Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh proves himself a world-class talent.
I've read Trainspotting, and Ecstasy and bits of Acid House, and loved the author's work from day one; but when I read Nightmares, I was awestruck. Welsh's talent is amazing. The sheer depth of the piece inspires admiration and humility. I've read nothing to date which so successfully achieves a layering of elements such as consciousness, truth and reality, within a...
Published on 11 May 1998

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars depressing
Bought this book because I loved Trainspotting,wished I hadnt bothered now. A preetty grim story about sexual abuse, very depressing and overrated.
Published 19 months ago by ben mears


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh proves himself a world-class talent., 11 May 1998
By A Customer
I've read Trainspotting, and Ecstasy and bits of Acid House, and loved the author's work from day one; but when I read Nightmares, I was awestruck. Welsh's talent is amazing. The sheer depth of the piece inspires admiration and humility. I've read nothing to date which so successfully achieves a layering of elements such as consciousness, truth and reality, within a story that one feels honored to have read. Not only is the author's technique flawless, but he has created characters you can actually believe- ones who may not be admirable, but who remain fascinating until the end. I recommend this book to everyone with an appreciation for the art of the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper and Deeper.....The Best !!, 8 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marabou Stork Nightmares (Paperback)
I,ve just re-read Marabou Stork Nightmares and it even seemed fresher than when I first read it a few years ago. MSN is Welsh at his best and in my conclusion has never matched the standard of this dark , unusuall almost suicidal novel. This is one of the most unusual stories I,ve ever read as we enter the world of another bitter Welsh charecter young Roy Strang in a clever trilogy which features him in a coma , and in an imaginary world of positive lunacy with his chum Sandy hunting the scavenging brutal Marabou stork in darkest Africa's colonial days. this part of the story seemed to me like a cross between an Evelyn Waugh novel getting a BBC comic Strip Presents screaning. But it's Roy Strangs flashbacks of his life on the tough housing scheme and his dysfunctional family , which make this story come out on top, as usuall Welsh never fails to shock and this one covers social issues such as incestuous paedophilia, gang rape, far right views, homopobia and animal cruelty graphically.Welsh is best when creating the the most warped charecters as in Filth . Marabou Stork Nightmares is a horizontol trip of urban poetry and razor sharp charecters and plot. .DEEPER DEEPER as is Strangs expression as he slips in and out of the coma this is deep writing and I see this as Welsh.s best novel to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 26 Jun 2003
By 
Jordan McClements "jordanmcclements" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marabou Stork Nightmares (Paperback)
I read Trainspotting, Ecstacy, Porno, and The Acid House before this book, and this book is definitely the best.
In fact, the best book I have read in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough, 6 July 2007
By 
K. D. Giles "kimdino" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You will have got the gist of the plot from the other reviewers, so I won't bore you with that.
What I will say is that book shows us that Welsh is a genius. How he can lead us through the life of such a complex character as Roy Strang in such detail in relatively few pages, and make it intensely readable puts Dickens to shame.

M.S.N. shows how someone can be good, but be totally evil. The Roy Strang of Edinburgh & the Roy Strang elsewhere are poles apart but very much the same character. I believe that Welsh clearly shows us here how repression & denial of oneself can totally warp a character. Welsh puts you so firmly in his characters head that you can be homophobic while enjoying dreams of homosexual acts, feel the sickened innocent at a gang rape while being as brutal as the others & so on. How to become so sickened by yourself that you must destroy yourself.

'Trainspotting' may have made a big name but only due to becoming a cult film, this one is a greater work. I feel that in time it may even come to be be regarded as a 20th century classic but don't let that put you off, it is very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irvine Welsh's best work by far - very dark and twisted., 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marabou Stork Nightmares (Paperback)
Even though this is one of Irvine Welsh's earlier works, it has not yet been surpassed. When I first read the book, I found it very hard to get my head round the storyline. But quarter way through, you begin to realise how it works. And after several re-readings (it is really that good, and worthy, of re-reading), I still feel as though I have only just read it. Each reading brings to the fore things that may have escaped you previously! A must for any Irvine Welsh fan, but if you don't appreciate his subject matter, steer clear, because he is never afraid to bring the dark side of Edinburgh to your doorstep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surreal journey thorugh a man's life, 19 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marabou Stork Nightmares (Paperback)
Roy is in a coma. Roy exists on 3 levels of consciousness. He has his 'almost waking self', who takes note of his hospital environment and visitors. There is his 'past self', where he reflects on his life up to the point that he entered the coma and there is the 'deep self', where he is hunting for the Maribou stork in South Africa. Roy constantly jumps between these 3 levels and so HIS story unwinds. His story is a harrowing trip through the life and mind of a disturbed young man. The story is brilliantly told sucessfully using all three levels to explain a different part of Roy's life and character. The unexpected ending rounds of a superb book. The traumatic subject matter is definitely not for the faint-hearted and should be considered before buying this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly absorbing, raw and wounded, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Biddulph (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book but it's raw, real and harrowing. Only start it if you're prepared for the grit of a violent and disturbing journey. Welsh is an exceptional author, this book will no doubt become a twentieth century classic. It is brutal in the extreme, but his talent to tell a twisted story in all its depraved detail is incredible. I was horrified by it yet completely absorbed. The narrative flitting between memory, deep coma and dreamstate is cleverly interwoven with one merging into the other. The use of Scottish vernacular gives the story authenticity making the characters seem somehow more alive, piling on layers of dimension. The unsolicited violence, sex, rape, abuse, angst, poverty and above all depravity in the book make it a very bleak read. But it lives, it's real and it shows no sympathy or empathy and it never patronises its subject matter. You're down in it, with it, smelling and breathing it, at times it's a relief when you can come up for air. But soon you'll want to plunge back in because this book moves, challenges and disgusts - it will stay with you for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh did it again, 9 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marabou Stork Nightmares (Paperback)
Again we have been allowed into the mind of a pretty sick individual and I am grateful for the ride.Strang has got some problems, there is no arguing that.His problems stem from his upbringing though and I was really rooting for him to overcome these tragedys and be able to live a semi productive life. Which he was on the right road a couple of times..... but Welsh would never allow one of his beloved characters to be too normal. There is always something....The ending I thought wasnt predictable but of course was harsh which we have come to expect in a Welsh novel. Thank you Mr. Welsh and may we have another....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 22 Jan 1999
By A Customer
As with 'Trainspotting' I was amazed at how often I found myself nodding my head in acknowledgment of the basic human truisms Welsh delivers through a sordid cast of characters. This is a story about a young man, Roy Strang, brought up in a squalid - but altogether unexceptional - environment. He narrates the major events of his life to us from the disjointed angle of his near-comatose form as he lies in a hospital bed. The violence of his inner-city life is vividly painted. This is a book about the type of people we've all known at one time or another. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh at his best, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Welsh at his deepest darkest best - without doubt one of the finest authors of his generation. His visceral warts and all descriptives interspersed with ironic humour never fails.

If you have not read his books then you really need to start. " Filth " is quite simply the best book I have ever read with Maribou Stork Nightmares coming a very close second. Once you have learned to read in the Edinburgh vanacular you will be well away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marabou Stork Nightmares
Marabou Stork Nightmares by Irvine Welsh (Paperback - 29 Feb 1996)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews