Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honesty
It is very easy to come back from your travels and boast about your explorations - not Jonny Bealby. He has written a travel account that is both refreshingly honest and humourous throughout. Bealby sets off on a discovery of a forgotten tribe, a journey from the plains of Northern India through Pakistan and the mountains of Afghanistan. Always humbled by the resolve and...
Published on 17 Jan. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars hard going
I though for me it never realey got going,i kept waiting for the journey to realy start but the story kept geting boged down with to much detail of this or that, and this detracted from the overall story.Does not compair WITH RUNNING WITH THE MOON.
Published on 4 Nov. 2011 by red 5


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honesty, 17 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
It is very easy to come back from your travels and boast about your explorations - not Jonny Bealby. He has written a travel account that is both refreshingly honest and humourous throughout. Bealby sets off on a discovery of a forgotten tribe, a journey from the plains of Northern India through Pakistan and the mountains of Afghanistan. Always humbled by the resolve and hospitality of the people he meets on the way and never patronising, it's a joy to be part of the expedition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sad, illuminating and uplifting, this is a cracker., 27 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
Alarmingly naive at first, but growing more wily by the day, Jonny Bealby nevertheless demonstrates grit to match that of his fictional heroes on this sometimes pretty hairy pilgrimage to the pagan hills of Afghanistan. Since the events of September 11th, the fact that this eminently well written account offers considerable insights into the sociology of the area is an added bonus, but what really makes this an unforgettable read is the poignant personal backdrop, for details of which you will also need to read his first book, "Running With The Moon". If there is a single drop of traveller's blood in your veins, or if you have ever really been in love, you will find delight and heartfelt grief in the pages of this book. Don't be alarmed however, by the mention of grief. To temper the sadness, events in the final few pages will make you weep with quiet joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishingly Good Book, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
Dr. H. Kara (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
I loved all three of Jonny Bealby's travel books: the predecessor to this one, Running With The Moon, and its successor, Silk Dreams, Troubled Road. So I have given them all five stars - but I kind of wish I could give this one five and a half. If you only want to read one of his three books, I'd say choose For A Pagan Song.

The countryside, the characters, the politics and the adventures recounted here are riveting. Jonny Bealby is as honest as anyone could be about how his own personality affects his relationships with his travelling companions and the people they meet along the way. He offers fascinating insights into cultures that are very different from our own. What's more, he is a terrific writer. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Privilege, 14 April 2010
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
I had the great privilege of being in New Delhi when Jonny was in town and the even greater pleasure of meeting and interacting with him through mutual friends.
The book is a joy, the man is a joy and overall an inspiration for to think and live differently without taking life and your environment for granted.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Read it, you will be pleased you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for travellers, 17 Mar. 2012
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
An honest account of the hopes and fears, the triumphs and disasters of travelling through the world's little known lands - the mountain passes and villages of northern Afghanistan and Pakistan. The journey, inspired by Rudyard Kipling's 'The Man Who Would be King', follows in the footsteps of its intrepid heroes. Fortunately Jonny's story has a happier ending. If you have a sense of adventure or simply want to learn more about the world and it's people, this eminently readable book is for you.

My own journey through Afghanistan was many, many years ago in more peaceful times and was considerably tamer than Jonny's but his account made me wish I was as intrepid, as brave and as mad as he is, to see what he saw for myself. But instead I'll be content with his vivid account. At the end of the book Jonny queries whether he can really be considered a writer. My answer is a resounding "Yes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great journey with Bealby, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good story of travel to a remote area. The insight into travel in Afghanistan during that period was very interesting. I like the way Jonny Bealby allows the reader access to his personal thoughts and feelings, giving the whole story a real human factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars hard going, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
I though for me it never realey got going,i kept waiting for the journey to realy start but the story kept geting boged down with to much detail of this or that, and this detracted from the overall story.Does not compair WITH RUNNING WITH THE MOON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read by an author who speaks from the heart. It's just a pity that the Kindle version omits the maps which show the route Jonny took.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not a real page turner, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
This is an interesting story of Jonny Bealby's trip across the more remote areas of Afghanistan. It was an interesting read but never really drew me in. If you want to read one of Jonny's books I recommend 'Running with the Moon' which was an excellent story which I couldn't put down and easily a 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
This review is from: For A Pagan Song: In the Footsteps of the Man Who Would Be King - Travels in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan (Paperback)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews