Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
Vintage stuff is one of my favourite Tom Sharpe books and the superb reading by Stephen Fry does it full justice. The central comic situation revolves around the two main characters. One is a man who yearns for adventures in the manner of John Buchan or Bulldog Drummond. The other is a boy who prefers his heroes to come from the pages of an Ian Fleming or Frederick...
Published 15 months ago by matt1971

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Sharpe's best
Tom Sharpe is always violently funny, bawdy, rude beyond expectation and totally un-politically correct. This book follows that pattern precisely.

It tells the story of the rivalry between two masters at a below par public school. One obsessed by old fashioned adventure stories and the other obsessed with getting revenge on his rival. Throw in a stupid school...
Published on 7 Mar. 2009 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A great giggle, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
This book hand me laughing all the way through, Mr Sharpe really had a large imagination, I will be purchasing more of his books shortly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mbknees, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Classic Sharpe humour. Very complicated plots where everything goes wrong all the time, but ends up OK in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage stuff, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Not one of his best. Still a good read where you wanted to see the outcome compared tour prediction. Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Sharpe-Vintage Stuff, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Yes, good vintage Sharpe. Thoroughly enjoyed it I look forward to the next release, as ever. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Suzan Hutchinson (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Read the Tom Sharpe books years ago, now on my kindle...........still wonderfully funny and a joy to read.
I'm now reading all the others in the collection. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars French farce, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
An average Tom Sharpe, normally I am restricted in how many pages I can read, constantly wiping the tears from eye's, but not in this case. There are a few laughs but not as many as the Wilt books. It is still a pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's mad, totally mad; English Public School demolished., 14 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
This book starts slowly, and gradually builds up to a manic head of hilarious steam. I laughed so much I ached. This is less incisive than his novels of Apartheid South Africa, but this time his targets are the idiots who inhabit English Public Schools and end up running our country. Or is it the ludicrous system itself? It's a madcap romp as teacher Glodstone and his idiot homicidal pupil set out to save a French damsel in distress, leaving a trail of surreal destruction in their wake. One of Sharpe's less recognised books, but in my opinion it's his funniest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not Vintage, corked and dated, 1 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
This was a very boring an unfunny caper. I recommend Dickens "The Pickwick Papers" and "The World of Jeeves" by P.G. Wodehouse if you want something really funny to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another belting book, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
A. Ibbetson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
This is a cracking read by a brilliant author. I`m working my way through his list. Most enjoyable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite vintage, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
This was the worst Tom Sharpe book that i have read, it never seemed to get going at all. I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vintage Stuff
Vintage Stuff by Tom Sharpe (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews