Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars78
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
A very interesting read. The former DG of MI5 dispels the often held myths of one of the Secret State's intelligence services. Stella Rimington clearly had a successful career but not without sacrifice. Her story is, in part, one of a women overcoming the odds and cutting through sexists barriers to make it to the top.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I have almost finished reading it and found it a wonderful insight into the murky world of spying and counter spying. I did tend to be a bit confused with so many foreign names and also trying to remember what all the abbreviations stood for. Having said that I really enjoyed the book. I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
A brilliant book - sufficiently instructive for the hoi polloi on MI5 and showing how difficult it must have been to pioneer the woman's path in that institution. Beautifully descriptive about the family life - with warmth and humility - and altogether an excellent piece of literature. A wonderful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Not that I expected it to be. I found it a very honest and personal explanation of the struggles both personally and professionally that Stella would of had to go through. I would imagine it's been a very interesting journey. I have also greatly enjoyed her fiction writing. Keep up the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
I purchased this book for my teenage daughter Who is 14 and curious as to what the real life 'M' actually does day to day for home security and will probably read it too! It makes a fabulous change from all the vampire rubbish aimed at the teenagers these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2001
It was interesting to see some disappointed readers who expected her to reveal all about MI5's workings. They probably forgot, it is an autobiography, not an industry commentary. Her life is varied, as wife, mother, top spy and a woman. She has a simple style of story telling and she does it with self-deprecating humour at times. Those of you, who werent lucky enough to hear her speak at the IOD evening talk in Henley, will have to suffice with the impression they form of her from the book - not from having met her in person and not from having heard her views on serious issues. She was one of the champions of openness at MI5 - a key issue facing secret services in a democracy. Her fight with the Govt for her book was in that direction and not as how the Amazon review on top (prior to Synopsis) suggests! All in all I think it is an interesting book, inspiring, always matter-of-fact just as you find her when you meet her in person. You will have to leave behind your juvenile impressions about Bond and your fascination with Le Carre's flights of fancy, if you want to enjoy this book about a bright woman's life, just less ordinary.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Stella Rimington's personal story still leaves a tantalising amount to the imagination: as clear and crisp as all her writing, but curiously lacking in emotion. Maybe that was a way of life and being that she cannot leave behind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
My general feeling is one of a down to earth career lady going about the practicalities of working in and running a large organisation as well as dealing with the conflicting difficulties of balancing work and home commitments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
I found the book a great read. Not only the insight into a tremendous career in MI5 but the tenacity and strength of character of someone who firmly believes in what she is doing. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Stella Rimmintgon is a good writer and I have immensely enjoyed her novels
but I found this book more about history of the MI5 than her personal life which
I would have preferred to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)