Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not into WW2 stuff
I bought this book for my husband as he has an avid interest in the wars. He became engrossed and encouraged me to read it. I am glad I did. I clearly didn't read it as closely as the reader who commented on the editing; which is probably just as well because it may have spolit my enjoyment of what I consider to be a well written book. Just enough sentiment; just...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by Mad Muvva

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not as good as Burning Blue
Alright, but it did have some major editing faults (characters changing names ... for example Chuck Cartwright became Buck for a few pages then finally Chuck O'Neill) which did destroy my sense of story. I did report the problems to the publisher but have heard nothing yet. The plot did hold my attention and I enjoyed the flying scenes but it wasn't as good as Burning...
Published on 26 April 2006 by Alan J. Penhall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not into WW2 stuff, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Mad Muvva (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband as he has an avid interest in the wars. He became engrossed and encouraged me to read it. I am glad I did. I clearly didn't read it as closely as the reader who commented on the editing; which is probably just as well because it may have spolit my enjoyment of what I consider to be a well written book. Just enough sentiment; just enough description; just enough love; just enough gore; just enough history. Beautiful and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 30 April 2006
By 
Russell Irvine (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Hardcover)
I didn't think any book could better The Burning Blue by the same author but this has by a very wide margin. The historical accuracy and characterisation is amazing. I thought historians were supposed to be boring. Not in this case.

Where in The Burning Blue I liked and cared for the main characters, I loved them in this book and shed real tears on their behalf. I now feel a deep sense of loss at having parted company. What am I to do? I plan to read the author's other novels as quick as I can but beg him to write more soon.

Please, please, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me flying, 16 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Hardcover)
A great read,once in a while a good read comes along after which
you cant pick up another book to read that comes close,this is one of those.
Starting in the present you jump back and forth to WW2 normally
I cant stand this but it works fine in this novel.
I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotive and thought-provoking, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing depth of knowledge and writing skill.
The then and now flitting back and forth keeps the mind perfectly engaged to the subject matter.
Brings home the sacrifice that many made for our freedom, and the profound effect the experience had on them.
I challenge this not to affect you in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pair of silver wings, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good story good plot well paced couldnt put it down never sure where it was going next , look forward to the next james holland book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story - not just about flying, 2 Nov 2007
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this one - bags of flying action particularly over Malta and a love story to boot. It just shows that people can be affected by war in different ways - the main character here is just a lad who went to war and fought not just over Malta but with the partisans in Italy - and although he would never admit it, was scarred for life - and its takes 50 years to try and come to terms with it.
The flying action is excellent you could almost taste the dust on the airfields in Malta and the scale and desperatin of the struggle to survive
The brutality of the war in Italy is also brough to life and the happiness and horror he experiences
Well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Paperback)
A superb read. So well crafted to the point I felt I was living the story. It makes one think of the extraordinary impact that the War had on so many lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enchanting and very different book that starts slow but changes pace and drama several times. If you have any connection with wartime fighter pilots and the war in Malta and Italy this is a must read. It is written with tenderness and vitality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: A Pair of Silver Wings (Paperback)
A good read. Very moving. Distressing. Puts you firmly in the war years of the 1940s. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really didn't like Edward Enderby at first, I found him rather cold and distant, just as the author wanted I suppose. As the book goes on and you read Edwards story though you can see why he was like he was. Brilliantly drawn characters, locations and great story telling. You don't have to be interested in military books to enjoy this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pair of Silver Wings
A Pair of Silver Wings by James Holland (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews