Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heady
A very heady and intense book. It overpowers you and wraps you within the needy and vicelike read of the narrator's psyche.

If you have loved and lost, or are falling in love, it is bittersweet and heartrending, and at once soothes your pain and inflames it with fresh, emergent reminders of the incoherence of emotion.

It is a very self-indulgent read...
Published 22 months ago by marksparks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Recommended reading for uni courses - if you are into this sort of thing
Published 4 months ago by K. Baines


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heady, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A very heady and intense book. It overpowers you and wraps you within the needy and vicelike read of the narrator's psyche.

If you have loved and lost, or are falling in love, it is bittersweet and heartrending, and at once soothes your pain and inflames it with fresh, emergent reminders of the incoherence of emotion.

It is a very self-indulgent read - and not in a bad way. Something to read on your own, in private, and to take meaningful pauses at every other sentence or so to wonder about your own life and memories...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love's bewilderment and intellectualization,, 13 July 2012
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Love never ceases to be defined, analyzed, intellectualized, talked about and written about. Why? Because it is one of the greatest drives and sources of inspiration.
In A Lover's Discourse, Roland Barthes dissects and studies love in many various fragments. it is mostly the pains of love, the infatuation, the jealousy, the martyrdom, the suffering, the obsession and the elevation of the beloved that he takes up with an almost scientific detachment.
The reader will recognize very well love's different aspects and mechanisms.

Joyce Akesson, author of Majnun Leyla: Poems about Passion, The Invitation and Love's Thrilling Dimensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally captivating, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
The definitive deconstruction of love. Every nuance of emotion, every detail of the painful process of falling in, being in, and letting go of love is covered. Beguiling in its simplicity this is a perfect way of dissecting every bewildering moment that being human means - after all, we have all fallen in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barthes at his most playful and accessible?, 25 Mar. 2015
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This is perhaps Barthes at his most playful as he anatomises the textuality of love. Love, he asserts, is articulated, expressed and performed via a series of 'codes' or an 'image repertoire' - and his analysis takes in not just the individual and the personal (noted by initials in the margins) but the universal and general as depicted in narratives from Plato to Lacan via Goethe, Balzac and Proust, to name just a few.

Despite the mischievous postmoderness, this is also very good on the cruel deceptions of our self-told love stories and is perhaps Barthes at his most human and accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Experience, 6 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This book was fabulous, and it has changed me in a way few, if any, other books ever have. Barthes' insight is eerie sometimes, as you find yourself reading a passage and thinking, "How did he know exactly the way I feel?" The style is a bit unusual, and some people may find it difficult, but the sheer weight of his observations can't help but touch you. I recommend it to anyone who ever has been in love or has been loved - after reading it, you will never be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
K. Baines (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Recommended reading for uni courses - if you are into this sort of thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It deserves..., 29 April 2003
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
As a learner of Semiotics, my attention was attacted by Barthes.R.
Among the books written by him, such as Mythology, A Lover's Discourse, Semiotics, Critics and Truth and so on, this one is quite unique in representing his theoretical ideas on Cultural study and Linguistics.
Apart from the insightful feeling and analysis he makes, one could know more as involved in love.
Enjoy yourself with these worthful lines!
I bet u'll consider that it deserves~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad quality paper and printing for this essential text, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I sent back the book because the quality of the paper and printing were very bad, but try to find a good edition not too expensive because this book is essential to have as a reference all along your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you love your semiotic jargon..., 4 Aug. 2009
This review is from: A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I once read this book a few years back. I remember then thinking that it was a very witty and cynically refined book full of kind-of interesting observations. I would guffaw at it with the self-satisfaction that comes with studying 1st year art history. I was accustomed to the jargon of semiotics and postmodernism at that stage so I could follow the thrust of Barthes' "logic".

I bought this book last week for a lady friend, and thought I would quickly flick through it again to see what it was all about as I'd largely forgotten. It's pretty awful... The references, if not Goethe, are to obsolete films or pappy music hall... so what ? Of course it's easy to criticise - it's light entertainment. There isn't a line that goes by without painful discussion of the "signifier", to the extent that you realise that at base, postmodern jargon is comprised of euphemisms for nonsense.

A joyless, thankless, vacuous read. Buying this as a present for a loved-one is like bringing a charcuterie to a bar mitzvah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics)
A Lover's Discourse (Vintage Classics) by Roland Barthes (Paperback - 4 July 2002)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews