Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical
Stumbled across this fantastic book whilst undertaking a task prior to commencing a teacher-training course. I borrowed it from the library, but have had to buy my own copy. It is fabulous! I am still trying to find the royal families on each page. I can't wait to take it into a classroom and share it will hoardes of children. My only regret is that both my own...
Published on 24 Aug. 2009 by S. McNeice

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
I was actually a bit disappointed with this book. It is large illustrations of fantasy castles, along with short text descriptions. Its main failing is that the illustrations aren't that brilliant - they're not bad, but there is something a bit amateurish about them - you can see they have been created (or modified) in Photoshop. I have seen other illustrations by the...
Published on 4 Feb. 2011 by JamesJohnson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
S. McNeice - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castles (Paperback)
Stumbled across this fantastic book whilst undertaking a task prior to commencing a teacher-training course. I borrowed it from the library, but have had to buy my own copy. It is fabulous! I am still trying to find the royal families on each page. I can't wait to take it into a classroom and share it will hoardes of children. My only regret is that both my own children, although impressed with this book, were too old (15 and 18) to show that awe and wonder that is particular to younger children when confronted with something as fantastical as this book. All little princes and princesses should have a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Castles (Paperback)
I was actually a bit disappointed with this book. It is large illustrations of fantasy castles, along with short text descriptions. Its main failing is that the illustrations aren't that brilliant - they're not bad, but there is something a bit amateurish about them - you can see they have been created (or modified) in Photoshop. I have seen other illustrations by the same author that are pen and ink/watercolor and they are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This book is fantastic, Miss", 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. Janice Clare Womphrey "Womphas" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castles (Paperback)
I bought this book to use with my Year 4 class of children during the Literacy unit 'Stories set in Imaginary Worlds'. It was a huge success! THe illustrations are so thought provoking that the quality of the children's writing was excellent. A good way to engage those reluctant readers and writers too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing images, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castles (Paperback)
Amazing images that i loved. Imaginative and bold. My vlass were really inspired by the castles in literacy and art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love Colin Thompson books, shame this one was a bit spoilt., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castles (Paperback)
I knew this was second hand but my son was a bit upset there were some scribbles on a couple pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castles
Castles by Colin Thompson (Paperback - 2 Nov. 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews