Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Story of Hope and Courage
Colin Powell's Autobiography is an astonishing portrayal of a life of war, peace, laughter and, at times, sadness. Powell, the current US Secretary of State, recalls his memories of working within both the American political and military systems, culminating in his rise from a child of Harlem to becoming the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.
Whether recalling...
Published on 9 Sep 2002 by MR ROBERT P FOOT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A star too many.
It's not that I don't like this book it's just I didn't want to give 3 stars, which seems to me to be over egging the cake somewhat. 2 stars is too few and 3 stars is too many, I think it is time Amazon let people use half stars, as 2 and a half would be my preferred rating. The fact that I read 4 other books in the time it took to read this one just about says it all...
Published 3 months ago by Adbeast


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Story of Hope and Courage, 9 Sep 2002
By 
MR ROBERT P FOOT (Hayes, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Colin Powell's Autobiography is an astonishing portrayal of a life of war, peace, laughter and, at times, sadness. Powell, the current US Secretary of State, recalls his memories of working within both the American political and military systems, culminating in his rise from a child of Harlem to becoming the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.
Whether recalling his childhood, his strong belief in family, or his time fighting in the Vietnam war, Powell's writing demonstrates dignity, charisma and courage. Jumping back and forth from political to military positions, Powell is perhaps best remembered for his role in the 1990 Gulf War as the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs. His recollections of this time underline a man of incredible restraint and pragmatism and it is almost as though you have gained access to classified information, so little is held back.
On the whole, Powell writes in a particularly open and readable way and his anecdotes, at times amusing and at other times devastating, are not only entertaining but also effective in offering an insight into the workings of international relations. Occasionally the book does get somewhat bogged down in both political and military detail however it is difficult to see how this could have been avoided.
Upon reading this Autobiography it is obvious why Colin Powell commands such respect in the US and across the world. In an age of American intervention across various regions of the globe, my own confidence in the George W. Bush administration, within which Powell is currently so pivotal, was certainly boosted by the reading of this book. If you have any remote interest in the politics of the world today read 'A Soldier's Way' now for its insight, intelligence and ultimately hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, 19 Oct 2008
By 
P. Butler "Book Muncher" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Much better than I expected. I'm not usually one for political biographies, but this was the exception. Colin Powell is a soldier at heart, but he did reluctanly spend years involved in Washington politics. What could have been very dry, was told in a very human and interesting way. He comes across as a very nice man. What was surprising was that he taught Sunday school, and had a passion for rebuilding old Volvo cars!

The discriptions of how to manage people and situations were inspiring.

I recommend this book to anyone interested in human nature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best autobiographies of all time, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Richard Barnes (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I really like this book. I re-read bits of it frequently. The descriptions of the early years of the Vietnam war are particularly immediate and atmospheric. It also opens a window on how the Pentagon and the U.S. Army work as Powell's career criss-crosses between them. The book as a whole tells of a great, action packed life and career with wit and easy grace - probably just like General Powell in person. No wonder he is one of the most respected Americans of modern times. He battled from humble beginnings and against thoughtless racism to reach the very top of America's armed forces as Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Before that he had been the last of President Reagan's National Security Advisors. After the publication of this book, he went on to become Secretary of State.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A star too many., 9 May 2014
It's not that I don't like this book it's just I didn't want to give 3 stars, which seems to me to be over egging the cake somewhat. 2 stars is too few and 3 stars is too many, I think it is time Amazon let people use half stars, as 2 and a half would be my preferred rating. The fact that I read 4 other books in the time it took to read this one just about says it all really.

I have had an obsession with all things military for well over 30 years and I have amassed a large collection of writings by histories top commanders. So when given a chance to delve into the life of one of Americas finest i snapped it up! But that is where the fun stops. Colin Powell was one of the public faces and chief architects of Operation Desert Storm and I was hoping for some insight into what went on behind closed doors. I was waiting for him to dangle some tasty carrots to impart some information that might not be common knowledge, But apart from some interesting insights into his career and life, there was, sadly, very little to interest the serious military reader.

I think the time has come to avoid anymore such books as they seldom say anything of any value or use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great and relevant stuff, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography (Paperback)
relevant content, i love Colin Powell, and i believe this book will serve as a great piece for those seeking historic leadership to follow, with a military touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography (Paperback)
This book is absolutely amazing, and worth every penny. It is the first time I could not put a book down, every single page is exciting, interesting. General Powell is trully an amzing man and fantastic role model, I strongly recommend this book to everyone, as I say well worth a read and worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography
A Soldier's Way: An Autobiography by Joseph E Persico (Paperback - 1 Nov 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews