents of Episode II...
THE DARK SIDE:
The only real downside is that we all know how some of the plotlines are going to end, because of 'The Phantom Menace'.
CAMEOS:
Vergere, Jorus C'baoth, Hath Monchar, Luminara Unduli, Wilhuff Tarkin, Sate Pestage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Politics Wars, 29 Oct. 2002
This book basically covers the events that take place during the apprenticeship period of Obi Wan. It is a good book about the political problems in the star system. I think it would be very good if we can see this as pre-Episode I in the cinemas. The book is linked to Episode I with a short conclusion part. If you want to learn more about the Star System, Trade Federation, Jedi Council and Star Wars politics, then I definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: Cloak of Deception, 19 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This book is really enlightening, because it explores the master-padawan relationship between Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon, also it reveals an awful lot about the events leading up to the blockade of Naboo. You can see exactly how Senator Palpatine plays everyone to put himself where he wants to be to become the Emperor! it is a must buy for anyone who likes Star Wars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative Star Wars experience, 4 May 2009
This review is from: Star Wars: Cloak of Deception (Paperback)
Interesting, inventive, energetic, the story revolves around fast packed action and shady political discussions. If you want more than just the basic films, Cloak of Deception is a great way to expand on the Phantom Menace, such as the trade federation's rise of power, the Republics downfall, and a Sith lord's ultimate plan which leads to the rise (or fall, depending on your view) of Darth Vader.
If you're looking for an easy read, this is not the book your looking for, the author pulls no punches when it comes to creative and complex word choice, but that's what adds to the ultimate Star wars atmosphere all fans love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to the Star Wars mythos., 22 Sept. 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Cloak of Deception (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Just before the events of Episode I, various plots are afoot as the Sith Lord Darth Sidious manipulates the Trade Federation, Senator Palpatine begins manoeuvering for political power and the Nebula Front terrorist begin attacking the Federation and Republic alike. As these events trouble the galaxy Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi pursue a wily and dangerous pirate called Arwen Cohl, against the advice of the Jedi Council.
WHAT'S GOOD:
This book has so much going for it! The story is a good combination of galactic politics and lightsaber-swinging action and would stand well alone. However, Luceno employs his remarkable ability to weave the threads of the Star Wars franchise together into a beatifully crafted...er...blanket? This book is crammed full of subtle cameos but at no point do they feel intrusive. Here's just a few of the characters to look out for; Vergere (from the New Jedi Order series), Jorus C'baoth (the guy whose evil clone is the villain in Timothy Zahn's classic Thrawn trilogy), Luminara Unduli (one of the Jedi from Episode II), Hath Monchar, Darsha Assant and Anoon Bondara (all featured in 'Darth Maul - Shadow Hunter'), as well as Palpatine's aides Sate Pestage (from the X-Wing comics) and Kinman Doriana (another Tim Zahn character). There's a great many more for fans to spot too, as well as a bit more background to just about every character featured in 'The Phantom Menace' (except for those irritating gits Jar Jar and Anakin).
WHAT'S BAD:
There wasn't anything that stood out as being bad about this book and it's certainly the best novel in the prequel era so far.
Buy it, read it and get the full story behind 'The Phantom Menace'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qui Gon, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favorite Jedi Masters, very happy to find a book where i can read up on his other exploits, just started it and so far its very impressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars James Luceno is one brilliant writer!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Cloak of Deception (Paperback)
Cloak of Deception is a Star Wars novel by James Luceno, but it isn't like many other novels in the vast series. If you've read works by the likes of Joe Schreiber and Drew Karpyshyn, you'll be used to a lot of action in your Star Wars novels. Luceno provides sufficient action, but Cloak of Deception is largely a political thriller. Therefore, if the thought of senate scandals and tax controversies interest you, by all means purchase this novel; but if that very thought puts you to sleep, I'd avoid it and get a more fast-paced novel.

On the whole though, I really enjoyed it and I wouldn't think twice before getting another of Luceno's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explaining, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Rowin Klerks (Tilburg, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before i bought this book i was really looking forward to it. episode 1 starts off in a really weird way if you ask me. This book explains it a bit which is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The titular "bad" guys were more idiots than actually bad. Sidious/Palpatine was as slimy, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written but dry story with very little engagement. None of the characters were sympathetic for me. I didn't cheer for the heroes or boo the villains. The titular "bad" guys were more idiots than actually bad. Sidious/Palpatine was as slimy, malicious and manipulative as ever. Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan were more cardboard cutout representations of their cinematic selves, along to say appropriate quotes and go through the motions. All in all, disappointing and left with a feeling of "is that it?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Luceno, force with him it is!, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Cloak of Deception (Paperback)
I've Read four of James Luceno's Star Wars Novels and they are well worth their weight in gold! It focuses on pre Phantom Menace , explains how Nute Gunray meets Palpatine and convinces his peers to trust him and the sith lord, the one off characters are great and add fun and excitement. BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Cloak of Deception
Star Wars: Cloak of Deception by James Luceno (Paperback - 4 July 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews